Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Grampy Katz in: The Big Date

by MeowzaGames - Jam Entry

Story:
Grampy Katz has a hot date and his place is a disaster! Help him clean up before his date arrives and discovers what a slob he is.

Controls:
Use the mouse to move Grampy Katz. Click on objects to quickly complete tasks before time runs out.

Winning/Losing:
Complete as many tasks as possible before time runs out. The ultimate goal is to have a perfect date, but a pretty good date is also nice. Don’t worry, Greta is fairly opinionated and she’ll tell you exactly how she feels when the date ends. Good luck!

Who Made This?
@Meowza (art, animation, programming, game design)
@Kukubee (game design, writing)

©2016 Meowza Games

Contact us: info@kukubee.com


Royalty-free music by: Michael Buk

Downloads and Links


Comments

sararyCow says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:13am

Absolutely beautiful! Congratulations on that awesome art!

The bad part is the lady is never happy with me. Phonograph stops playing right before time or this postman sending letters randomly always spoil my night >:(.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:30am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:23am

Amazing graphics, music and mood! And the gameplay is fun enough. This is a great entry. On my third attempt, I managed to duplicate myself, thinking it would be easier to tidy up the room if there were two of us, but my clone was a lazy asshole and spent all the time sat on my chair: https://gyazo.com/e63ad815d1d0c6f89febf97f71452f5e

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:44am

Incredible graphics and charming animations.
But why it so short, why?!

Ghen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:57pm

HOLY CRAP THIS IS AMAZING!

the atmosfer, graphic, music, EVERYTHING is excellent, very well put together
i especially love the old CRT TV effect, very good indeed

the gameplay very straightforward, self explanatory really, nothing special, but the theme quite good

i found a bug tho, on my 3rd time playing : http://puu.sh/qTNR2/44d73e93cb.png

nicso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Graphics are soooo cool <3

Got stuck when i got(i think) a perfect date. Right after she said the meat was perfectly cooked, the game didn't do anything more. Just staring into each other, that was quite a romantic bug.

Nice entry ;)

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Really lovely graphics and game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/XIU4hYAXhy0

Togimaro says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Awesome arts :) and really great atmosphere!
Too short :(
But it's a really lovely game, good job!

PS delete the .pdb files! It's for the debug, they are useless for the player and they are really huge!

MeowzaGames says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:54pm

@Togimaro Thank you! Yeah, it's short. It's all we had time for in 72 hours though. Hoping to add more soon. You saved us a TON of space with that .pdb files thing. THANK YOU. :)

PixelStuff says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Wow ! The art is really nice! It was a bit short but the job you did for a jam is awesome!

local minimum says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Fantastically well created, animated, sounds and style all fit as if they were part of an old animated short. Very picky date though, and hard to get everything just perfectly right. I gave up after 4-5 times, but being a vegetarian I really don't have much perspective on how to cook meat.

Maybe the game should allow for one thing missing to get to the success ending since it is such a short game and it becomes a bit repetitious to try and retry. Also the main pleasure of the game is just experiencing it, and the stress aspect of getting everything in order comes across anyhow. Other than that just a marvelous little gem of a game.

Junber says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:30pm

As everyone else already said the art and especially the animation are really superb. The music was nice and fitting too (would have been nice if it changed when play the record). I'm not sure how I was supposed to tell when the meat is ready but I still managed the perfect date on my second try. I would love to play a longer version of this.

wheerd says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Absolutely lovely game! A bit short, but the style is really great! Great job :)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:57am

I'M THE BEES KNEES!

Beautiful art, great music, great design.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:20am

Just amazing art style and animations. It's hard to believe that it's done during 72 hours. Congratulations!

Sean says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Gorgeous artwork and animation! The film grain and vignette really help to sell it too.

Minor complaint: it took me a three tries to get a perfect date because I didn't realize that you had to interact with the picture multiple times to straighten it; that might've been more clear if it went to a new incorrect angle instead of going back and forth the first few times.

Sabina Lis says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Oh my, that was lovely! Perfect mood, beautiful artwork, really nice story, congratulations! I didnt find anything wrong with it while playing.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:26pm

A work of art, beautiful.

kokiriandco says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:04am

Stunning art!! Love the retro cartoon style!!

SMASH BASH says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Looks awesome! What games are you making between participation in Ludum Dares?

unoion says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Great graphics style and design!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Really good artwork - a solid entry for a little team. Bravo!

g12345 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Incredibly cartoony graphics! Well done!

Funnily, I just cleaned my room before I played this game too.

Fisher007 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:15pm

I really liked this game. The style was so good. Well done!

GFM says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:25pm

This game is some cute!!
I'm amazed by how polished and alive the game feels. I had an amazing time playing it! =D

Congrats!

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Not sure if she says more than "Swell" but she didn't complain about anything so I think I did a great job.... I mean the meat was cooked to perfection. :D

saucygames says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 1:59am

THIS STYLE IS SWWEET! gave me those cuphead feels! Date wanted music but I thought I turned on the music :(, loved the style of the camera!

dissonent says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 1:05am

I absolutely love the art. It has a very old Disney feel with all the wavy movement and was just perfect. I just enjoyed watching the characters move and walk around in and of itself. Gameplay wise I think it's a little bland and short, but a short game is to be expected in a game jam.

Final words: I love the art! Beautiful game!

Sep 15, 2016 @ 7:33pm

As the company's artist, I fell head over heels for this game and its old-school Disney cartoon feel. The game mechanic itself is simple but fun, but honestly the animation, music, design, just... pretty certain if we had the rating system this LD, you'd have first.

Also I would kill for a figure of Katz.


We played your game on stream too: https://www.twitch.tv/cantgetourname/v/89523218

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]