Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Leak (GB)

by cabbage_ - Competition Entry

Because of the theme, I decided to make a funny little adventure game for the Nintendo Game Boy. I recommend using a flash cart and a real GB or a decent emulator like BGB to play this ROM. If you can't be bothered to install a Game Boy emulator, you can play it in your browser on GameJolt.

Downloads and Links


Comments

monetai says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:39pm

It's really cool!! It's really impressive how far you pushed your game. I have made a GB game for the LD too and it's nothing like you. Really impressive!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:26pm

wow! but i am not good at playing those old games, so i am glad it stopped at 5000$.

KingEthaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:09am

I liked what I played, but then it crashed :/

xesenix says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:11am

Fight mechanic made me abandon this game very early. It seams there is more content but fighting mechanic needs some rework in my opinion.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:09am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

SquirrelSoft says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:34am

GB game ? good idea with the theme :p
maybe, next time some sort of tutorial, because I had to search for the button

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:14pm

GameBoy intressting turn on the theme

rjhelms says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:01am

I'm always wowed by people who are able to make a game for actual retro hardware in 48 hours. This one's really well done, to boot, so great job.

I did find the combat a bit frustrating, like @xesenix. It would improve things a bit if tapping the d-pad turned you to face that direction before moving you - when I was next to a slime but not facing it, my instinct was to turn to hit it but that meant walking into it and taking damage.

It was fine when I got the hang of it, but frustrating at first.

The ending was hilarious, too - a great self-referential take on the theme.

csanyk says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 3:30am

Impressive that this will play in a real GB! I found the combat to be difficult because of input lag (in emulator on GameJolt at least). This lead to aggravation because I wanted to dodge but couldn't, and got hurt too much.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]