Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Dig Revolution

by LittleDoomDevs - Jam Entry

Discover Ancient Technologies right in your backyard
Dig following the music and see what you discover

A rhythmic digging adventure, in search of progress from the past and it's history. Keep up with the beat and discover fascinating technologies from different time periods


Controls:

W - Up
A - Left
S - Down
D - Right

Mouse to select buttons.
ESC to go back

Thank you for playing ^..^

Downloads and Links


Comments

CodeChomper says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:33am

Wow I really like this game. You Had a similar puzzle type game as mine but yours was more interactive. I did inventions through time as well. Great game!

UltraRat says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:06am

hahaha... the quotes are a clever break between the levels. Love the Crypt of the Necrodancer feel. The animations give good feedback when you miss the beat without needing a lot of UI, very hard to pull off.

bigpan says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:24am

Ok! As a musician, I simply love the concept behind this game! The music is quite sweet to listen to! I just felt that on some faster levels the beat in which you had to move the character was somewhat off, not synchronized to the actual music/beat, but apart from that, it was perfect! Awesome work!

If I may suggest, for a future version, the player could be allowed to move more than once per beat, like 2 steps for each beat instead of only 1/1. :)

felixsoum says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Very fun music!

diest says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:10pm

neat concept, music might be a tad too loud but thats my only complaint!

rynti says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Fantastic idea and great implementation - although the second track was sadly not really in sync with the beat, which was frustrating :(

UrsiGames says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:32pm

I like the concept! :p I personally play the guitar and your game is good tool for training rhythm. Only con I found is little desynchronized movement to the music. Also as a suggestion I would recommend you to add some variations to the rhythm. It is too linear now. And better indicator when to click for non musical people could be helpful :)

~ PanMadzior

PnDAA says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:34pm

yeah a Crypt of the Necrodancer like nothing really new. However nice textures, musics and story. And yeah like UltraRat sayed the rythm of the game doesn't always fit the rythm of the music.

austintradr says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Interesting idea, but moving in time to the beat really did not work out. First of all I found it far more effective to just spam the direction I wanted to go until I happened to go that way. If you look at the game Crypt of the Necrodancer, their action with the beat works because the entire game functions with the beat as you essentially dance around enemies and time your attacks accordingly. The combination of it with just running around collecting objects in the ground did not work thematically or gameplay wise.

MewSoul says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:39pm

I have to say that this concept was well thought! Really pleasant to play and the music goes along nicely! :)

What I would suggest to improve it :
- to be able to see how the progression for the star rating goes at the time you're beating the level, because at the moment it is hard to guess if you're like starting from 0 stars and that you miss some things, or that you start at 3 stars but don't do good enough with the rythm and that you're loosing points
- and maybe a minimap like on the top left hand corner that could help to locate yourself and to know where you could go digging

pyokoanarogue says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:26am

The characters where nice but the smaller parts of the picture to recollect seemed a bit forced. Found the medieval levels the most fun to play of the bunch.Good job !

Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:15am

Nice concept but like mentioned earlier, the beat was a bit off making me more jam the buttons than actually try to follow the beat. looks promising.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:42am

Reminded me of Crypt of the Necrodancer. Very cool game concept. I felt that the beats of the songs need to be enhanced in some way as I was having issue sometimes with the beat and I am musically talented so I can count beats very well (maybe headphones will help with this I'm not sure, but I'm currently on laptop). However I like the idea and congrats on finishing it for the jam!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Very cool game! I must say the programmers and the music guys must be on the same page to create this kind of mechanic with so little time.

AlexanderMerk says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Wow, it's great, i want to see combo counter :)

GamerJenn says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:53am

This game was super fun, excellent art and music too!

ratly says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:09am

Cool game! I also felt like the beat was hard to follow, but maybe that's just me. The graphics and music fun music were great, and the number of levels is impressive. Good job!

lordvorath says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:01am

Very cool music and art, also very thematic. Music sync was not particularly well implemented (played on Android). I kow it's hard to do well and this is a game jam but i feel obligated to say it. I feel like it would have been better to give player feed back in regards to their timing instead of just not moving, and maybe add a score counter so that the 3 star system is actually explained. Overall though very impressive! Good job!

Yazara says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Really nice and polished art, the quotations are cool and I love the music.
On Android it was really hard to hit the notes (felt kind of unfair), so I ended up spamming the keys.

Garfeild says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Nice idea with rhythm mechanics, but without penalties it doesn't work, I was able to spam movement direction without any. Music is good so maybe it's just me - it was hard to listen to rhythm and move with it. Indication at the bottom of the screen helps but right moment to move is so short that I've always missed it. Jumping rhythm indication ball makes it harder for me to know when to move as it's movement isn't linear at the end.

So in conclusion:
+ Cute graphics
+ Good idea for rhythm game
- No penalties for out of rhythm movement
- Hard to hear, move with rhythm

Good job guy ;)

Sep 3, 2016 @ 6:45pm

The game feels polished. The art, music, and quotes are great.

The only real game challenge is hitting the beats though, which I think is a bit limited, especially since there's no rhythm. It is not clear to me what the penalty for not hitting notes is. It helps if it is made clearer.

Frump says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:28am

Fun but I have some critiques. The beat indicator was flawed. I found it harder to match the beat while watching the indicator than ignoring it. I believe it's because the ball changes speed and jumps before you need to do the input. In most rhythm games the indicator moves toward the point you have to hit at a constant speed so you can follow it clearly. Not being able to move at all for missing the beat doesn't feel ideal either. I'd suggest a less strict timing or some other way to balance a missed beat than not moving. For example, in Necrodancer you can still move slightly offbeat but you get less points for it.

Overall, Good work.

Tegu says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 8:05am

Having played some rhythm games like, surprise surprise, Dance Dance Revolution, I liked the idea. However, I found it somewhat hard to follow the beat for some reason. In the end, I just ended up spamming the direction.

I didn't really undestand how the stars were deteremined. Is it just time or the number of moves or does the direction key spamming (misses) affect it? Anyway, it encouraged me to replay some levels and try to find shorter pathes, so I guess it still did its job. :)

In the torch level it was slightly unclear that you still needed one tiny part because the gray placeholder barely visible. But it's not a big issue, as one can just find it and then replay the level for a more optimal route.

The artwork was beautiful both graphics and audio wise. The characters had a distinct look that conveyed the era clearly. It was also interesting to see parts of the items which would be searched for only later. I found myself guessing where some of the parts would belong to. It was nice to see the answer later. Overall, the idea of going through eras and showing some typical technology of the time fit the them well. Really polished!

sorlok says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Nice focussed use of the theme. I enjoyed the Civ-style quotes, and the general Necro-like mechanics were fun. Seemed like there wasn't enough incentive *not* to mash, and would have been cool if some levels had pre-loaded patterns that you had to follow (for parts of it).

Fisher007 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Such a good idea. I enjoyed the game very much. Good job.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Really neat concept, it was very enjoyable and the music and art was very good as well. Great job!

ontherun says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Very cool idea. The music is very catchy and addictive and I had much fun playing it. Sometimes the hit/miss determination seemed a bit off though.

Sep 9, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Thanks all for your feedback :)
It is really useful for us.
We are glad to hear that there are both parts that you like and parts that can still be improved.
We enjoyed this LudumDare and hope you did too :)

Cheers,
LittleDoomDevs team

Sep 11, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZcipQ8HIrLI

AinoraZ says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Love the music! So damn cool!

kraiom says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 11:08pm

I really like rhythm games, so this one was a good surprise. Would be even better with some penalties when out of beat.

- Sohakes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]