Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Starwalker

by svyatozar - Competition Entry

This is an obstacle course type of game, first person point of view, heavily inspired by Unreal Tournament's Bunny Track game type.

Based on WebGL technology, it is designed to be played in a desktop browser.
Controls are arrow keys and space.

Changes since submission: by a popular demand, improved control, player rotation 2 times slower on the demo site and fixed the annoyance when pressing buttons, now they should not affect the webpage scroll (file starwalker.js). The source contains the original zipped version for historical reference.

Aug 31, 2016: I really appreciate all the comments so far: what amazes me is how much seemingly small technical details such as "air control" are more important to players than fancy graphics. This gives me some ideas about where to go from here, how to and how to better structure the learning curve throughout maps to make it as fun to new players as those who have decade of experience with this type of games...

Special thanks to the video reviewers. They give me an invaluable insight into the user experience. For example, Daniel aka SirPhoenixGaming seemed to have hard time struggling with controls, while Jupiter_Hadley seemingly skipped through it super fast, I'm so impressed.
https://www.twitch.tv/sirphoenixgaming/v/86519298?t=35m12s
https://youtu.be/hC8B45eG0n0?t=12m9s

Downloads and Links


Comments

NinjaNic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:15am

Feels a little glitchy and incomplete, but so far it looks okay. I can't see what it has to do with ancient technology, though, unless you used a really old program to make this.

svyatozar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:22am

K, I guess you played without sound, or skipped the intro. The glitch appeared late into the game engine development, which took me a bit longer than I expected, so I had to cut down on level development, eventually made only one silly map, which is kinda sad...

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Holy crap the turning speed is ramped to 11. I can't line up the jump because the character spins like a top at the slightest press.

I like the first person obstacle course concept, allows for rapid dev time in a short period, but the control is paramount

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Had problems immediately I'm afraid. When playing in the embedded space of course scrolls the page. So I go fullscreen and controllers lock up.
After some jittering and keyboard smashing it works again but my left and right turn is way to fast. One fast click rotates almost 90 degrees.
Couldnt even enter the obelisk thing.

svyatozar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:09pm

It's an overwhelming experience for me right now, but next time I will consider control issues more seriously. I tested it in Chrome and Firefox, scored the goals, but apparently this is not enough for the wide audience...

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Camera is way too fast, it's frustrating having to aim intro the right spot for few seconds before you can go forward. I'd be looking forward to seeing more though. Thumbs up! :)

Garfeild says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:38pm

I was fighting controls for 5 min and wasn't even able to enter the first portal. You need to work on those a little more to make it more enjoyable and playable =)

pixzleone says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Controls are too fast like people have already said. I liked what I saw though, and the talking in the beginning was cool :D

c2v4 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Stucked at level 1 :( Controlls are quite overdriving. The first entry with FPP :)

ccglp says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Also stuck at level 1, please fix the controls or the level design

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:47pm

I'm confused as to what exactly this is...
I found many glitches including going inside the wall and platforms, and also even hitting the end with nothing happening. The platforms were also glitching. The controls were also a pain. It took me 5ish minutes to beat it. .-.

svyatozar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:09pm

K, I listened to all of your requests, re-read the rules, and they say: "We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players." So, basically I only applied changes to the controls without touching anything else. The controls are now smooth and you can actually control your jump speed now.

Please understand that this is a whole 3d game engine with physics, collisions, map file structure, geometry loading, webgl and webaudio interface to worry about, so I had no time to fix all the glitches, or even make a decent game map. I apologize for these inconveniences. This is a lot of work as is, trust me. (And yes, that soundtrack recording and mastering was also done by me, with some initial technical difficulties.) I took it easy on Monday, and still am exhausted.

Bogden says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Hmm, is there only 1 level? The intro is a good start, but there feels like a lot lacking.

The controls are a bit difficult to maneuver around, and the physics around moving feel more suited to a vehicle than walking around. Not being able to accelerate while in mid air is little odd for this type of game.

Glad you hit on bits of audio and graphics for a compo entry though. Always good to see that. For short compos like this though, I would recommend aiming for simple game experiences that you think you can implement in 48 hours. As it is, it doesn't feel like much of a "game" with the amount of content it has.

It's pretty impressive for being done in WebGL in only 48 hours, but there's nothing wrong with using game dev tools like Unity or Game Maker to do things quickly!

wheerd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Not sure if I got the version with the improved controls, but I still didn't manage to complete the first level :/

jakatpemadi says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Hmm... I am curious how you create this demo. Usually my computer is very lag at 3D games/simulations, but this demo is running smoothly.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:18pm

the control very weird, like "action 52" on nintendo, you can't move while jumping, the other like rotation and stuff that you put on the desc game working fine for me

and also the terrain glitched with the pilar object, the ground at the pillar area flickering everytime i moved

while you doing this only with webGL, mechanicly its impressive for what you made in mere 48 hours

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:32am

Hm, I agree with other reviewers. The movements are too fast an harsh. I even couldn't climb up the stairs =(

kmitz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:17am

Like the others, the controls are too harsh. The fact that you cannot move while jumping makes all the difficulty.
I managed to reach the portal but the lack of level too is a bit disapointing :)

Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Good start! I like the intro. I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/hC8B45eG0n0

tompudding says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:05pm

I struggled with this. The intro didn't play in my firefox (v43), but I got it to play with Chrome. Then I had a bad time with the jumping but I eventually made it. Good effort for making the webgl engine in 48 hours though!

monkeybit29 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Needs more gameplay, lower the sensitivity

monkeybit29 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Not much of a game, but I get the theme, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]