Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Pyramid's Secret

by Misspeld Games - Competition Entry

You play as an old man that has dedicated his whole life to finding the Pyramid's secret. Walk through room after room and solve the puzzles, if you're lucky, you might find what the secret that sleeps deep inside the pyramid.

I am aware that it has quite a few bugs and glitches, and that it lacks in several aspects, especially sound, but this is what I managed to do in my 48 hours of game jamming. If you have any tips or critique about the game, I would love to hear from you, all I want to do is get better!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Traf d-Lo says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Ran slower and slower then pretty much crashed my Linux PC (as if - this is Linux after all :P) but: music was atmospheric, graphics looked ok. Controls were very bad and collision detection wasn't good. You could achieve better results with a much lighter game framework. Nevertheless, not bad at all for 48 hours, keep going! :D

Zeriver says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Neat game with nice mood. At the beginning i wasn't sure what to expect and i was on my toes for a long time, later i realised that there will be probably only puzzles in final room on each level (no monster or anything). Music sets nice tone and i don't think your game is lacking sound, "minimalistic" style and audio give, in this case, a great atmosphere. More gameplay mechanics could be nice, i mean i think i get what were you trying to do, a game where you explore sinister, ancient pyramids. And you captured that experience pretty good, but after few levels it gets repetitive. Anyway still pretty solid game with a bit uniqueness in it.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:13pm

The background music was great! Also, your pixel art looks delicious :)

Movement was extremely slow, which was cool at the start, since you never knew what would wait around the corner - but over time, it got a bit exhausting "only 2 more steps" - especially while carring a box.

I managed to beat the dart trap, too, but after that, I was walking through endless corridors - I tried either direction, too ...

Still, I definitely enjoyed my time in the pyramid, but wouldn't want to spend my whole life inside :D

tonynogo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I died.
The pyramid' secret will stay a secret for me.
Good job!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:03am

@Zeriver What I meant by lacking in sound was that I wanted to add more sound effects, such as picking up and putting down the box and shooting the darts.

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:34am

Good game)

blubberquark says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Sokoban meets Hotline Miami?

mvasko2 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Good job setting up the mood! The sounds combined with nice enough graphics created a really nice atmosphere. But... that's about it, honestly.

Unfortunately, slowly walking through very, very, VERY long corridors and square rooms with next to nothing interesting in them gets boring really quickly.

Because of that, when I discovered "the box", picked it up, and placed it on the switch thingy after a few roundtrips because of the dropped light and found out nothing happened anyway (could either be a bug or an error on my side, who knows, I didn't investigate any further), I simply exhaled, said "What's the point anyway?" and quit the game.

You don't want your players to do that.

It's obvious that you can create a great atmosphere, don't let that be the only good thing about your game! Take advantage of it! For starters, for the love of everything, make the movement faster and the rooms (and the f****** corridors) smaller and more interesting. It's way better to have smaller levels with a lot of things to do than let your players be bored to death with an overly long stroll.

Take thepyramid by @Junber for instance:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=33967
(I hope I'm allowed to reference other games, please don't be mad at me!)

It's a game pretty similar to yours in terms of the style and atmosphere (in my opinion at least), but it went an entirely opposite direction regarding the level design compared to you. The level in there may actually be a little TOO claustrophobic, BUT it's filled with stuff to do and see, so you don't get the chance to be bored.

Also, it would probably be better if you could see a bit more of the level, maybe add a tiny bit of ambient lighting, so you at least have an idea where to go (I would like to reference thepyramid again).



I'm sorry for the wall of text, I kind of lost control of myself. I hope this brain dump will at least be useful in some way.

P.S. I like your name and logo :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Really great atmosphere! The eerie music and the lighting sets in the mood perfectly. I read in the comments that there were darts. I didn't get to see them :( I seemed to be stuck in the same room with the box and the switch regardless of which exit I took. Maybe it was a bug? There seems to be a lot of potential with the few elements you have there, but think of how each room is interesting in its own way and how to make players enjoy their learning. Keep it up!

darthbox1 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 10:19pm

That was fun! Loved the music...made me thubj of Doom 64. Really strong atmosphere and solid gameplay. The walking was a little floaty and making the darts more obvious might be the only things I can suggest. Really nice effort!

darthbox1 says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 10:52am

*think

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]