Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Atlantis Warmachine

by kuro - Competition Entry

Sit in the cockpit of an ancient mech, become a hero, defend the Earth.

What's the catch? Well... instead of steering wheel, you'll get pipes, valves, levers, switches, and even a flusher. Have fun figuring it out.

step 1:
Guess the right combination
step 2:
Memorize it
step 3:
E.T. massacre
step 4:
repeat from step one

This game will challenge your memory, as well as your tactics skill. Search for patterns in enemies attacks to find that opening you need to crush them beneath your steam powered metal feet. Stomp, shoot, and don't let them to the same to you!

Contains awesome soundtrack. Too bad your sound card's not supported :P

---

EDIT: Minor text changes ( in submission description ). Also managed to fix the bug where the game would crash in web browsers. Happy world saving.

Downloads and Links


Comments

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:28am

Ohhh I really want to see this with another week of dev. Maybe have a move list once you've figured out a combination? Or color code and number the input for easier memorization.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:55pm

I love the art for the mech. A very neat concept - I haven't seen anything like this before. It is kind of difficult to remember all of the combinations - maybe unlock a guide for each action when you figure it out. Good job on the entry!

Horbee says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:57pm

I always forget the right combination :D

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:09pm

I love this type of game that transform the keyboard into another play device, it really feels like you are controlling a mech. This gives the game a lot of depth and rewards the player if he succeeds in remembering the combination. Nice concept and very good execution.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:11pm

It felt like really moving a robot.

Evilperson77 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Most creative submission I've seen so far. It really feels like piloting a mech.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Nice idea with the memorization, though sadly the first game I tried it seemed to been buggy so there was no working combination.

I had to reload the game to be able to move the machine.

Would be nice with some more music!

RafaCP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Well done, nice premisse and well executed.
Loved the mech art and animations.
Would love to have sounds for all those controls!
Congrats!

zulman says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Love this kind of game mechanics. Trying to figure out this mechanism is working is always very curious :) I think a kind of help tooltips e.g. after 20 invalid actions will be helpful!

kuro says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:50pm

thank you all for playing and comments. i picked up a few handy ideas for next development.
btw. I didn't know Atlantis was this crowded by giant mechanical robots :D
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=56177

danielsann7 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Really enjoy your game, took me a while to understand but when i did it was really fun congratulations, nice work!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:24pm

The idea of making movement complicated has always been an interesting concept, but there were several time I put in the right combinations and nothing happened which got frustrating pretty quick.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:42am

Very fun and interesting. Took a while for me to understand what was going on. Quite enjoyed it, good work for your first LD!

g12345 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:59pm

It was pretty fun when you learned the different keys.

The only reason I lose later on was, that my window was too small and I couldnt see the first and last command, and skipping the messages somehow trigger the commands too.

But basically, it's a nice game. Not bad for a first LD game.

monkeybit29 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:33am

very strange controls, kinda wish it was a little more responsive for faster gameplay and more combo possibilities

Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Very neat idea! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/lcfUdhXZ_XQ

axoona says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 11:41am

I think it could use some hint to indicate which keybord keys are involved in the pattern, I think I've used all the keybord before noticing that H does something for example.
otherwise it's a nice concept

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 3:55am

I thought the "memorize the controls" part to be fascinating, as well as the turn-based nature of the game. Combined together, they work really well as a rhythmic-strategy exercise to figure out the most efficient way to move forward.

However, I thought the game was too long. As in, it had way too much filler content, or moments in the game where it'll drag because I was just defending over and over again. A good suggestion is to add health bars to the enemies to make it easier to keep track of, and make a decision to finish them off sooner than I would have.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]