Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Archimagic

by onyon - Competition Entry

Help a roman warrior use Archimedes' mirror to fight a giant water monster!

Proof that it's beatable: https://www.twitch.tv/leonyon/v/86354682

CONTROLS:

WS - choose menu option
AD - move
Space - jump/confirm option
Mouse - aim
LMB - shoot

HOW TO PLAY:

Stand under the ray of yellow, blue or purple light and hold the mouse cursor above your character to charge up your mirror.
You will hear a sound when you're fully charged.
Shoot to spend your light charges.
You can only hold one type of light in your mirror at once.

Use your mirror to defeat the monster!

WARNING!

The game is short, hard, but beatable.

Good Luck! :)


TOOLS USED:
-GameMaker Studio
-Aseprite
-FL Studio 12
-sfxr


==============================================================
EDIT
==============================================================


The character slides a bit if you press A/D + W/S.

W and S buttons have no use so please try to not hold them D:

Might try to fix it.

==============================================================
EDIT2
==============================================================

Fixed

Downloads and Links


Comments

FaeLD says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:38am

Yeah I didn't get any close to beating it - the character slides a bit so even standing under the rays was a little bit frustrating sadly. I like the pixelart though :)

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:50am

That's one tough monster! I found it really difficult to avoid the incoming projectiles but that's just part of the challenge really. Good all around game; art, music, fluid animation...the lot! Well done.

BurntFeelings says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:33am

good job! art looks nice

asteryz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:57am

Looks good, but I couldn't shoot :(
Im on win10, I could see my character aim but never saw/heard any projectiles being launched/

I'll check back later to see if theres a new build to try out :)

burnedkirby says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:00am

Very tough, couldn't beat it as the monster seemed to spew out more projectiles the further you got. Neat concept.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:03am

@asteryz you cannot shoot unless you charge it up!

notime4games says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:19am

Got monster down to low health twice. He then doubled his attack speed and killed me instantly :) I never beat it.

Very hard game. I had the most success with just dashing to the frontmost light beam and just standing under that and shooting as much as I could. However the monster's blue boomerang weapon can not be stopped with that light color. So I repeatedly take damage from it.

The blue boomerang weapon the monster has seems to be not possible to dodge unless you run all the way back to the starting point. And its hitbox seems HUGE.

Bugs:
- I get damaged from invisible stuff randomly when running around
- once the control of the player started sliding so it was super hard to stand still under a beam. I had to restart the game to make it return to normal

Joff says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:20am

I love this concept and the artwork

TheMightySice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:21am

Nice game but that's one hard monster. I couldn't beat it and don't know how it could be done. If someone actualy beats it a gameplay footage would be awesome :D

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:27am

Great game and realy dificult. I dead around 40 times but still didn't win it .

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:27am

@notime4games There's no invisible stuff, the thing you might consider invisible is the little light-blue bombs that monster can spawn behind you, they explode after a second.

Never seen this kind of sliding before so idk if i can fix it.

Bumblepie says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:30am

The art was nice, and the core gamemechanic was a cool idea. I'm not sure if there's anything after that first dragon thing, but I can see the charging/choosing which power to have working well when you're facing multiple enemies with different weaknesses etc. However, the difficulty seemed to stem from the controls rather than a fair challenge, I would recommend increasing the friction on the player, as I was often slipping past the light beams when I was trying to charge up. Also, I think increasing the visibility of the enemy projectiles would be a major addition to the game, because in it's current state there were a few that were really difficult to see and it felt like I was dying for no reason because of that. The last thing is that I think being able to deflect the monster's projectiles with your shield would make the difficulty more fair. I think there was a homing attack (even if it fizzles out after some distance) which when combined with the main projectiles and the wall of fire attack made it basically impossible to dodge everything. I think there's a good core idea here, it just needs some tweaking to make it more playable.

dietzribi says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:31am

Graphics were cool but it was WAY too hard for me...
Also it was hard staying under the beams of light.

snake5 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:33am

Interesting concept and the controls were smooth, however it is unclear how I'm expected to dodge the incoming projectiles. I noticed that light destroyed them but there was so little of it left afterwards that it seemed like a grind to do things that way.

The game could be more approachable if it was possible to use the mirror as a shield.

RafaCP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:34am

Interesting concept, congrats!
Nice pixel art!
Nice sound effects!
I feel the music should be a little more intense.
I wanted to use the shield to defend myself (common sense), maybe if you could absorb the enemy's shots the game could be more fair to the player, or maybe just defend/reduce damage from the long range shots with proper aiming would be nice.
Good variation on enemy attacks but the long ranged ones are really hard to avoid, if you could deflect them with the shield it would be really nice, or maybe lock the angles of fire.
You should put the instructions inside the game in a tutorial text or something, I know it's written on the site but I think the game must be self-contained.
Good game!

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:34am

@TheMightySice I beat him during the test yesterday

https://www.twitch.tv/leonyon/v/86354682

Sorry, there's no sound cause I've been listening to music.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:37am

@RafaCP @snake5 @Bumblepie thank you for the feedback, I'm thinking about creating another build as a post-ld game

v3nevergod says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:39am

Nice art, very difficult, though. I'm not sure how you're supposed to dispel/evade the floor rays and I feel like the projectiles are a tad too accurate. I love the pixels a lot, the beast particularly looks amazing.

zulman says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:25pm

I don't know why but it's definitely reminds me old Prince of Persia from the first seconds :) Very fresh idea with mirror!

Horbee says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Nice game, but i cant shoot either. The graphics are really like the old PoP games :) Keep up the good work!

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:40pm

@Horbee you need to charge the thing up to shoot. look at the video in the description if you're having problems ^^

kuro says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Hah.... this is cool. Imaa beat it eventually! Keeping it for later, I don't have a mouse with me, just touch pad.

purgatory says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:08pm

It was too hard for me to beat, but I really like the art.
What I didn't like as much was having to move my hand across the keyboard to press Enter every time I died (a lot ;). I also didn't realize I could scroll the menu with W/S, though that didn't really affect gameplay.
I reckon you could expand on the game by having more bosses and upgrades!

lonesurvivor says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Good game!
That's a really hard one. I learned used the pattern of the attacks and had my strategy, but my moving skill was still not good enough to avoid all the hits xD

One problem I had is that i often accidentally clicked outside of the window which killed a lot of time.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:12pm

@purgatory you could've restarted with space :D
@lonesurvivor yeah i had that problem too, but didnt have time to fix the fullscreen

ninja00283 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:35pm

This game is hard,
but fun.
There's only one thing to say and that is use the mirror as shield.
Still a good game.

p.s. awsome art!

Emkiusz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:56pm

I think the game is that hard, because it needs better balance, it was a little frustrating for me. But graphics and sound effects are nicely done.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Aight guys I'm sorry for making it so hard, I'm a big fan of Dark Souls series, also games like I wanna be the Guy or Wings of Vi. Difficulty and the challenge is what is the most fun to me in games so I tried to make a game that I would enjoy personally.

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:03pm

As a fan of the Souls series I have found this game really interesting.
I like the blended animations, the music, the visual style and, of course, the challenge.

Nice game, onyon, I'll save it in my Compo favourites!

LCMW_Spud says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Bit buggy yes, but that is to be expected, we only has 2 days but the music and art was really nice,you should think about expanding it after

justinooncx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:47pm

You were NOT kidding when you said this was difficult. The moment I saw that Twitch link proving that it could be beat, I had a feeling it'd kick my ass. And it did. Other than that, the art and sound is pretty good!

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:59pm

You know to stay the hell away from a game when it's description is a proof video of any sort XD

BTW there was a bug that it wouldn't fill up my mana
I think it was because I clicked lots before I had any so it had negative mana or something.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:09pm

@DiegoCTorguet that's nice to hear, glad to be one of your favourites :)

@LCMW_Spud I am thinking about expanding it, originally i planned 2 levels for this but only had time for one

@justinooncx thanks for the feedback :)

@g_o not sure about that bug, tried to recreate it and didnt happen, will look more into it though, thanks for reporting :)

videogreg93 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:13pm

The art/animation was fantastic! The core gameplay was really cool, but it was very very hard. I think if the light sources were a little wider that would help, as I was often finding myself not being able to charge because I wasn't directly under it. Also maybe have your ammo last longer before having to charge it again (maybe as an upgradable bar, if you were to make this into an actual game?). I don't know what your plans with this were, but this would make a very cool metroidvania.

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:48pm

@onyon
Nvm I think it was just me being silly - I needed to press W.
I gotta say you made it intentionally annoying! XD
Like - why would I ever want my controls slippery and fully stop with W and then to gain mana also look up with the mouse?! It's like.... just ask me to scroll the mouse wheel up and down to simulate the walking XD

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:56pm

@g_o haha I see what you mean, but I needed to figure out aiming while moving - that wouldn't be possible without aiming with mouse, also, pressing W to look up while aiming at different place would be kinda glitchy i think

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:36pm

@onyon
Haha look, it's just that honestly you've got simple mechanics - it's a dude with mana shooting generic orbs and that's it. (or maybe there's more after a while? didn't play for that long.. it was hard XD)
and the reason for it being intruiging is the sheer difficulty that you caused literally by design.
Now, u'know it's a matter of taste but yup you could as well make a walking simulator where you have to balance the caharacter while walking and then calculate the force the feet will need to apply on the ground in order to move in the velocity you want encoding it in binary with lmb and rmb so that it'll compile an assembly program that would run in the background and feed the rendering engine with a hook.
Or you could try to get to 100% in the original Rayman. Same difficulty btw.

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:04pm

I found the controls to be really responsive most of the time. The monster was well done and I think a side scrolling boss battle game works well.

vitineth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:13pm

This was quite fun, very difficult but that might just be my bad playing. The sound an graphics were very well done and really improved the gameplay. Very well done, a nice entry and a lot of fun.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Really good with a real work on the aesthetic. The controls could be more explicit, but I like it. Well done!
Thank you for playing my entry - I saw your good score :)

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:54am

Cool game)

Geared Games says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Animations are pretty good, game looks very nice! But the controls are very floaty, just using A/D to move made the character slide all over the place. The only way to make him stop was pressing W or S.

Plus it was incredibly difficult! I could only get a few hits in before I died.

onyon says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:59pm

I seriously don't get how do you get the sliding bug, I cannot recreate it in any way possible :| thank you for the feedback though! @Geared Games

suimisu says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Man I should have read your description more carefully. It took me way too long to understand that I have to look up to charge:D. Great hard game and I had a lot of fun to try to get a pattern for destroying the monster. I was only missing the possiblity to duck under some projectiles.

And I had the feeling that I could only destroy the blue projectiles with the blue light? Or does the others have a similar effects?

If you want to extend the story / theme you could stay with the greek/roman mythology and do something like the labours of hercules fighting medusa and other mythological beasts. And maybe some more interaction between different light or even combining 2 lights for a new effect in the later levels.

About the sliding bug, I got him only once but it felt like pressing multiple buttons causing this bug.

onyon says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Hey @suimisu you can destroy the blue projectiles with blue and purple light, going for purple is risk/reward cause it deals the most damage and is the fastest but it's the closest to the beast.

Thank you for the tips, I might think about expanding the game later :)

Thanks for the feedback :)

Findor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:39pm

good idea, we were thinking about using mirrors too at first, but then changed our minds. But you did it really good, congratulations :)

Archimagus says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Interesting idea, would be nice if there was some way to defend against the attacks. It's just a pure onslaught of fireballs and weird flying things, and fire walls. Could not ever get close to beating the monster.

lekiy says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Looks like a good game, but I was unable to shoot at all, no matter if I spammed or tried to charge.

Aree Vanier says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Fun concept, but VERY hard.

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Very difficult game, but pretty good. I think a better why to dodge or block attacks would've gone a long way. I liked the different attack types, but after 8 tries, I still never managed to get the boss below half health.

Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Very hard but still cool! The music is nice too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]