Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Map The Stars

by vitineth - Competition Entry

You are an ancient astronomer working with a partner to try and create a book of star charts and maps but nothing can really be that simple. It's a text based adventure game crossed with some interactive elements.

Some basic commands:
EXAMINE <item>
USE <item>
USE <item> ON <item>
EXIT
USE <direction> DOOR
PICK UP <item>

There are some others so if something doesn't work, try a few other choices.

Known bugs:
One of the lines of speech has <player name?> In it. I will fix this in the morning as it doesn't impact gameplay right now.

Downloads and Links


Comments

owndbyu says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Charming text adventure! Nice interpretation of the theme, lovely descriptive writing throughout.

It would be helpful to have like a "examine room"/"help" command which hints towards what are the possibilities for each room. Quite charming nonetheless!

WhiteSeal says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Really cool game, I had a lot of fun playing.
It offers a great amount of challenge and sometimes you feel a bit lost, but in my opinion that's a good thing.

During my time with the game I managed to break it a little, if you try to examine gadget after using the gadget on device, you get a null pointer exception at line 57 of L1R2.java

Overall I give it a 9/10

kndx123 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Really impressive that you managed to convey such an intricate story in such little time.
I also really liked the 3D renderings that provided some visual illustrations of what the rooms look like.
I must admit that I had to skim through the source code when I got stuck.
I was not able to continue from the rotating star puzzle, because I could not move the outer most circle. :(
Great experience nevertheless. :)

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Nice 3D renderings and the place had a nice touch!

The story felt at times lacking in content, making me wonder what I was doing and what was I supposed to do with the lenses.

Could I ever get back to where I came from when I got to the crossroads with the east and the north door?

asteryz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Cool text adventure! I enjoyed playing as far as I got!

vitineth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:05pm

@owndbyu "It would be helpful to have like a "examine room"/"help""
I understand what you mean. I probably should've considered this when making it but I guess it slipped my mind. If I do any more work on this then I'll definitely add this. Thank you so much for this by the way, it's amazing to get this kind of feedback.

vitineth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:09pm

@WhiteSeal "During my time with the game I managed to break it a little, if you try to examine gadget after using the gadget on device, you get a null pointer exception at line 57 of L1R2.java"
Whoops! I might go back through and fix this. Sorry if that prevented you from playing any further (not sure if it would've). Thanks for taking the time to review this.

Jadernak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Believe it or nor, I've realized I had never played a text adventure before, so this was my introduction. I got stuck very quickly. It's probably my lack of experience but I could use some hints. The story seemed intriguing.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Hi there,

I really enjoyed the detailed narrative (and the delicious graphics!), but the game is incredibly hard. It took me forever to use the plural of "bar", since the text explicitly said "one bar".

I got ultimately stuck on the circle puzzle - after I solved it, nothing happened. (it was hard to control, maybe a problem with global/local mouse position?)

I really would have loved to play it to the end :(

If you make a post-compo version, please do something like marking keywords in color, making it less of a guesswork what to enter - or what I read in another comment, creating a help function... even small hints would be nice, so that it's not too easy :)

By the way... in all the combat situations, I was attacked by the creature on screen - but also a dog "log", according to the text output.

All in all - great game, from what I saw so far!

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

AWOL says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Nice job!

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Great job, I really enjoy it :)
Continue like this ;)

Senor Salty says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:43am

A great adventure game,with some nice puzzles and appealing graphics.Generally a good job!

DaleP says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:34am

I got as far as the jail cell and couldn't figure out how to progress. I assume I'm supposed to use the sharp piece of metal to cut the rope tying my arms, but I couldn't figure out what command to use for that.

In general I had a hard time figuring out what words were available in a room (I think the hardest example so far was "frames" in the workshop, since the text when examining the room didn't explicitly say the items were frames), but I found the story intriguing and enjoyed the mixture of text with pictures and interactive graphical elements.

I want to keep playing, so I'm going to leave the game minimized in case I think of a solution.

lonesurvivor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:45am

Good job! I like narrative games. As mentioned before, it would be very helpful if there was a full list of commands available. Also, what i found a bit confusing, was that I sometimes had to use "EXIT" (to return towards the center room) and sometimes "USE x DOOR". It took yuite a while till I realized that I had to type "EXIT" to leave the start room (I thought it would exit the game first).

studdert249 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:51am

I love games like this and enjoyed my time finding my way through the puzzles. The scene renders added a lot in terms of navigation about the game as well as adding a lot of flavour.

I did have a couple of instances where I got stuck trying to find what I was doing, for example when placing the lenses in the device it took me a little while to realise that I was carrying all three.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]