Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Oscilloschaos

by Casevse - Jam Entry

​This old oscilloscope has an interesting video game. Maybe is a little broken, but the video game is fun. Catch the green light!

Cursors -> Move
Space -> Shake
Escape -> Exit

Made by Casevse for Ludum Dare 36 #LDJAM

Downloads and Links


Comments

Ghen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:02am

very polish game, love the artistic style, and also very hard, i rage quit at level 8

the control feels very smooth and responsive, the knob twisting and monitor shaking to fix the white tint is a very nice touch for the atmosfer overall

MewSoul says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:30am

Interesting game! That's a nice way to go for the theme of this LD. The controls are nice which is pleasing for this kind of game.

Unfortunately at some moment, the game was crashing between some levels, don't know why :x

indieyp says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:52am

Old school style, nice

johanw123 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Love the concept, oh oscilloscope... awesome

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:13pm

You totally nailed it! I think that's perfect as an ancient tech example :)

The colored trails were beautiful to watch (but the dots were hard to escape at times)

The shake mechanic was fun for a while, but it became tedious after a few levels. Find a safe spot, mash space, continue (or lose in the process). The idea behind it is cool though, and the 8-bit noise is a good match :)

Avon says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Cool game. It was fun and challenging to play, with a nice difficulty curve. The graphics are pleasant to look at.

Skye says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:44pm

This game is very good! The graphics are beautiful, and it's fun. However, the game crashes whenever I complete the second level, so I can't play past that. The parts that I managed to play are good, though.

Here is a crash log, if you're interested: https://aww.moe/2fax4j.zip

Casevse says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Thanks for the feedback! Sorry to hear about those crashes. I'm going to run the game in other PCs to try to reproduce the error.

DarkGrisen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Another impossible type game :P
I made it to level 11.

Lênon Kramer says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Really really interesting and fun game. Loved the puzzles and the concept.

The white thing on the monitor is annoying, but makes the game more interesting having to "fix" it with the shaking. Makes it more "organic", more "alive". Like the stitches on the side of the game screen, like the To Buy list. The love is in the little details.

Good work!!!

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Nice. I like the graphics. The game itself is well done.
The control is smooth and pleasant.

jon_nocode says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:22am

Nicely done - I rage quit at level 11 but pleased I got that far!

Super hard but a good challenge. The only thing I didn't like was the screen pulsing white, felt annoying more than making it harder/interesting?

danielsann7 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:43pm

the control is good, but unfortunately, the game crashes after the "menu" first stage, so i cant really play your game for that long :/

juaxix says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Perfect.
wtf, level 10 is impossible xDD I want to turn off the machine XD

AODQ says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:40pm

I love the idea of the game, the graphics are adequate ( the notes on the side along with the dials were a nice addition ) but I wish there was more of an attempt to mimic an actual oscilloscope. I like having to fix it with shaking the oscilloscope to fix but again i don't think the right 'effect' was used to show that it was damaged. Other than these (very minor) annoyances, I enjoyed the game overall. I found the best strategy is to just storm to the end endlessly until you get lucky. Only exception for this is level 10, 11, and 20, the latter of which I could not beat. The collision was a bit off as well, I think you made it that way so you could build walls, but perhaps having a different enitity for walls would have been a better solution. good game :)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Love the game concept, made very well. Game is very challenging so I was unable to finish it but when I have more time to play, I will try to beat the game. Nice work!

Kazik_210 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:19am

dobra gra, prawdziwe wyzwanie :D

Kazik_210 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:39am

I meant = good game , a real challenge : D

Phobos001 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Very tricky but very well polished! I think you could reduce the players acceleration and deceleration values so it feels more precise. Otherwise excellent entry sir ^^

AWOL says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Wow. I think the only way to improve on this would to find a music score that fits. However I don't know how music could fit that would be a challenge in itself. Great Job!

pixelpotions says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Awesome game! The graphics are perfect and the later levels are frustratingly hard! Which is a good thing :)

Mottafier says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:09pm

This is very enjoyable! Also the fact that you need to repair the machine, though it seems pointless, makes the game a bit immersive which I think is a good thing. And I agree with Pixelpotions, the game gets frustrating, but that's good because this is the type of game where when you die, it is completely your fault, not the game's. The way I see it, there are two ways to win: Plan your moves out and find safe spots, or blindly charge through and hope you make it. Both work :P

mato26 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 12:20am

Amazing, for me probably the most interesting game yet :D I have no idea how you come up with this but it's great. It's working pretty well, it looks nice, it's a pity there is no sound but that's accaptable. Also I love those knobs on sides and all the notes (you gotta buy dem pizzas).

Great job! :)

Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:59am

Good game, rage quit :p

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:02pm

I was excited to get into this game as soon as I saw the style. Unfortunately it crashes whenever I end the level (winning or losing).

Sep 8, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Hello, your game crash for me on the first level when I hit the green dot...

joe40001 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 3:27am

Cool game! I really liked it a lot overall, my only complaint was that it crashed for me several times. I'm not sure why. I loved the look of the game and the nice little touches all around the game. I appreciated the humor of the "ancient tech" as well as "fixing" the oscilloscope. Aside from the crashing my only suggestion would be to alter it so red dots never went through other dots (particularly the goal dot) it just looked a bit off. I think having things not quite overlap fits the aesthetic better. Great game otherwise though.

Score: (because I like scores)
Overall 5/5
Innovation 3/5
Fun 5/5
Theme 5/5
Graphics 5/5
Audio 4/5
Humor 5/5
Mood 4/5

joe40001 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 3:38am

EDIT: I'd actually probably dock you a couple points in both overall and fun because it crashes a lot. I kept trying to play it until the end because it was fun but it literally crashed 12 times before I gave up on that. But like I said: otherwise it's a very good game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]