Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Stoneheart

by raspofabs - Jam Entry

Simple block pushing puzzle game, going with an temple technology theme

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:18am

Fantastic!

Once again my Pico-8 tile-making skills have been put to shame.

I also really like how it's one continuous level, rather than loading for each individual puzzle. It really gives this the old-school-graphics-with-new-school-feel combination.

Joff says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:00am

Loving the art and the time that has been put in the puzzles, I got a few in had to give up for now. Great work.

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:47am

The puzzles in this game are very well thought out. Awesome job with that. The graphics also go nicely, overall a good experience and very polished feeling.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:00am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! very old style :D Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

raspofabs says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Thanks steph88, I have added it at http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/stoneheart

kingpirux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:34pm

quite nice graphs, sounds and mechanicks, a box pusher that can go further :D if you continue its development

randomhuman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Oh my, so gooood. The puzzles are really well thought out, and I like that they often seem to suggest an obvious solution initially that turns out to be wrong. Good work!

xclementx says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Really fun. Fit perfectly the theme for me :)

Sean says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Great little puzzle game! The relation to the theme feels a bit loose, but the puzzles were really well-designed. They challenging, but not so challenging as to be frustrating and did a really great job of teaching you what you did wrong on previous attempts.

btw, your game page doesn't quite fit in embed on the Ludum Dare site; I'd recommend editing out the line breaks in the generated html file or moving the buttons to the top so that people can see the "fullscreen" button right away.

The artwork's pretty nice too!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Took me a while to figure out what was going on in the game, but after a while, I got the hang of it. The puzzles are VERY well designed, and a few of them had me scratching my head at times. Or maybe I'm just sleepy. Nice art and music + good puzzles = a great game!

Darenn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:31am

Nice puzzle game, I had trouble for the last one but the little heart at the end worths it ! Actually I really like your puzzles, you should do more !
The little character and the music were cute, you transformed simplistic things into a good game.
I don't think the theme was fitting perfectly though.
Keep creating games !

eott says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:32am

A great and lovely game. The puzzles are great and well thought out and the graphics, sounds and controls all play well together. My only complaint would be that it took way to long to find out I was supposed to press Z. Maybe simply update the description? Just a quick hint "Press Z". Otherwise, awesome game.

Rakart says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:16am

The first level was a bit confusing. eott said it but just adding the existence of the Z button in the description.

The puzzle are very well crafted (particulary the last one) but not too frustrating. Overall aesthetic is really pleasing and coherent. Good job !

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Beautifully and simply. Very pleasant sounds. Great colors. A real pleasure to play this after a heap of viewed games. Will come back here again.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Great sfx and art. At first I didn't understand how to activate "revert" buttons. Tried enter, shift, ctrl, space, then I found 'x'. Soundtrack is pretty simple but so catchy.

Abrexas says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:19am

Simply amazing. Art, sound, puzzles, EVERYTHING! I hope you do really well with this one!

Would also love if you checked out mine ^_^

Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:45pm

The perfect pixel art and jarring soundtrack make this one of my favorites! Elegant, simple.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:38pm

This is great! The level design was good, though I felt tthe difficulty curve was in reverse - the first few puzzles were very hard compared to the next few. The art and audio is spot on too, albeit very loosely based on the theme. But great work nevertheless!

Deive_Ex says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:10am

That's a really great and pretty puzzle game you got there!

g12345 says ...
Sep 22, 2016 @ 12:58pm

I just came across this game, and I just completed it. (Took me a while to figure out what the Z button did, but ater that it was cool!)

Really nice game, could even be used in the current miniLD too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]