Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

War party

by Rogue Sprite - Jam Entry

War party PROTOTYPE.

Its the end of the dark ages and you must Lead a war party. Research ancient technology to unlock more units and grow your army.

More of a prototype than a full game.

Review :
I ran out of time and had to cut back so much ( multiplayer, units, upgrades ). I also had to rush the GUI which doesnt look to great. But im glad i finished it !

My first Ludum dare !

Edit just fixed a bug - with the archer unit - still in time tho
Fixed another bug that caused the game to crash.

KNOWN BUGS - [Farmers are free,death state doesn't reset game,trapped king]

Downloads and Links


Comments

djfariel says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:14am

I really like the core of what this game is about. It saddens me that I cannot do the research and upgrades and build up my mighty horde with which I might cover all the lands in darkn....bring about an age of prosperity I mean (for me). Great work!

AODQ says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:24am

Really dig it! The UI is nice albeit a few bugs. The art is real simple but gets point across well. I like the premise as well but unfortunately it seems that you can not lose (enemies don't attack the castle). At least, I think? In either case they don't progress, just sit there. This sort of ruins the entire game b/c there's no motivation to ever upgrade your players. It's fun just watching the two sides go at it.

nanimono says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:53am

As a game prototype this is nice. I can imagine completed game and this is a good one.
I expected that horse dude can fight too. Enemies should be less passive. This game really need hold button to move feature.

Rogue Sprite says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:14am

Thanks for the feedback ! I underestimated my time frame.
And it ended being more of a prototype. I think I'll work on it just enough to add an end state (WIN/LOSS) and some of the things I wished I had time to add.

bushmango says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:20am

Fun! Not really challenging though and my knights kept getting in my way so I couldn't move. Still, so satisfying to watch them fight.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:39am

The battle core is quite good, you could tweak it a little to make it more challenging and fun

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:53am

Yay another game I played to the end because it was fun! I dig the graphics a lot. It is great! The game is simple yet satisfying, at the end when i finished researching, I felt like I was leading an unstoppable army because the battle was epic. There is no win / loss at the end seems a bit confusing because I thought there was something I haven't done. Here are a few issues I found, the units keep blocking the king's movement when I have a giant army. This causes issue because the camera focuses on the king so if the king is surrounded by his own army he couldn't really move and the camera doesn't move, it was quite annoying. 2. My first tech was always shown as being research even though I already researched it? 3. The enemies were too weak so there wasn't much challenge (though it was very satisfying to see my army crashes the enemies). Despite those minor issues, it was fun, I had a great time. Well done!

blinry says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Very well-done pixel graphics, music and sound effects! Everything fits together quite nicely. Very satisfying to slash through the enemy forces! We would have liked more content, like creating buildings.

Potential bugs: With large party sizes, sometimes the movement into any direction is blocked because the units stand in each other's way. The farmers did not cost anything - not that we're complaining ;-)

CMangas says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:26am

Amazing what you managed to do in one weekend. This game is great! My only complain would be that it is annoying to close the popouts with escape, since the rest of the game is fully controlled with the mouse.

Otherwise, the game is really nice, and the asthetic is amazing. Add more content, and I wouldn´t mind paying for this game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 11:38am

Innovation: This wasn't an innovative game type per se, but I hardly ever see games like this done within the span of LD. Good job!
Fun: It was actually really fun watching the troops fight each other, so I enjoyed that a lot. However if you ever lost all of your troops or didn't have much money left, you were stuck in a situation where you couldn't really do anything. I feel like that's an issue that could have been fixed.
Theme: Perfect job integrating the theme here!
Graphics: Probably the high point of your entry. Your pixel sprites have a very consistent style and the animations work really well to convey what is going on. Small details like the rubble on the ground and the particle effects really help flesh things out. Great job.
Audio: The sounds effects were spot on! Great job with those. The background music was a little monotonous, but still appreciated nonetheless. One other critique is try to avoid panning musical instruments too hard to the left or right, as it ends up feeling weird if things are too balanced, particularly on headphones.
Humor: N/A
Mood: Again I think the graphical style really pulls everything together here.
Overall: Great job overall, especially on all of the little details like the intro sequence and the animations for the GUI. I'd echo the comments that escape is an awkward way of dismissing messages and that overall the actual gameplay needs some work (and an actual win condition). Despite that, the core idea of building up an army and marching it to battle against other troops, RTS style, really shines here.

Congratulations on your successful LD! I'd really appreciate it if you could leave me some feedback for my game as well. You can find it at: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=7285.

novotmike says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 10:43pm

I've seen progress of this game while I was implementing my own. It is very cool. I love the graphics especially. Gameplay and sound effects are great as well. I had a lot of fun playing this game. Also would like to see more of this game done and polished!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]