Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Maze of Epla

by xesenix - Competition Entry

Your travel through ancient maze to discover long lost knowledge.

LOOK OUT: this can be kind of difficult - this is my mind in ludumdare mode :P

Your goal is to travel to bottom of ancient ruins. On each level when you make move (left, right, up, down) every active element responds to that rock roll arrows are shot your hero moves.

Rock and arrows will kill your hero if they hit him you can use block to protect yourself from being killed. You can also run rocks into each other to destroy them.

It is my first ludumdare. Ive used nodejs + Phaser combination for creating this game. Also it is my first time i have created music for my game.
It took me about 8-10h to setup movement engine (i have used phaser physique and tilemap for the firs time) 2-3h playing with graphics and 1h for music. I have used second day for level design and adding arrow mechanics (without them level seam to be to easy) and gluing everything together


Description:

* It is short (6 levels) browser maze game

* You controll everything in labyrinth room with arrows or asdw

* Your goal is collect all tech cards and escape to next floor

* After each floor there is a piece of simple story uncovered

Language:

* Javascript

Build:

* WebGL Canvas

My tools of choice:

* Bosca ceoil great tool for music and easy to learn http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/

* Tiled for mad editing http://www.mapeditor.org/

* Phaser JS http://phaser.io/

* Grunt build manager http://gruntjs.com/

* Brackets editor http://brackets.io/

If you kind of like it you can help me voting on it on Kongregate: http://www.kongregate.com/games/Xesenix/ancient-maze-of-epla

Downloads and Links


Comments

LoneSpelunker says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:20am

Fun, challenging puzzles. It's a nice little twist on the usual Sokoban formula that makes you think. Well done.

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:26am

I like it! I love mazey puzzle games. The bouncing movement of everything that is stuck seems a bit too much to me.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:59am

Interesting take on the rogue-like turn system

spacewarp says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:20am

It looks very interesting but I sadly cannot get it to start. Doesn't react on "click anywhere to begin".

TheMightySice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:43pm

This a really good puzzle game. Intuitive controlls. The tutorial level shows the basic game mechanics with no word needed. The music and graphics are awesome.

One little flaw: When key is pressed over a longer time it generates multiple inputs and you have to wait until all inputs got animated.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Cool puzzle game with nice usability! After the arrows started the game lagged a lot making it hard to do things when the character got stuck at various places for long periods.

tenpn says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Sounds great, but up/down arrows also scrolled my browser (chrome, osx). Mouse clicking on the game didn't get it to focus.

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Simple but awesome mechanic. The music gets a bit annoying after playing a while but the joy of this finish is worthy.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Really quality little puzzle game. Music does start to grate after a while.

My biggest complaint is that arrows slow down the gameplay a bit, they could go faster since, you have to wait for them to move anyways.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:18am

Woaw that was hard! But very clever level design. I'd have prefered a more progressive difficulty curve but that's probably because I'm bad ;) Anyway, good game, nice music and art for a game jam game, well done!

edgeofcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:04am

Really good puzzle game.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:28am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

xesenix says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:55am

sorry for bad music but im novice at this part
about complains that arrows are slowing down everything i have made simple fix and speed up transitions

@steph88 i registered on that page but can see any upload button/form most panel sub pages are empty only page that has some content are settings you can try finding games on gamejolt i have upload mine there http://gamejolt.com/search?q=ld36

mat1er says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Fun and well made but the music makes it hard to stay concentrated...

Pyrofoux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Interesting mecanisms, but I had the feeling I finally got a solution more with luck than by really thinking about a way to finish the level... It might be hard to fix tho, as I think it comes down to the mecanisms you choose.

The music feels a bit repetitive by the way

Steven Miller says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:41am

Wonderful puzzle game, very good and very fun. I really liked the mechanics and figuring out the solutions to the different levels.

xesenix says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:38am

After much complain about music i have decided to add mute button :|

@Pyrofoux first few levels can be solved by accident last two need special starting sequence or you get screw :)

vicious_br says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:56am

Great music, great graphic, great game. Congratulations! Polish on the graph and level design is enough for sale!
Please play my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=36629

g12345 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Nice looking game. Finished it. Some levels are harder than others.

No real complaints other than the music.

Oh, and I couldn't use cursor keys because the game detects them as 2 keypresses each.

matt_b says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:00pm

That was great - sokoban Indiana Jones :D If you've not seen it already, www.puzzlescript.net is a nice way to make tile puzzlers like this (complete with undo, which is a must in tricky sokobans).

xesenix says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:50pm

@g12345 one of my problems in making of all that levels was knowing their difficulty when i firs created them they were in totally different order they are now in thise order only by my feeling but i should probably give them to some play testers and see what level of difficulty they are to others that didnt design it unfortunately i didn have play testers :P

qikcik says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:39am

good logic game , it is fun :D

Alphish says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:04pm

That's some really neat puzzle with interesting levels. I've got to admit that the difficulty is a bit over the place, and the game being really unforgiving doesn't help, either (I've found the need to replay the level altogether really tiring; would have preferred if the death triggered something like "undo" effect). Especially since you need to have your eyes all over the place to look for potential threats.

As for the audiovisuals, the graphics worked well enough, while the music got pretty tiring pretty quickly. With that in mind, I find it good that the game has "only" 6 levels, as each already takes a while, in large part because of the need to restart the level on the tiniest deadly mistake.

(at the same time, I guess the fact that I completed all puzzles in the end shows it was pretty enjoyable, after all)

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:09pm

The puzzle design was very interesting, but better controls and game feel would have really helped fledging out a pleasant experience!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Cool puzzle! Hey, we both used phaser :-)

xesenix says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:46pm

@Alphish interesting idea i will think of adding undo mechanic earlier i thought game is short so payers would finish it to quick and i have also added leadoards to kongregate version where you score based of how few moves you make

@Dietrich Epp i have noticed a lot people using phaser i started using it few weeks ago and i think of making something biger with it :) i will check you game when i get back home :)

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Really nice puzzle game, the levels were really tough to dig through, maybe too steep of a difficulty curve?

2011petia says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:22am

I like the idea, its pretty fun !!

intXparts says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:35am

I really enjoyed the puzzles and artwork, nice job! The death animation in particular was my favorite.

AlexLamarche says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Nice puzzle game. I could see this on mobile. Music was a bit repetitive. Graphics were good. Overall a very nice game for 48 hours.

mar3k says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Really cool puzzle game, makes you think a lot! good job

n42k says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:00am

Amazing graphics, good music. Gameplay is compelling and got me hooked for a while, even though I don't particularly enjoy these kinds of games, I rage quit after almost completing level 2 and being blocked. Very good game in general, congratulations! Nice to see someone else on Kongregate like I :)!

xesenix says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:31am

@n42k im on kongegate but most my games there have bad ratings im still struggle to develop a game that would be liked by players.

cubotrox_toni says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:37am

The idea for the puzzle game is very good. I think it can work very well at mobile devices.

Pixel art and music are correct.

Maybe, I should make the moving animation a little faster. And please, make the level 1 easier. You must regulate the dificulty curve.

xesenix says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:49am

@cubotrox_toni i would really need some testers to tell me which one are hard and which one are easy they were in totally different order when i finished it i thought this one which is now first was easiest.

xesenix says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:59am

@LoneSpelunker thank you for re memorizing me sokoban i totally forget what was it named

@spacewarp i have updated kongregate version and added gamejolt you can check if it works now?

@Ilseroth thank you i have restrained input buffer so it should be a little more responsive

@qkerguelen sorry for that difficulty i wanted that game to be at leas a little bit challenging because it is so short

@TheMightySice i missed that controls glitch its fixed now and thanks for noticing whats tutorial level all about

@oskardevelopment in updated versions i have speed up turn switching thanks for noticing that problem

@tenpn thanks for noticing that scrolling problem i usually use asdw and wouldn't noticed it

DarkGrisen says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:10pm

great game!

Iwa says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Nice job. It's like a mix of Rush hour and 2048.
More sounds would have brought a big plus but it's still pretty good.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Sokobana-like puzzles, with clever level design. It suffered noticeably from the lack of sound and lack of variety in music (and an undo mechanic would have helped), but it's a good entry nevertheless.

celia14 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:09am

This is fun (though pretty hard!) and I like the Indiana Jones-y style, it's a great fit with the theme. Nice work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 4:35am

Some interesting puzzle ideas here. Really nice game.

Eggplant says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 9:13pm

That's a really great idea! The concept of the puzzles was nice. Some cool art too. Great job.

Xoko14 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Great idea. Mabey it's so tricky

tartlegames says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Great puzzle concept. Very tricky. I kept walling myself in. Good work.

Sep 9, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Good puzzler! Very well made. I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/QlYKcvCr0YM

Ryusui says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Brutally difficult. ^_^; Graphics are good, but music is a bit repetitive. Also, are you supposed to be able to pick up a techcard if a boulder is occupying the space?

xesenix says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 11:25pm

@Ryusui thank you you have found a bug :)

MrMordem says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Nice puzzle game, plays well, sounds and looks great as well,

the puzzle themselves can be quite challenging, but i kinda suck at puzzle games so this could be just me :p

from what i tested, solid entry overall, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]