Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Xolotl

by SetTheBet - Competition Entry

Storyline:
Your name is Sun. You are walk the lonely road to the underworld but an aztec deity named Xolotl decides to help you on your way.

============================================
Walk - Left/Right Arrow
Jump - Spacebar
Teleport - Down Arrow
============================================
Game created in Defold for Ludum Dare 36 - Compo, 2016

Yes I know the game has a steep difficulty curve. It's only 7 levels so try beat them all :)

If totally stuck and want easier levels you can download version that is POST COMPO here:
https://setthebet.itch.io/xolotl



Superhappy for all types of feedback.
Here or contact at:
ajirenius@hotmail.com
livecoding.tv/setthebet
twitter.com/ajirenius

Game done with:
Defold
Photoshop CC 2015
Spine 2D
as3sfxr
Logic Pro

Downloads and Links


Comments

McMutton says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Loved those mechanics. Even so platforming is my personal nemesis, most parts weren't too hard to master.

Good job. :)

fitret says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:57pm

I like the aesthetic! I found the placement of the spikes on the level and the tuning to be a bit harsh.

ReboundGames says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:08pm

The mechanic is fun and the art/animation is super slick. Love the particles in the red fields. Seems a tad on the hard side but maybe I'm just bad at it.

Ghen says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:08pm

love the graphic, the music also match quite well with the artistic style
the teleport mechanic quite unique and offer quite challenging puzzle
very solid entry :D

fenwick says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Wow, those puzzles got hard fast! Very good music that went along with the game, and overall a really good entry. The gameplay mechanic was really clever. The spikes were really brutal though, maybe save some of that for later levels. It also would have been good to have an indicator of where the teleportation point WOULD be when it's blocked by terrain / red areas, so I could time my button presses better.

Turukai says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Beautiful

SmallPhil says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:53pm

It looks really good! I also think it's a bit too hard :/

Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Wow. Great. I'm always blown away by these things with simple mechanic and innovative problems.

CMLSC says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:03pm

I tried to play it, but when I started, I was in a room with a question mark. I couldn't see myself, click anything, move around, jump, or anything. D:

Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:10pm

In the web version it didn't load the first time i tried it... refreshing it fixed it

Pusty says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Neat game! I like the graphics and music

Crack498 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Really innovative idea as well as charming music, sound effects and player animation. Very nice! :)

Swampie says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Lovely! The artstyle is very refreshing. The only thing I can offer is that I think you should centre your levels on screen! Great job

Kalibrated says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Cool game! I couldn't get past the first red level - tried going to the left, and going up, but couldn't get past those spikes at the top.

The mechanic was pretty cool with transporting to the black cloud, that level with the spikes was a great level of difficulty. Also, I enjoyed the jumping animation - made the character look very frail.

Aun says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Very nice graphisme :) It is funny if you teleport quick enough you begin you get bigger and bigger. There's one level I was not able to pass. I do not know if I was not fast enough or if I did not understand :)

abhimonk says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Awesome game! Music was very cool, and the mechanic was perfect. Easy to learn, but difficult to master. Also ridiculously difficult. The timed doors one was really tough.

NinjaNic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:00am

The screenshots looked cool, but I couldn't seem to get the web version to work. (I'm on Chrome.)

conrad123 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:10am

This is really neat! I found it kind of difficult, but haven't played too many games like it. Great work!

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:13am

really cool gameplay and graphics

swellbastion says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:19am

Really good puzzle mechanics, I've played the first few levels so far and i like the level of difficulty, and it's impressively polished

scriptorum says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:20am

Very well put together. Lovely music. The puzzles are dastardly. I'm still struggling with the doors, I can open the final door but can't figure out how to reach that ledge.

seurimas says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:20am

Very charming. Love the art style, especially the details like the font. All around, very well executed for such a short time.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:18am

Defold!! :)

Very neat animations and sounds. Just nice to move so smoothly. The curve complexity is growing rapidly. It is a pity that so few easy levels. Almost broke the keyboard on level 4, how to read a hint on top-right?

pkeod says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:56am

Awesome!

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:09am

Wow, very impressive. Clever mechanic, clever puzzle implementation, and very polished. Difficulty curve is fairly steep, but damn. If that's the only complaint I can have, you did a fantastic job.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:05am

@conrad123 @KevKevOnFire Thank you all for your kind words! Yes, I know it's difficult. I decided to do that just because there were so little time so I created 7 levels only (all with different mechanics). I will tweak it later on to make it easier.
@BloodJohn: Yeah, that sign is just for the curious minds And the text is just mocking the player for trying ;)

@scriptorum Why dont you try fall down from top slight-right and then teleport in the mid air? you will then wind up in bottom slight-left :)

I will check all the errors. Think it's an engine thing that I will take with the engine team

hermetic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:40am

I am terrible at platformers. This is what you have taught me. :) The graphics and animation are really nice. Especially the particle effects in the red fields. The concept of a mirrored teleport point lends to some really complicated level design. The controls are a little "something"... not quite sure what to call it, but often times I would press the down arrow and not teleport. I don't want to call it non-responsive, because it was responsive. It just required REALLY precisely timed pressing, which made it "feel" unresponsive.

Also, just because your entry was so good, I feel I have to ask what the "ancient technology" angle was, if any...

RasmusErik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:44am

Especially nice game mechanics,
and I really like the graphics/audio of the game.
Very well done, - a bit difficult though ;)

Encountered a bug where the character once disappeared
(on the level with teleport-free zones)
but I managed to die/respawn,
- and I could not reproduce it again.

Definitely one of the best games
in my opinion :)

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:49am

@hermetic
So further on it will add door's, levers and old time cogs (that slowly closes doors) a la indiana Jones style. I know it's not much at the first levels.

@pkeod Thanks :)

slam_nine says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:59am

Awesome work! The player animation is nice to look at, and the teleporting mechanism makes the levels really interesting.

hirund0 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:19am

hello SetTheBet is hirund0 thank you for you comment
it's very cool. is nice platformer game

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:30am

Wow. that was brilliant. loving the game. still stuck at the 'No Way Out' level, but will keep pushing through.

There was one of those points where i spawned inside a floor and was stuck for a while. then i got out for some reason. so there's your bug.

Awesome game, man.

leuus says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:32pm

What a game! Amazing gameplay, design, music and sound, and in only 48 hours! It took me quite a long time to finish all the seven levels but I did it! Thanks

Jupitron says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Excellent game, really clever and cool sensation over solving a difficult stage.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Thanks for all kind words.
For all that feels that the levels are too hard I have started working on simplifying the levels. Also added one more.
Please check out the post compo game here:
https://setthebet.itch.io/xolotl

Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Nice clean graphics, and the music is really good as well. That difficulty curve took a while for me to overcome, but its really good for just 7 levels. Good effort!

Lakrits says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:24pm

It's a good game! Wish you could restart as soon as you die though (before the message appears).

Horbee says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:14pm

I really liked the effects and the game style. In the 3. level after I died always spawned back in the walls. The graphics are clean, so as the game mechanic. Good work! :)

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:03am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:10am

Nice puzzle mechanic and lots of good puzzles in there. The gameplay is solid and the warp works well. Maybe the character hit box is a bit to big.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:08am

Been updating with new levels now in post-links.

@steph88 Confirm of signup on indiexpo.net doesn't work. Could not sign up.

qzqxq says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:04am

Very polished and great level design, nice work! Lots of potential ways to use this mechanic.

Some spike placements were a little annoying (I guess if I'm playing a puzzle game, I don't want to worry about jump timings; level 4 was a great combination of puzzle+platform though). I also have to ask: how strict is the timing on level 7? Every time I try to pull the 3 switches and run, I barely miss out, and I can't see any other way of doing it.

Anyways, very impressive job!

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:48pm

@qzqxq lvl7 requires you to find one single shortcut after pulling the second lever :) try fall down when in top right side to faster come to top left side. It's designed to just miss the timing if just running

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Thanks for the feedback!! Appreciated

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Wow, this really went from one to 100 in a hurry. Start off learning to walk, learn to jump, then bam, thinking with portals!

This was a really nicely put together game, though I did have some issues with a bit of delay on the warping making the closing doors level unreasonably hard. I'd also suggest allowing instant restarts, so the player has less downtime between mistakes. A very interesting idea, though!

acotis says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Great concept, fine art, and good music as well. Unfortunately level 3 (or 4...the one with the huge spike pit) is unbeatable for me once I die only once, because every time I respawn I fall through the floor and to my death immediately. I like what I've seen so far though :)

scriptorum says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:12pm

@SetTheBet Thanks for the tip, I just couldn't visualize the location. :) I'm on the last level now. I feel like I'm so close, but that 2nd door comes down just too quickly. I found a small shortcut from the upper right switch but it's not enough. Harumph!

Sep 11, 2016 @ 5:02am

The graphics of this game were cool, although they looked sort of disconnected at places. The music was absolutely awesome.

The game design itself is an idea I've sort of seen before, but was really well pulled off here. I couldn't get past the last level, sadly - I tried two different methods, but I simply don't see how to a) not die and b) get the first door activated with time enough to get through all three.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:49am

Nicely done! I look forward to playing your next jam!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]