Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Kukulkan's Phantom

by CMangas - Jam Entry

In Kukulkan's Phantom you're an archeologist set to find a mysterious room inside El Castillo of Chichen Itza.

Kukulkan's Phantom is the first game we have made for a Ludum Dare. We tried to use the GB original aesthetic, though the result it's not very accurate due to time constraints.

Team:
Mangas - Design and Coding.
Wardamo - Graphics, Design and Coding.

PS: Audio is copyright-free and not ours.

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:53am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

rzsavilla says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Oh no what have I released!!!!

Great game simple puzzles, had fun with this.

pogo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Pretty grim ending :)

I enjoyed the aesthetic and the controls, the puzzles were pretty good too. Failing and going back to the start each time was a pain on the poison one, however.

blindyn says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Great game!
I like so much the aesthetic and the dynamic puzzles. I hope that this game can be fully realiced. Good job guys!

Wevel says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Great art style and some nice puzzles. Also that ending was quite unexpected. Good work

Rogue Sprite says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:42pm

I Enjoyed that cool style !

Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Really good job! The aesthetic was nice and the puzzles were challenging. It would have been nice to start the player over in the previous room if you died, rather than going all the way back to the beginning, and I felt the writing was a little sloppy. The puzzles really kept me engaged, though, and I loved the twist at the end!

Dave_Astator says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I like the style and especially loved the mosaic puzzle which was on the edge of perception, well done!
And i kinda desiged for ending like this one)

Rogue Sprite says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Just finished it ! really enjoyed it. ( though i only got the tiles in the shape of a j by trail and error );

wardamo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:08pm

The solution to the 9 tile puzzle is hidden, you are not suposed to brute force it, however noone sees this, so this is something to improve in next versions

Tetha says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Ok I am impressed by the amount of content you managed to put into this. Sure, graphics are simple and all that, but that was a lot of content in there.

I might've moved the solution to the 9 tile puzzle a bit, because I just didn't connect the hint before the gate 1, with the puzzle behind gate 1. Beyond that, this was really engaging and fun to play.

RubiksJr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:22pm

The idea of making a game in the style of a Game Boy game is a really cool idea. I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game and I'm proud to say that I finished it.

It was cool that there was a seperate cursor to denote actions that you could do, but for me my normal cursor didn't disappear, which made it look kind of weird. The graphics were good, I liked the sounds, the music fit, and the gameplay was great. I also thought it was a nice addition that you had to back-track to find the answer to the J puzzle.

There isn't really anything bad that I can think of for this game, but it was sort of short. I understand that you had to make this game in a really small time period though.

Also, there is a bug that the tiles don't snap into place correctely in the tile matching puzzle. They're like 1 or 2 pixels off, but it bothers me a bit.

Garfeild says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Nice retro aesthetics, looks like GB room escape game. When you die, you want to try again and solve that puzzle and move further into the pyramid. Good job!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:27pm

I enjoyed the game and puzzles. Loved the ending too, had me chuckling. Music is great and the art style is stunning.

suimisu says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Good job! Had some classic gameboy vibes:) Tick too loud sound on headphones, but it supported the feeling in the pyramid nicely. I think some more info / lore / story about the temple would be cool.

My only problem was the already mentioned repeating of already solved puzzles because you died somewhere and not getting the idea behind some puzzles and bruteforcing them.

acotis says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Nice game! I liked the progression of puzzles from one room to the next. The die-and-restart mechanic kept me on my toes, but it was a little frustrating for the J puzzle, which I got by trial and error and didn't understand until I went to the comments. I like that you had to backtrack to find the solution, but I think the repeated deaths made it tempting to just rush/power through the first room again and again...making it impossible to see the clue in there. Not sure what I'd do do fix it though...maybe make that one puzzle non-fatal, but harder to solve, so it can't be guessed on but also won't be discouraging?

Either way, well done. The game didn't feel unfinished :)

bushmango says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Awesome game! I really liked the puzzles and the ending

sararyCow says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Good ambience, and good puzzles. Nice entry!

Decentsauce says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Wow, amazing entry! Solid graphics and I liked that you had to activate a switch after completing a puzzle. Felt very rewarding! Some checkpoints might have been nice but that was only an issue with one puzzle for me.

Jimbly says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:12am

Great game! Liked the aesthetic. Enjoyed becoming immortal, despite the costs. Puzzles were good without being too hard, but I'm glad none of the later ones resulted in instant death and re-playing the first few for a fifth time.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:52pm

A nice adventure with an interesting plot. Very atmospheric.

PnDAA says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Great atmosphere. Like others I love the gameboy style. I stuck a little a the second/third puzzle. The lasts puzzle are may be too easy. The ending is "fun". Music is great.

Stending says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Very hypnotizing.. i really got into it. Nice job!

Neonable says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:14am

Truly amazing game. The art style and execution is phenomenal. It reminds me of similar games you could play on your TV in the early 2000's. What striked me is how well you managed to both nail the big picture as well as the details. If you wanted to conquer the hearts of all retro gamers, you could add an option to change the graphics style (or colors) to VGA graphics and others! Very well done. I am looking forward to see more content from you guys!

Four Quarters says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:13am

Minimalistic graphics only fuels interest in the game)
I love quests and this turned out to be quite interesting)
However the difficulty of the puzzles is not constant. I would like increase in complexity. Then the last riddles are generally the simplest)
A sample of the wonderful game Ludum dare)

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:25pm

One of the few games I played to completion. I really liked the puzzles! Not sure how to get the 'J' though, I just kept trying till I got it. Also had minor clicking issues on the puzzle where you have to rearrange the pieces. Some of the puzzle pieces got 'stuck' in its slot, and I had to move my mouse around till I found the clicking handle.

mvasko2 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Wow, this has to be one of my favorite entries so far.

Ultra-retro style graphics which I actually liked, an excellent atmosphere and a cruel ending.

My only complaints are those which have been mentioned already - the hint for the 9 tile puzzle was hidden a little too well (I've only noticed it on the second playthrough), and slightly glitchy puzzle pieces.

Also, it's short. I want a little more! :)

Excellent entry, one of the best pleasant surprises for me so far.

CMangas says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:05am

Thank you all for all the support and feedback you are giving us. We will be sure to fix the 9 tiled puzzle and the bugs in a future version :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:52pm

This was a great little puzzle game that I think hit the right balance being difficult but not frustratingly so. I didn't like the poison puzzle though, because all your other puzzles encouraged experimentation but that one just killed you with little explanation. Maybe something like instead of dying it dropped you into a pit and a slide shot you outside the temple but the solved puzzles were still solved would give you the feeling of discovery without the fear of failure. I approached the next puzzles very timidly because I didn't see an obvious solution and didn't want to die and have to start over.

Also, in the mosaic puzzle, you can put two tiles on the same slot, which really throws you off. And sometimes, for me, you couldn't pick them back up except for a super tiny sliver on the very bottom of the tile.

Not trying to be negative! Just pointing out some little things because the whole package was so polished!

Darenn says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Good work guys ! I died a lot ot time until I understood what purpose serves the tile on the right of the first room... The graphics are awesome, it fits very weel with the theme. The puzzles are good, but sometimes it does not really appear like a puzzle (follow the line hole with the lever). In the last room, the room on the right with the mural puzzle to complete. The hitbox of the pieces when laid is too little and not well placed, it was hard to remove a piece from the puzzle. The music gives a good ambiance. I loved the funny bad end. You did great ! Keep creating games.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]