Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Age of Garbage

by Anudin - Jam Entry

EDIT: Fixed multible game breaking bugs in both desktop and html versions.

[Play directly on itch.io (see links below), I can't embed the game here because its width is over 900 pixels]

This is my first game jam ever and as a beginner game dev I'm really proud to anounce: I made... something.

I had some more ideas to implement into this game regarding features and (funny) dialogues - but I needed to cut alot due to my inexperience and the long time I therefore need to get stuff done.

Anyway I really hope someone out there will enjoy my little game - I had a blast developing it and I ask you to give me your honest opinion in the comments.

Have a nice day :)

Downloads and Links


Comments

quantumpotato says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:29am

I laughed - the helpless dinosaur controls flailing with the mouse was great, Good job!

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:46am

Thank you, this means alot to me!

Quicklyer says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:56am

Harald throw the garba… no Harald don’t drop it there. NO HARALD don’t throw it now – Harald we need this job, stop goofing aro… ARRGH.

Still, it’s hard not to love a dinosaur named Harald.

adaFish says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:13am

The dialogue is hilarious. Poor Harold. Also I love the graphics. The screen did black out on me twice--I played the web build and had to reload the page--but the computer I am on is having some issues, so there's a very real chance it's completely on my end.

TheTeaGuns says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:14am

I really liked this, even if I'm apparently the worst garbage collecting dinosaur ever.

Took me a while to get a hang of the collecting, but it was fun!

Jordan says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:15am

"Argh! The sun... my old nemesis" - Me after Ludum Dare

Great dialog! I think I lost, though. RIP.

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:21am

Lots of laughs, wonky and hilarious controls, and just a really funny concept! I failed so hard at collecting garbage :(

Wish there was sound! I love Harald, best dinosaur ever.

JeanValjean says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:30am

Hilarious dialogue you put there hahaha. I liked the controls to collect the garbage, though they are a bit hard to get at the beginning. Btw, Is Harald German?

edgeofcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:49am

Fun game - dinosaurs are awesome. Especially talking ones. The game changed to a black screen while I was collecting rubbish though. Audio would make this game even better!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:05am

:) cool. Love the dialogue, and odd but interesting idea.

The web version is a little touchy though.

Sound is also a notable absence. Some sort of dialogue noise could have really added a lot.

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:31am

Well it made me laugh. lol

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:32am

I guess using a dinosaur for public service is ancient technology lol.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:49am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:21am

Soooo... I just woke up (stayed up till 4 AM german time to play and rate games). I really had a blast doing this jam and I really, really, REALLY appreciate all you guys comments! It means the world to me. This really motivated me to cotinue my game dev journey more consistent. Thank you all.

@adaFish Were the black screens on some specific time / action?

@johnbjuice I'd loved to put audio in there but there was no time to do this (and i really have NO idea about sound whatsoever)

@edgeofcode I might investigate the black screens if I get time on my hands. I need to look into sound for my next jam - well honestly I'll need to take a look at my complete LibGDX workflow. It's been a bit... experimental.

@TerraCottaFrog Like mentioned in the previous comments I just wasn't able to put in sound time and skill wise :( And I totally agree on the touchy part but the idea for the core gameplay came really late and the wasn't enough time to fine tune it.

@JeanValjean Harald and me are both german :)

@steph88 I'll add it in the next few hours. I feel a bit honored to occur on a video - as long as it's not as a bad example :'D

Again: thank you all for your kind words :)

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:54am

@steph88 I uploaded the game to http://www.indiexpo.net/de/games/age-of-garbage but you can also find a html version on itch.io.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Great games i like it good works

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:52pm

The dialogs are charming, really. I laugh every time, really!

Mechanics are neat and simple. However, I was a bit confused at first, because arrows buttons didn't work (my bad habit to use them instead of WSAD)

Also, the art is brilliant. I love good pixel-art games a lot! Thank you for that submission and good luck!

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:39pm

@cushycode I wouldn't call it a bad habit more like a preference. And in this case i should've really added the arrows as an alternative - wouldn't take more than a minute. I'll take a note for next ludum dare.Thank you for the kind words - all this positive feedback i'm getting here is really pushing my motivation to create games!

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:44pm

@adaFish @edgeofcode Black screens should be fixed.

nofxboy1234 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Funny game :)!

Piotrek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Dialogs were really funny.
Gameplay was nice too except controls.

teamBallShui says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Dialogues are really funny and I like the plot. Had some trouble figuring out that the arms swings proportionally to the mouse movement. I think it would've been more intuitive if you just made the arm point towards the cursor position at all times.

AODQ says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Hilarious dialogue. The throw indication is very fidgety as well. The controls are frustrating, but so would be having to throw garbage behind my back with tiny dinosaur hands, so it's more of something I can appreciate. I just can't imagine how a dinosaur could even manage to use a keyboard and mouse to play unreal tournament. I'm not even sure how the dinosaur managed to put shades on at the end.

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:59pm

@teamBallShui I have to disagree. If it pointed towards the mouse you had to do really uncomfortable big circles. But i totally agree that the input should be more intuitive. Next time i'll give a better tutorial, maybe smooth the coordinates and eventually allow rotation in both directions which should feel more natural :)

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:03pm

@AODQ Of course the rough controls mimicking the problems working with tiny hands were intended and not a sign of me being a noob. *cough*

Kazik_210 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:34am

Hey really funny and good to play game i love it! Congratulations!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:57am

A funny little game, probably the hardest 'picking up garbage' experience I've had.

GrassWhooper says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:46am

Age of garbage now thats an interesting name :D
and i loved the dialogue and story in it, it was honestly nice and a bit funny.
the holding garbage bags was quite difficult hehe i didnt manage to get even a single bag.

GrassWhooper says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:47am

"pressed submit by mistake"
but it was quite nice game, and its a nice first attempt of yours keep up the good work :) glad to see im not the only one over here who's this is his first time hehe.

i'd like to see more of you hope to see your game next year :) keep up the good work

Anudin says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:12am

@GrassWhooper I have a free tip for your next ludum dare / project: the awesome pixel art software Aseprite is free if you compile it from source. https://github.com/aseprite/aseprite/blob/master/INSTALL.md I also used this free version of it to create my "art".

Gorp900 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:28pm

This is goddamn beautiful. Such a simple mechanic of aiming a throw is made challenging by the fact that any mouse movement causes it to rotate, i love it.
Also anything with dinosaurs is awesome

urielgamedev says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Nice game ! I find it quite difficult to control though, but the graphics and idea are really funny, and it's really addictive when you start to get the movement ! Good job :)

Zeriver says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Hah nice intro and fun characters :D. I like overall atmosphere and light mood, very humorous game. Gameplay is solid but a bit clunky, could use some polishing. Still game is pretty fun to play and has it's charm.

Zee says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Controls where aggravating, but in a good way! Once you get used to them, it's not too frustrating. Was a fun and funny few minutes.

I encountered a bug where I lost a stage, and when restarting, it would just take me back to the "You lost" page. I had to restart the game from the beginning. Since there's only three stages, it's not too big of a problem though.

Anudin says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:50pm

@Zee I actually already fixed some game breaking bugs and i'd fix this one also while i'm at it. So could you explain the bug a bit better? When exactly / what exactly happened? I'll also take a look at the input tomorrow. Maybe i can get it to feel less frustrating but still challenging :)

NikSorvari says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:50am

I like the modern story and language matched with a strange setting. Great graphics, although the controls for the trash pick up confused me. the arm goes counter clockwise no matter where you move the mouse.

Anudin says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:32am

@NikSorvari That was actually on purpose. But i'm currently developing a post ludum dare version and thinking about how to make the input more intuitive. I'll probably update the tutorial to make it clearer that rotation is restricted to one direction. Also i want to smooth the input so that the aim help is more precise.

Zee says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:53am

@Anudin I lost on stage three. I was at the screen where it tells you to "click to try again." If I click, it blinks and takes me back to the try again screen. If I hold the mouse button down, I see Harold standing there, but once I let go, it just goes back to the game over screen.

Hope it helps you find the bug!

Anudin says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:51am

@Zee Thank you, i found and solved the bug (forgot to set a flag). The HTML version has been updated and also includes the first iteration of my post ludum dare version. The original ludum dare version is still available as a .jar file.

joemag says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Cute art, neat concept, controls were a little unwieldy spent a lot of time with my arms spinning around. Could also use some simple sound effects.

Anudin says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:09pm

@joemag What's better: no sound at all or just sound effects without music? Because i can try to get some soundeffects going but there's no i way i would be able to deliver music. Haven't decided on which path is the better one to go

Linver says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Oh, really good humor!
At start, when you try to use arc trajectory - game is hard. Annoying hard.
But after, when you calculated an colliders and throw garbage directly - gameplay is meditatively. Good gameplay metaphor, man!
I think you should spawn moar bags sometimes. For moar dynamic.

adsilcott says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:46pm

I loved the framing story and the pixel art! The controls were a bit odd, but I got used to them. Very nice game!

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:07am

This game is really hilarious, I had a great time with it! My only complaint was that on the third level, after failing once, each new attempt would fail automatically after I released the left mouse button.

Anudin says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 9:07am

@Steven Miller Sorry to hear that. I'll have a look at it later.

Anudin says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 9:28pm

@Steven Miller Sadly I wasn't able to replicate your bug. Which version did you play - HTML or .jar?

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:12pm

From what I could tell, it was the same bug @Zee found. Admittedly, I don't remember what version I played, but it was probably the downloaded version.

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Quick update, I replayed the game with the HTML version and everything worked fine, I was now able to complete the game.

Anudin says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 7:36am

@Steven Miller It might be possible that the downloadable version didn't receive the hotfix I made for Zee. I'll try to update the jar files later that day. Thank you for your feedback and coming back to answer :)

npizzle1 says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 4:04pm

funny game hahaha....cool

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]