Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Egyptian Builder

by BurntFeelings - Competition Entry

You are the last Eqyptian builder after the robots attacked. You must save Eqypt with your skill.
==============================================================================
Controls
arrow Keys = movement
Space = throw your Gears
R = restart
==============================================================================
---------------------------------SPOILERS-------------------------------------
There are 3 kinds of robots
normal- you can hit him anywhere
high- you can hit him only in the body
Shield- you can hit him in the back

Downloads and Links


Comments

kazoo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:52am

Nice work! Some tips: Zoom the camera out a bit more, so that we can see farther ahead. It would be nice if getting hit didn't send you all the way back to the beginning.

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:55am

Those guy scared me at first but then I started to get cocky and tried to gather as many gears as possible. The hitboxes seem too big, sometimes I died without touching the enemy. The main character looks hilarious!

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:01am

Well, I will say this is relatively bug-free and seems reasonably well coded, but it has some bad design missteps. Hazardous hitboxes are muuuuch too large, causing instant death if you happen to invade the personal space of the poor spikes. Also, there is no need to limit ammo. The tall robot didn't seem to get hurt, so each time I tried to attack it, I had to suicide so that I could attack again. Camera is also very claustrophobic, and jump physics are very floaty.

Capt Nemo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:15am

I like the art for this quite a bit, especially the base enemy. Obviously the hit boxes are outside/inside where I/the player expects they should be based on the art. but honestly thats my only complaint. I also like the relative scarcity of gears, it makes them important. It also makes the levels more difficult/compact.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:24am

quite good game, the control responsive and good , but the jump a bit floaty
and IMO the trap collision a little too big, since i die even before step on it

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:44am

Simple and fun. Jump is too floaty and the hitboxes are weird, but not to the point that it's unplayable. Good entry.

FaeLD says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:51am

I think I agree with the general comments here. Hitboxes need to be a bit more generous, the camera is a bit too close and feedback is a bit weak (didn't realise why my cogs failed at first).

That said, it's the jam game i've played for longest so you must have done somethings right :D

burnedkirby says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:52am

LINUX USERS: use winetricks to install all fonts so that the text will display in wine.

Game is difficult as the view is too "zoomed in", making it difficult to tell where you land after you jump and only your immediate surroundings are known at all times. Neat though.

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:57am

Good game. But change colisions/hitboxes becouse that's work wierd.

BurntFeelings says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:13am

Thank you guys for all of the amazing feedback! :) it was my first ludum dare and this is my first finished game I have learned so much about game making in those 48 hours
This was so much fun and i will definitely participate in the next ludum dare. Once again Thank you for your feedback
@kazoo @PetterBergmar @KevKevOnFire @Capt Nemo @onyon @Ghen @FaelD @burnedkirby @Qwaklak

CptBubbles says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:33pm

I like the setting and the graphics are kind of funny in a good way :) The wheel as a retrievable weapon is also pretty fun.

The only problem I have is the collision. I guess you didn't use Unity's built in colliders and OnTriggerEnter or OnCollision? Next time I would use that, makes the game a bit less frustrating :)

kuro says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Fun to play for a while. I like that you managed to make different kinds of enemy that take different approach to take down.

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Not bad at all ! Simple but fun. i don't know why people complain about the hitbox, i had no problem with that.
You should "unzooom" a little.
good work ! :)

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:28pm

It's challenging, simple and fun. Good job.
The main problem I have encountered is the one with the colliders. I've seen you are using Unity, so I recommend you to fit your colliders in a smaller area or try the Polygon Collider 2D. Because it's a small project it won't consume too much resources and will be a more enjoyable game.
I would add some music and sfx, too.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:35am

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

epb9000 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:53am

Very nice, ran smoothly and was pretty fun. I liked the variation on the enemies. Only issue I ran into was the hit boxes being a little too big.

hermetic says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:04am

Very nice platformer with good concept.
Jump is a bit lingering.
Hit boxes too big. I died walking near spikes...?

It's challenging and the enemy variation is good. Looks like you have the patrolling AI down. ;)
I am also going to pile on the zoom issue.

Good job!

Sep 3, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Neat concept! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/rUX8vUSl-y0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]