Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Supercontinent Ltd

by Deconstructeam - Jam Entry

Supercontinent Ltd is a narrative adventure about making phone calls in a distant future's rainy night.

Downloads and Links


Comments

Mettra says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:55am

I've got the wife's birthday and I don't know how to combine it with the Rio's Olympics date to open the phone-safe-lock. Help!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:09am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! and wow. the style of the background is amazing. modern city + pixel art mixed in a perfect way ! Great ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Matlahvi says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:03am

Ok, I've just finished it and that was amazing, I really want more! I expected to get into the skin of more characters but obvs you have limited time and I found this game big enough for that time! :)

Really enjoyable, with cool art and the music fix it perfectly, congratulations!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:15pm

WHAT AN AWESOME GAME FOR 72 HOURS! Great atmosphere, animations, music... and a nice story! VERY WELL DONE!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Really amazing game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/hC8B45eG0n0

DifferentName says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Wow, the art, sound, and atmosphere in this game are impressive. The gameplay is very unique and challenging. Maybe a bit too challenging, as I thought about giving up a few times, but I did manage to beat it!

scorched says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Great job, guys! Creative as always!
Consider enabling number dial while the info screen is open

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Great art, original gameplay concept and interesting story, as always! I was waiting for your entry.

Two bugs:
1. Letter appearence becomes noticeably slower during each conversation.
2. It is possible to start calling while "info screen" is opened: buttons can be heared, but phone call doesn't proceeds. (It confused in the beginning.)

local minimum says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:35pm

It is a magnificent piece of work this entry. The style, the music and visuals and sound fx from rain. Very very good. A bit too hard though. Didn't figure out how much of how to solve the puzzles. I was about to give up on even making a call because I interpreted the instructions as that the game would present me a number pad visually to press on. To avoid that confusion I would suggest that clicking the phone actually brings up the dialing with a pre-entered 555. Even better, if the numbers learned on the info ui could be clicked to be entered automatically. So to sum up: Fantastic in almost every way, but I wish it was a little easier in the beginning.

scorched says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:09pm

@Mettra, full year + date with short year

AnaGF says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:12am

Played it to the end. It has an interesting story, it made me wanting to know what happens after that. It is also a nice take on the theme, and the pixel art is amazing. Great work!

Devark says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:35am

audiovisuals are great! really polished with a neat premise. nice work!

tompudding says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Utterly stunning visuals, possibly the best I've seen from a LD entry. Really fun game too, I played it all the way to the end and it had a nice level of difficulty, made me feel smart sometimes, amazing work. This is my favourite entry by far so far. PS I made it crash by dialing 667274448 :)

aeveis says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:49am

Art looks nice, but the game is bugged for me. Might be a game maker thing. I'm running on a laptop Windows 8 64-bit. Here's screenshot: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16325832/ludum_dare36/superContinent_bug.png

Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Thanks everybody for playing! Glad you liked it that much!

@tompudding how did you manage to call that number? It was pure chance? It is the only number among 999999999 that I used for debugging. You are a wizard.

@aeveis Wow, what a weird bug. Don't know what it may be causing it, sorry. Only idea I have is that you try to download the game again in case the file was corrupted.

Ludipe says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Really enjoyed this entry, very polished and with great immersion. The small details trully make a difference (as they always do), like that lightning that changes the whole scene.

I was a bit confused by you being able to press numbers while the ID interface was on, took me a bit to realize it probably was a bug and that I had to disable it before calling.

From a player's perspective, after a few calls you kinda wish you could just click on somebody's name and auto-call them, but I think adding that feature would damage the mood, as pressing the numbers yourself feels important to the whole experience.

Loved the writing, art and audio (so basically everything), awesome work guys! :-)

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Great entry, as always. Got a bit stuck at start (which is my fault, didn't notice phone number on the window) and near the end (which is not, because tooltip is misleading), but between those two moments it was absolute thrill.

Togimaro says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Absolutely amazing, one of my favorite for the moment!
The end become too fast it's frustrating x)
Really good story and the phone idea is excellent
(Really fun the password with the date of the "old" Olympics Game of Rio :D )
Also the atmosphere is incredible thanks to the fantastic assets

Really really good job!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Fantastic game! Really good story, leaves you asking for more. Graphics and music are top notch. Good job!

David Cookie says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Wowowoo.. this is just amazing! Fantastic atmosphere, story telling, sounds, music, graphics.. You've just killed it once again!
The ending is really frustrating, I want more!!

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 1:34pm

god stuck but WOW i looks soooo neat and the idea is clever and the theme is so cool. <3 Cyberpunk

csanyk says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 4:48am

Amazing work. I'm very impressed with the mood and atmosphere. So much accomplished with just some simple text and point and click. I really enjoyed solving the puzzles in this one. The twist at the end kinda threw me for a loop.

xesenix says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Amazing pixel art in such short amount of time really smooth game play (everything works as it should) and nice interface sound is also really nice. Unfortunately this isnt my kind of game i couldn't pass any of the story line i tried to to call that number from window was it upside down it looked like was but i couldn't call what i saw i tried few combinations but im bad at brute force and upside down reading:P

Oct 28, 2016 @ 4:37pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites as well as awarded a trophy to your profile! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-36-eyjmnpkp

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]