Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Forever Someday

by TheOneThatNeverWas - Jam Entry

*Forever Someday is a deep psychological experience about breakups and depression.

*Get to know the mind of the developer in the most sincere thing ever done by him.

*This is not a traditional game, it is an experience full of meaning and every design choice has a reason.

*Be open-minded, play at your own pace, try without hurry, pay attention to the details and try to understand what this game is trying to say.

*The sounds and the music are very important, so a headphone is recommended to full experience Forever Someday.


Controls:
*Mouse only
*Esc to quit

Downloads and Links


Comments

fenwick says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:37am

That was really effective and well made. Kudos. Really excellent choice of music, and a nice, consistent art style. I got chills a few times, I know some of these feelings.

*drinks*

irwatts says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:10am

The scoring was fantastic, each scene had its own atmosphere, and everything felt quite honest. Great work!

Corinator says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:54am

Wow, this was a very artistic and surreal experience. I'm not sure how this relates to the theme, but overall really, REALLY well made.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:59am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Zerochain says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:26am

Awesome Style! Good Job :)

peterthehe says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:17am

Hands down the best game of the jam so far. Amazingly designed, thorough, smooth, beautiful, thoughtful and bugless. You one of the only devs I know of who has successfully game-jammed on depression without being insensitive or condescending. The scoring was gorgeous and everything fitted the tone you were trying to cultivate.

Though it was surreal and artsy, its meaning was conveyed within the grasp of an idiot teenager like myself - and that was down to excellent game design (you) as opposed to the actual concept.

I thoroughly congratulate you on your entry and can't wait to see your work on future jams!

Do you have a twitter handle? (I wish to keep up with the awesome)

neural says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Wow....it was a really immersive experience, thank you!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Wow, that was one of the most unique amazing experiences I've ever had, even outside of this game jam of any game I've played. I'd really like to see more works from you!

leondryaso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:40pm

This was a really different experience than most other games. The graphics and music style was really great too. Good job!

awerar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:42pm

I dont know what to say. That was a special excperience. really liked the art

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Very touching game. By the way I don't get wherer the theme are...

zedecks says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Great art style, music and atmosphere complements very well. A very unique experience, not what I would expect in Ludum dare.
I look forward to seeing more games from you!

pogo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:32pm

I'm not sure how it related to the theme, but it was an intriguing experience, and well crafted.

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:01pm

unique

JK5000 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:50pm

I really like this kind of game.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:24pm

You dismissed the theme completelly. It was a really great and inspired experience, congratulations. Every mechanic work flawlessly to reinforce the emotions. Great work.

PixelStuff says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Great art style, it was a great new experience to live for a game made during a jam. A really interesting work done here

Steven Miller says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Amazing presentation. The graphics and audio are incredible and stylish. I did notice that the screen was a bit offset on my computer (1600x900 resolution) but it seemed to fix itself at the end of each section and was perfectly centered for the credits. Luckily, this didn't really cut off too much stuff, though it did seem to mess with the controls, as the mouse didn't take the offset into account.

keln says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:33pm

I loved all of what offers this game. Right in the feels ;_;

The style and the music is oustanding.

tomdeal says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:50pm

That was a great experience! Liked everything, no complaints here :-)

Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:01pm

interesting experience, style unnique, they created a goob atmosphere. goob job

gonutz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:21pm

This is a very good art style for the kind of emotion that you are conveying. Both the graphics and sound grab you right away. This is an awesome entry.

One technical thing: I played through the game and clicked the 'quit' button at the end and then the game crashed and I got the Windows 'send error report' dialog.

Oliver_MB says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Amazing game, really amazing game. WOW!

Decentsauce says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Love how surreal this game is! Amazing graphics and audio. Didn't really like the controls though, especially the spinning. I think the phone scene is my favorite, felt very tense! Overall very well done!

lCira says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:50am

Very unique game!

alpha_rats says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:13am

Great entry! very creative

Jwatt says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:27pm

It feels quite honest and polished for what it is. I'm glad the lack of ratings gave room to these kinds of narrative games - I'd have no way of traditionally judging this.

But describing your own entry as "a deep psychological experience", "full of meaning" etc. is kind of overkill, no? You should let the game speak for itself.

Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Very interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/lcfUdhXZ_XQ

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 11:41pm

It was a fascinating experience, with awesome art! But it does not play well on a 1280 x 720 screen resolution!

I guess because of the fact that we were playing in such a low screen resolution, some things were harder to figure out how to progress the story. That often muddled our experience. Perhaps because of this, the later parts felt less effective than the beginning, where the interaction was more obvious. The ship part in particular felt frustrating, while the knocking part I was most indifferent with.

Oct 28, 2016 @ 4:37pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites as well as awarded a trophy to your profile! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-36-eyjmnpkp

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]