Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

No Excavation Needed

by PetterBergmar - Competition Entry

A game about finding things in the sand, or archaeology, or 3D platforming. Short but sweet. Play as the enthusiastic Dr Turquoise in a quest for the highest button... If you have one, play with gamepad!

Edit: Added Mac and Linux versions (untested)

Edit 2: My best time is 68.52 seconds! (To get close you need to cheat on the last button, while it folds)

Downloads and Links


Comments

anjack says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:39am

Great game! I appreciate the controller support. I really like the graphics: Simple but easy to identify/differentiate.

Would be nice if I could control the camera. :)

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:47am

Thank you!

Xinelu says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:48am

:D great game! IS like the graphics most! (believe me haha)

NinjaNic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:50am

Wow, this game was a lot of fun but much harder than expected! I love the heavy use of parkour. That, combined with difficult jumping maneuvers was what sold the game. The music is cool, and the graphics are great as well.

I can't believe this was made in just 2 days! Great work, and good luck!

Kalibrated says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:55am

Awesome success for 48 hours! The 3D looked really smooth, and the animations with the unfolding and sand looked really good.

At first, I missed the button and ventured off until the map ended XD

AurynSky says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:56am

Super cool game. I loved the way new structures come into play.

vmunhoz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:56am

Congratulations, awesome game. It is all so smooth, the camera, the animations, the sounds.

I found it much difficult to do the jumping (maybe because I'm not using gamepad), I always fall too early or too late hahaha.

Love the intro fading out at the beginning.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:56am

Great style, fun little idea, and some clever level design. I noticed that the second dropping platform could be used as a pseudo-checkpoint. My only complaint, which made me stop, was that the controls made the character fly around pretty crazily. The lack of control over speed on the ground or in the air made precision jumps nearly impossible. Odd things also happened when bumping into something while airborne. Keep in mind this is all on a keyboard. Maybe controller would've worked better. Tighten up the controls, and you have a damn solid game here.

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:57am

156 seconds! I felt the player was just a tad too slide-y which made it almost frustrating near the end. Loved how the level expanded.

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:00am

Thanks a lot guys! Yeah I have sort of only tested it with a gamepad, and I didn't have time to tweak the level or/and the characters movement very much. Might get back to it at some point after some nice reeeest.

Pix3M says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:01am

I got as far as your third screenshot before I gave up. Overall, this is really good, really solid. My patience only goes so far though, and I am pretty sure you did not purposefully rig the controls to be slightly different for different jumps.

authorblues says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:05am

I actually really enjoyed playing this. It's really impressive how much fun this is to play for how basic it is from a gameplay perspective.

Camera controls would be nice, and sometimes when I stand too close to a wall some of my movement seems restricted.

xesenix says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Really nice game i love that sand animation on rising of buildigs. Simple graphics but they look really well.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Excellent!
Really polished and with some fine tune. Had a great moment controlling the character.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Just wow. Graphically it' simple but so ... beautiful :)

Really great, the effects of things going out of ground are cool :) Only (big) problem, the jump don't always work and it's really annoying.

Great job :)

leuus says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Good job man! I love this game, it's really catchy. And the animation is so smooth. At the end I found it really difficult. The character seems to slide during the landing, it's making the game even harder. It is a little annoying to start from the bottom every time I fall, but it's the game (I'm not a good looser ^^).

wilsk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Cool - a fun jumpy game with some neat animations.

AWOL says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Neat game. lots of fun.

Chryse says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:47pm

A fun game! I enjoyed it a lot :D

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:59pm

very nice aesthetic, i love the blocky-minimalistic character and smooth animation, i might be copy the artsyle for next LD lol xD

anyway, the control very responsive yet feels slippery and floaty, the puzzle quite decent, but because of the slipper control, i somehow often fails the jumping puzzle and fell of...and climb up again

JeanValjean says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:46am

Nice game, quite entertaining. Simple but appealling graphics. I managed to finish it but I almost lost my patience in the last button. It was a bit difficult controlling the character. Great work!

tintreas says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:45am

Wonderfully dramatic looking!

wheerd says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:52am

Fun little game. I suck a plaforming though, so my time was >300s :/ I love tthe music and the blocky look. The jumping was a bit unusual for me, as you had to pick up momentum before you jump, to get farther, but you could still move while in the air.
I like the meachanic of the buttons for the progression, especially that you climb higher and higher and so the stakes get higher, too. The animations of the emerging buildings were also well done.
Overall, a great game and a fun experience.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Cool! Reminded me of monument valley! There might be a tad too much momentum with the movement.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:40am

This is great. Nice take on the theme, and the visuals are simple but very effective.

Like others have said, I Found the controls a bit "floaty" - on the ground it felt fine, but jumping precisely was really hard - even on a gamepad, it felt like the sweet spot between falling short or overshooting was really narrow.

I think the strongest thing here is the level design: you did a great job adding complexity, and gradually introducing the gameplay mechanics one at a time. That's not an easy thing to do right in 48 hours, so kudos!

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:26am

Thanks! Yeah I think I'll keep working on this and the first thing would be a complete rewrite of the movement code. Thanks everyone for your fantastic feedback! So happy that I managed to make something that people actually played!

Hackingroelz says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:47am

Cool game! The graphics look nice (especially the animations) and the parkouring was interesting, although it felt more like I was pushing the player rather than actually controlling it. But outside of that it was pretty awesome! :)

Sep 6, 2016 @ 8:34am

The game is really well made and nicely polished. A shadow/marker below the player would've been useful to know where you're about to land. Nevertheless, the game is really well done. Congrats!

GhostBomb says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 1:38am

I liked the way that the level unfolded gradually.

In games where the character is jumping around a complex 3D space, there should be a shadow directly under the player, regardless of where the light source is so that they know where their character is depth wise and where they will land. The lack of this shadow combined with the complete lack of friction while in the air made it incredibly hard to make any sort of precise jump.

The player also seemed to stick to walls if they jumped too close to one, being unable to move at all while in the air.

Also, while keyboard wasn't your preferred control choice, you should still give more options than space bar for jump. My keyboard for example, can't process left, up, and spacebar commands simultaneously for whatever reason.

Sep 10, 2016 @ 6:37am

Liked the way the level unfolded with each button pressed, was an interesting take on the theme which worked well. As GhostBomb mentioned I also had issues with the spacebar and arrow keys for controlling the jump. A player shadow would also have helped with accuracy. Overall a clever entry that felt complete in its experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]