Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Advance

by Pikas96 - Jam Entry

IT'S FIRE!

RUN!

@-------------------------------@

"Advance" is a short and hard 2D auto-scrolling platformer about being overwhelmed by the first technologic discovery.

Music progresses with you.

Catapults are not safe.

I warned you.

@-------------------------------@

Controls:

'Up' to jump.

'Left' and 'Right' to slightly strafe .

'R' to restart.

'Escape' to exit

@-------------------------------@

At the moment, only for Windows. I hope I can manage to port it to Linux.

@-------------------------------@

Contact: @Sergio_Pks

#LDJAM

Downloads and Links


Comments

t4rmo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:46am

This game is like my life

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:31am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! nice pixel art !Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

olkeencole says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:21pm

I really like the sprite art in this and the movement is smooth for the most part. I agree with the first guy, me running around with tech falling every which way and trying to "avoid" it is the story of my life. And also the camera shakes. Great job!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Love the art and the premise, the guy looks so funny with his torch. Controls are tight and responsive and the jumping feels like you know how far it'll take you which is excellent in a game of this sort. I'm not a huge fan of these sorts of games because I find the repeating nature of them boring but you made the game so solid on the controls that it never feels like it's being unfair. Congrats on that. Music I didn't like that much but it's only a small complaint. Very solid entry.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:39pm

The concept is nice and so is the presentation. It's only let down by the slightly glitchy controls, and by the inconsistent/confusing hitboxes of hazards. I don't know what is a hazard, and (for example, the sword at the beginning), some hazards kill you just for being near them.

But, quite nice nonetheless. Good job, I'll keep trying to beat it.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Although the gameplay was nothing novel the overall polish made it really enjoyable. I especially liked the music, both how it progressed but also the style and instruments - especially the slap bass was a great touch. The level was short enough to be fairly beatable without the need of checkpoints (in my opinion) but still long enough to give a challenge. Well done!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Really great pixel art, it was a great way to show each history period in a fast and meaningful way.
Plug plug check your LittleDoomDevs game Dig Dig Revolution.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Really nice concept, the intentions are great and it sadly lacks some key polishes. The pieces of pixelart were really cute and cohesive altogether. The experience is rather short so it's fine but some checkpoints would have definitely been needed otherwise. The platforming physics were kinda weird, some collisions felt a bit off. Loved the story though, I didn't expect to end up at the olympics, it really felt satisfying :D

Pikas96 says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Thank you all for the awesome feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]