Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Serell Saves The World

by imogiagames - Competition Entry

Hostile time travellers aliens have stolen some key human ancient artefacts. Sir Serell is called in order to get back those precious item and avoid a space-time disruption.
It's time to fight aliens, searching keys and retrieving lost ancients advanced technologic items?
Sir Serell saves the world is a top down shooter with a gameboy ancient technology look.
AWSD or ZQSD to shoot , arrows keys to move.
Oh yeah and you have to find keys to open the chests (that look like old fashioned tvs, don't ask why.)

Hopefully I'll find the time to fix a lot of things post comp.


FX have been generated with sfxr
BGM has been created with Beepbox.co the link to the source is on itch.io' game page.

I know door are terrible ^^' and I couldn't find a quick fix for the wall stuck problem. I'll have to figure something postcomp.


[EDIT]
I just added a few fixes

- Controls are now WASD to move and arrow to shoot
- Monsters have less health
- Uniformying the keyboard controls fixed the gamepad issue!
- Corrected a spall typo error on the ending screen

Downloads and Links


Comments

killthealias says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:05am

The game itself is enjoyable, and some of the artwork is absolutely excellent, but there's a major failing of the controls. Almost every twin-stick shooter relies on the left side of the controller to move and the right side to shoot, whereas this is inverted. Makes it very confusing to someone just playing for the first time.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:12am

The pixel art on this is great, but I do agree with Killthealias in that that wasd should probably have been movement, and arrow keys the firing.

In addition, it feels like every enemy is just a massive damage sponge; makes all the encounters feel like they drag on.

maffydub says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Great graphics and sound, and the twin-stick setup worked well for me. As others have said, the enemies all took a lot of killing... and I seemed to sometimes get stuck on invisible walls (or maybe edges). Good fun, though!

imogiagames says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:10pm

@killthealias
@Ilseroth
@maffydub

Hey gents, thanks for your feedbacks! I did some quick fixes about the issues you mentioned!

Gammel says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Liked the art and sounds, gameplay is ok, but could be more fast-paced. Sometimes my character got stuck after shooting near a wall.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Super cool! Really pretty (good palette, nice sprites) and the audio was pretty good too. My only complaint is that enemies take ages to die. Great work!

JD557 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Great game. It does have some problems though: the movement sometimes feels a bit weird, with the character getting stuck and there's something weird with the door's bounding box.

The enemies are also quite the bullet sponges, but I guess that's a way to make the game more challenging.

jakatpemadi says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Cool, I like the gameplay and the art. But sometimes, I accidentally "touch" the door, then go to the next room before gain the loot.

Great game though. Cheers :)

walkupandaway says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:17pm

This was fun! Great visuals and sound, and I didn't have any issues with the controls. I did run into an issue trying to pick the item in the first room to the left. (I couldn't pick it up). Otherwise, nice work!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:45am

I agree with a lot of the other posters. Very solid and polished look. Might wanna considering having the easy to kill enemies up front to quicken the early game pace.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:58am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! the title is so steam punk ! :D i love it ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:37am

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

kokiriandco says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Cool gameplay! The perspective camera reminds me of Zelda (A Link To The Past)!

Allthebees says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Amazing what you did in such a short space of time. The animations on the enemies are superb. The music is great too. The collision with the player was a bit frustrating though, falling through pits when the centre of the player touched it not the feet. Great game overall.

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:40am

Very good game. I liked the art and gameplay was fun. The enemy variety was also very nice. I also thought that the music was really good. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]