Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Make History

by HeuGamer - Competition Entry

Make History is a quick 1 - 5 minute game, where you rush through history inventing various things and evolving into the next era.

Larger scope of the game were to have multiple endings, different technologies leading to larger things, and puzzle-aspects to the game, however the scope became too large for myself.

With that in mind, I decided to stop developing before I overwhelm myself with new mechanics and end up not finishing, and plus I get a Sunday off! :) Anyways here's a very bare-bone version!

Hope you enjoy!

Friday - 3 hours
Saturday - 7 hours
Sunday - 0 hours
Grand Total Hours Worked On: 10 Hours

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:27am

Could you add a .zip option? I don't have .rar unzipper installed :P

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Okie dokie, I added a .zip option. :)

FisherG says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 4:21pm

I like it! Very cool how you can use different objects and see different outcomes through each playthrough.

Aug 28, 2016 @ 4:47pm

That was a very neat game! The only complaint I have is the classical era is supposed to be called the Renaissance era.

Ieyfo says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Nice neat project.

gurkan96 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:57pm

interesting idea and nice art way better than anything i could do. maybe a little bit simple gameplay but still cool

tartlegames says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:07pm

I love how fast it cycles into different time periods. Great work.

wicked_ says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:59am

Cool little game. Gameplay is very simple, but that's okay since it's very short. Enjoyed playing it.

wilsk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:45am

Short and sweet. Thanks

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Nice. I like that every pair of items is combinable.

jakatpemadi says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:19pm

I like the artwork, but in my opinion the delay between the second object and the "Press I to Combine" text is too short. Great game though... :)

tartlegames says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:40pm

for such simple gameplay it feels very full. I really liked it a lot. The music is good, the art is good, the theme is good. Great work.

Zee says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:11am

A nice little game. Too bad we didn't get to see what you had in mind with the larger scope, but that's Ludum Dare for you. It would be perfect as web game. You should try building it under html5 in Unity.

MrMordem says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:01pm

simple but a nice concept, the artstyle was good and the music as well, relaxing atmosphere, a cool chill game :)

chocobyte says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 10:03am

Interesting idea and nice simple graphics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]