Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

NERESIS - The Great Neon Shieldbarer

by IshikawaNakamura - Jam Entry

Neresis is a 2D topdown-Action-Slasher.
Defeat hords of enemys by swinging your mighty neon weapon at them and protect yourself from bullets with your big neon shield!

This game was my first try on working with 2D-mechanics. My friend drew all the pixel-art and I did the programming. We wished we had more time, but we both had appointments over the weekend so we were not able to put all the features in that we wanted to.

WSAD - MOVE
MOUSE - ROTATE
LEFT CLICK - ATTACK

We are fully aware of all the bugs and lack of game-mechanics improvement, but the time was not enough to fix it ;)


Downloads and Links


Comments

leondryaso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:23am

I found this game kinda hard :D And also when you die there's no way to restart and you manually have to close the window and start again. And yeah if you'd have more time to add sounds and tweak stuff, this could actually be a kinda cool little game.

Yngvarr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:23am

I don't quite understand, is my weapon ranged or not. But I keep restarting the game after every death. I will defeat all of them! =)

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:24am

I gave the game a few goes. The game was brutal I guess that's what happens when you have a spatan vs modern solders. I wish I can recharge the shield otherwise I just die very quickly. The art was great and the character animation was good too. It's a shame that you couldn't finish the game.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:44am

A few beeps and boops for sound effects, a separate sprite for dead enemies and a restart button would've gone a long way, but the core game itself plays very nicely. I like the look as well, very crisp graphics

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:17pm

@jackyjjc we has both of these things ready we just didnt have time to implement those in the game

foxroxracer says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Nice pixel-art :) I like the movement of the player. Maybe make the range of the bullets larger?

holgk says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:58pm

A few sounds fx would improve the game drasticly. But still a nice hack and slash game.

Casevse says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:48pm

I like this kind of games. Some sound and effects feedback on attacks would be great. Good work!

Jadernak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:38pm

While I can live without restart, gameplay wise it had unfulfilled potential. Some abilities would be great, since kiting doesn't seem to be a thing here. It was pretty to look at though.

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:47pm

The art work was sweet. We should work together on the next jam.lol

Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:44pm

A bit like realm of the mad god. So nothing too bad. Just a little more variety would have been great. Also some sounds would have helped with the atmosphere

MonsieurDuc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:23pm

<3

Smiley says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:10pm

I liked the intro screen graphic. but as you said the game isn't finished. it got difficult very fast with all enemies showing up at the same time after the first few ones.

metalhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:42pm

The pixel art was great and it gave the game a great atmosphere, everything from the title screen to the characters and map was engaging for the eyes.

I wish there was a bit of sound to the game, even a few sound effects would have been a great addition

In terms of gameplay the game was relentless, the speed at which you die and the number of enemies made the game very hard to beat.

Otherwise good job!

qikcik says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Nice game , I like pixelart :D

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Brutal difficulty. That's two parts of your game you share with Dark Souls, hahaha. I would reccommend adding a restart button, because relaunching the game is frustrating when you die so easily.

Nice art, and fine mechanics. I'd like to see this game remade and completed, and that's what the Ludum Dare is here to inspire!

simple_blue says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:39pm

work on the combat mechanics, there is no way to tell if you are in range to attack, and it is literarly imposible to kite and land hits without getting hit.

HUUUUUGE props for explaining the controlls tho!

also, controlls feels good.
BAD COMBAT!
good controlls.

xirion11 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:34am

This game is hard, but I really liked it. I like making hard games for gamejams since it adds a little to the total playtime xD, I really enjoyed playing Neresis, could be cool to play this on android ;)

Avon says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:29pm

This is a cool game idea with a lot of potential. I like the controls, and it has a lot of good art. Pity you didnt have time to polish the mechanics more. Since there are no ratings though I dont think it would be wrong of you to update the game after the deadline.

Frozen Stick says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:21pm

The graphics are good.I'm not going to mention sound effects and a restart key(whoops) but the game is hard and I like it!Now....How can I rate this.... :|

AODQ says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Love the HUD! I don't enjoy that I have a shield yet can't block attacks though :/ . There is no restart after you die as well. After you kill an enemy sometimes they go back to standing position shortly after their death animation. And sometimes when you attack you just don't do any damage at all.

Sparked99 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I like the pixel art. I wish there was a sprite for the corpses, a restart button, and some form of sound. However the Hud looked nice and the gameplay seemed to be going somewhere. Shame you didn't have more time to work on it.

hermetic says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 1:45am

The arena combat is a cool idea. It needs some story to go along with all the cool art.
Huge difficulty ramp really early makes it nearly impossible to do more than take some with you when you die.

The controls were tight and not buggy.
Not sure that the bad guys were shooting projectiles I could see. I think they were invisible.

Some sound would have been really cool.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 8:41am

Remind me of Asterix game in the 90s. Fun (y)

gonutz says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 12:21pm

The graphics look good. The gameplay is very strange. You hit people with an axe (?) from twenty feet away, you can run around outside the level bounds everywhere and there seems to be no ending?

Sound would have been nice as well :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]