Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

HEAVEN Slime

by ohsqueezy - Jam Entry

Hold any key to charge the slime. Jump and land softly on the eyes to keep them from closing. Use your boosts to double-jump. Land on colored eyes to add a slime to your body and get an extra boost.

Controls
-----------
ANY: hold to charge
F11: toggle fullscreen
F8: reset
ESC: quit

Fixes
-----------
- Skipping a slime body doesn't crash the game
- Game exits with ESC
- Reset button resets fully
- Background music and sound effects leveled
- Final eye doesn't give a boost

* If you're getting a blank screen, try changing the line 'fullscreen = yes' to 'fullscreen = no' in the file 'config'

Downloads and Links


Comments

Capt Nemo says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 8:24pm

The Art, is some of the best ive seen this ld. And the game is very simple, but deeper than one would expect on the onset. Having to time your boost jumps charging while falling is a good example of this.

This is some of the best use of simple controls. While figuring out how to do it, no one should think they are pressing the wrong thing, or missed something in that sense.

the one thing that is frustrating however, is how small the margin for error is. I know this is mitigated by the boost jumps giving you free lands, but it still feels super punishing. You have to peak your jump at about two eyeball heights above the eyeballs. To get that precision for the long jumps is pretty much luck, unless you expect everyone to fail every jump a couple of times to get each specific jump's timing down.

Im not sure if making the eyes more forgiving would fix this though.. I would look for a way to increase the chance of accuracy for the player in some way, maybe color change, or a separate meter, or vertical lines to judge the stretch.

Anyway, best looking thing ive played so far. Good Job!

Ryusui says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 3:49am

This is a REALLY NICE game. I love the concept, I love the execution...my only gripe is that, as noted, the margin for error is punishing. It'd be great if we had some more precise indicator for how much "oomph" we were putting into our jumps, maybe some kind of background detail allowing us to better measure distances between eyes as well.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 4:14pm

I love the design and the minimalism of it all. still, hard as heck! congratulations !

jeremyfa says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Unable to run the game on my macbook pro :(

amras0000 says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 1:59am

The art's awesome, the sound design is impressive, and I like the principle of the game, but it's awful at communicating...anything. I initially assumed that my boost would work as a doublejump (or triplejump when I got the first upgrade). And this worked for the most part until at random times I'd just get an error noise and the boost wouldn't work. I know there was an icon of some sort in the upper right but I couldn't figure out what it did.

I couldn't get past a certain point (still at 2 squares) purely because I couldn't get the boosts to work. I'd really like to see more of the game but either I'm missing something important or the game's bugged. :(

I'd like a better indication of when my boosts are available, how many I have left, and what I need to do to get them back. And I'd like a better indication of when I'm going too fast to land "softly". Other than that, nice job.

Only other thing I'm confused about: how does landing a block on eyes tie into the "Ancient Technology" theme? o.o

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 3:12am

@jeremyfa Thanks for the feedback! I can maybe try testing it myself if you let me know which version of OS X are you running?

@amras0000 Thanks for conveying your experience! Each icon in the upper right represents one boost. Boosts are like a double-jump, allowing you to jump even when not on an eye. You get an extra boost every time you land on a colored eye (even if you already landed there in a previous run).

The connection to the theme is "spring", and there was a story that I didn't have time to put in the game. Basically, the slime is an extraterrestrial that is fascinated with the concept of a spring.

As for communicating these things, I am thinking of fun ways to communicate the jump distance and boosts!

urielgamedev says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 9:45am

I like your game, it remembers me Squid Jump in Splatoon! It really hard, need a lot of precision, but the concept is really interesting.
The music makes a good ambiance!

Knowledge says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Interesting little game, a bit annoying for me (but I think it should be that way).

Damdoshi says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 2:34pm

It is really cool. It could certainly work well as mobile game. : o The concept is nice and it is well done. Good job.

joe40001 says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 8:45am

Creative gameplay. Kinda trippy idea, for my taste it was more frustrating than fun but still I appreciate the effort/result.

Score: (because I like scores)
Overall 2/5
Innovation 4/5
Fun 2/5
Theme 4/5
Graphics 2/5
Audio 2/5
Humor 0/5
Mood 4/5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]