Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Archaic Light

by NinjaNic - Competition Entry

Description:
You are a peasant in Egypt, 3000 B.C. It is your duty to harvest the wheat to offer up to the gods. But, be quick!

How-To:
WASD - Move
Space / Enter - Harvest Wheat
ESC - Quit
F - Toggle Fullscreen
M - Mute

Downloads and Links


Comments

abhimonk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:12am

Fun game! Ending was super unexpected and funny. I cracked up when I saw the eye appear. The character animations were nice too.

fabbyrob says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:32am

Super cute, I love the character animations!

hermetic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:40am

Nice pixel art style. Not much to the gameplay.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:44am

Nice job! The animations are nice, and the music fits the theme. However, I would have liked it if the full-grown wheat was more visually distinct from the wheat that was merely growing; the appearance of some full heads of grain might have helped.

The ending was great. Nice job.

binaryferret says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:58am

Liked the pixel art. The ending was crazy but funny. I thought more might be coming with the inclusion of the jump ability.

HawkSandwich says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:03am

There's not much in the way of what you can do, but I feel like with more gameplay this could be pretty fun :D

Teekeks says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:06am

That end was unexpected, was fun!

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:20am

i like the animation but there is some bug when I jump

zhtroy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:24am

Jumping is not very necessary in the game. The art is nice.

Multitudes22 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:26am

Loved the ending and the art, but the gameplay was a little lackluster.

Baknik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:38am

Great style!

Flatgub says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:46am

That ending caught me so off guard, I loved it!
The graphics were really nice. The gameplay was essentially non-existent though and I did have to mute the game after a while.

vmunhoz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:58am

I don't know if I finished the game or lost the game. I was at 99 then i hit the spacebar and skiped something and got back to the menu =/

Mine10blox says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:13am

Loved the pixel art, not much gameplay though.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:16am

The art was awesome! There wasn't much game play, but the resulting cinematic at the end was a nice reward for collecting all of the wheat.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:19am

Gameplay too simplistic, imo, not really any decisions to be made. Controls felt "sticky". Lots of wasted screenspace on the pyramid. Nice chunky pixel art, though.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:24am

Very grindy ;) But at least I got a better pay-off in the end than in many NES games, so it was totally worth my time. Well done for one day. I just don't know what the jumping-ability was for.

Here's an idea for having a fail-state in the mechanics: If the player doesn't harvest a certain patch of wheat, it becomes dry and fades, effectively blocking new wheat to grow. If all patches are blocked that way, the game is over.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:51am

Maybe as you reach 100 or lower it to 50. The pyramid gets built starting with nothing and then the end game is that scene you already have.

Xinelu says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:37am

Simples and Aewsome :D!! Good work!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:58am

I couldn't tell if it was possible to lose, which makes the gameplay seem rather boring, as there is no consequence for taking no action. The art is nice but I think given the simplicity of the gameplay it would be good to have several different sprites for wheat, just so it would feel less robotic.

smilewood says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:06am

This was fun to play, it felt a little grindy however. I think that your end point of 100 was just about right, much more and I may have given up on the game having more to offer. I love your art style, and the ending was fantastic!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:07am

Very grindy but the ending was pretty cool. Some really great artwork :)

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:25am

This shouldn't be so addictive. :) I didn't gather enough wheat, though. I've got to try it a few more times!

ValiaP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:27am

Really want to give it a try, but I can't visit the website. Could you put some other links? Like drop box?

Coal says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:22am

Pressed space right as it ended and missed the ending. :(
Nice simple art.

Pix3M says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:41am

Fairly simple and straight forward. Controls definitely did not feel responsive if I wanted to make abrupt turns

I would also recommend creating a visible ground platform so you're not standing on the bottom of the window

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:18am

very nice take of the theme, good idea and execution, play it couple times, simple yet somewhat addicting

the aesthetic also nice

Kalibrated says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:40am

We have similar themes with the egyptians and aliens haha. Very unique concept! Like an old-school grass-mowing simulator. I could see this gaining value with things like a shop for upgrades, varieties of wheat, etc. Nice ending animation!

Efmi_ says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:22pm

What did I just play?? :D. Ending was awesome, and the game made you to make some kind a of strategy. I was thinking like all the time that: Whats next, Whats next??? :D. Great job.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:17am

Sometimes symplistic is all it takes to make something great. Well done

Geared Games says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:07am

The gameplay wasn't really fun, just doing the same thing 100 times without any real challenge.

I did get to the end though but I think I accidentally skipped the ending because I went straight back to the menu.

jakatpemadi says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:22am

I like the graphics and the music, mostly the animation of growing wheat and the font. Although, it is funny to see the player jumping so high... :P Meanwhile I feel the player movement is a little bit laggy sometimes.

At the end of the game I am expecting for the space exploration game, really. Something like space invader. Unfortunately the soaceship turns into eyes... It is entertaining game... Thank you very much... :D

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:36am

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

tppr2046 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:12am

Little cute game! good job~

phi says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Love the ending... :P

I like the consistent graphics style, even in the menu. The concept isn't necessarily bad, but the issue is that the only factor of difficulty is a fixed time limit. This makes the game (a) a little frustrating and (b) not re-playable. To fix (a), there would have to be some mechanism that gives the player some control over the time limit (or e.g. the walking speed), which requires skill. To fix (b), there has to be some sort of measurement of how well the player did (e.g. a score), which would provide an incentive to play again.

Congrats on your first LD compo game! :) See you in December!

NinjaNic says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 5:59am

Thank you to everyone for the compliments and feedback! Even without ratings, this was a successful Ludum Dare game competition! :)

prygskok says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 12:47pm

simple, with happy end! love it)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]