Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Shift

by dj_pale - Jam Entry

Small space shmup where your ship changes with different abilities every 3 seconds. Survive waves with ships with similar capabilities!

Arrow keys to steer, space to shoot.

Made using luxe game engine (Haxe)

== Digital Apathy==
* Code: dj_pale
* Gfx and ass. code: plink
* Music: skurk

** Very minor post-compo fix - disable space-key in browser on canvas to avoid accidental scrolling. Note that if the game is too big for your screen you can use browser zoom to make it smaller!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#84Audio(Jam)3.85
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#236Fun(Jam)3.48
#479Overall(Jam)3.30
#539Graphics(Jam)3.33

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Loved the idea, polish and execution was solid, too (...and the "shape shift" sound effect is super cool!). Great job!

ogre says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24am

I made a game with the exact same name :) Pretty different, but both arcade-y. Like yours! Nice and difficult without being overly frustrating.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:55pm

The forced shifting is really annoying, especially when you change when dodging moving towards a wall to the green ship. Only 10% of the deaths felt like they were my fault.

Love the audio, though.

CelloCoder says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Really fun! Very cool arcade-styled graphics/sounds :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Nice game, a little dificult for me.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Felt like either shapeshifting needed to be more controlled or to warn the player they were about to shift.

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:58pm

I think a warning or a visible timer would be helpful, but the concept was good and addictive! Good job!

shapemorph says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Nice job, polish and fun game, good challenge

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Great audio, and an cool take on the theme. As some others have said, some warning about when the ship is about to shift would be great. I most often died when DEF switched to MOV and I suddenly moved much faster than I expected (into a bullet!)

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Hangs for me on Firefox when I press Space for second time (first time is to start the game). Also background is dark only on within some rectangle: http://imgur.com/qJzPs23

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Very well polished! The mechanics have a good feel to them!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:19am

80 is maximum points to get Innovation: 3/10 Fun: 6/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 2/10
Audio: 6/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 5/10
Overall: 27/80
Good Game

Reyn says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:56am

Thanks, that was fun. I think if you made the ship flash before it switched it could prevent some of the frustrating deaths. Movement was especially nicely done.

damrem says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Fun! Just one little comment: it's possible to move diagonaly backward but not forward.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]