Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spirits of the Forest

by Divitos - Jam Entry

Spirits of the Forest is about an animal messenger who helps the forest spirits look after their world. The animal messenger is a being who exists in both the physical and metaphysical worlds. He is the chosen one, and he helps the spirits communicate with each other by delivering messages. In return, the spirits grant him shape-shifting abilities that aid him in his journey. The “chosen one” begins the story as a panther, but learns to transform into a kangaroo and a flying squirrel. Each animal has unique abilities that need to be used to overcome challenges and obstacles.

The wolf-spirit Zanakalth has severed his ties with the forest-keeping spirits, and is on a self-serving quest to gain power. It is up to the chosen one and the other forest spirits to protect their world against Zanakalth’s dire plans.

----------

WASD or Arrow Keys for Movement
Space to Interact and Change Forms

---------

Programming and Design by @DivitosGD

Music and Sound Design by Wesley Devore www.wesdevore.com

Art by Hisan Iwo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Audio(Jam)3.54
#243Mood(Jam)3.52
#275Graphics(Jam)3.81
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#540Theme(Jam)3.36
#560Overall(Jam)3.23
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#972Innovation(Jam)2.44
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35am

didn't seem to run for me.. but the screenshots look nice :)

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:28pm

The good old platformer with the ability to change characters. It was fun to play. I liked the pixel-art style graphics!

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Good games, quick respawn (even though, certain phase were made diffusivity and teeth-grinding, but in the wrong way [2 screen to traverse and bat + hedgehog, NOPE, didn't like that one])

The pixel art and the mood put thanks to the music are excellent

However, i found a bug : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/12976475/SpiritForest.png

It happened right after respawning for the long fall

Petya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02pm

This was fun and I liked the visuals. Sometimes the screen shifting was annoying cause there would be an obstacle right out of sight so I would either die or get stuck

vicious_br says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:02pm

the third to the fourth screen can not imagine that I can go to the left ... I loved the music and graphic design.

Horsed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:10pm

The savepoints are really necessary as I often couldn't tell what most of the stuff is and if it will harm me or not. The movement feels too rough for a platformer. The music was the best part for me. It mostly made the atmosphere for me.

Titangea says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

I like the pixel art, Is difficult but the checkpoints are placed in good positions, I enjoy it. Sometimes is difficult to change from one scene to another, the first time I believed it was a bug. Nice Entry ^^

Pusty says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Really good sounds and visuals! I like the animal-changing part and the mood that this has. Great Game!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Pretty fun but ridiculously hard. Also the screen shifting would sometimes mess up

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10am

Love the Pixelart! Especially the Panther. Overall good game!

testzero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:15am

"It's supposed to be hard" is always, Always, ALWAYS a difficult prospect for something like this. You have to be careful to make sure the physics and hitboxes are fair and feel right. Unfortunately this game does not. The jumping physics are okay, but there's no sense of satisfaction when you finally get to another checkpoint. I stopped after the bats first appear because it's just not worth it.

A health bar would be VERY appreciated. It would give players a reason to avoid damage without having to be so pointlessly unforgiving. The instant death here causes the game to appeal only to the most sadistic of players, and will really turn off a lot of people from what could otherwise by a very fun game.

I really wanted to keep playing the game and see the other animals. The art style is great and the music is soothing, but don't try to hide behind the "It's supposed to be hard!" mantra. It just the game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:26am

Great game, very fun, very difficult, great mood (thanks to the music), and a well designed world.

Erkberg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Really enjoyed this one, the pixel art and the music are just amazing! The gameplay is really solid and fun, but the high difficulty can be quite frustrating. If the hitboxes of the enemies were just a tiny bit smaller it would be more enjoyable I think. The ending was a little abrupt, I was hoping for an encounter with Zanakalth and the game just shut down after talking to the owl.
Anyway, great job overall!

Alphish says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Uh, oh, it's a platformer. Not only that, but it's a precision platformer. And with rather unfair collisions/hitboxes, too. >.<

The art was mostly good, with background having better quality than some sprites (e.g. a hedgehog), but overall it serves its purpose well. I liked the soundtrack, too (some sound effects were a bit annoying, though, like kangaroo's dying... screech?). The story isn't particularly creative, but it works well enough.

The collisions and maybe level design require some serious work, though; it's fine when a game is difficult (unless it's platformer, because I played way more difficult platformers than necessary to prove my platforming skills), but I've found some segments annoying, and not rarely because I died seemingly without any contact with spikes whatsoever. This led me to using R button so often that sometimes I was mistaking it with Space (including the one time when I reached the owl spirit and restarted mid-dialogue after a really, really painful segment). >.<
Also, you need to get a better grasp of designing multiple-window maps. Sometimes when I jumped the view was moving up and down to catch up with main character, other times I tried walking left/right not seeing there's a ledge just around the window border, the ledge I need to jump on. Also, the flying squirrel fall segment (the one where you avoid bees nests) felt a bit luck-based due to little time for reaction to the next-screen obstacles.

I like the game's mood, but mechanics and challenges require some serious reworking.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Great graphics. Game is a bit hard, but it is good overall.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:21pm

cool graphics and concept

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:19pm

This feels crude. Much refinement, and I think you will have a good game. But I didn't like that the panther is wider than the standard block size.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]