Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Block Dropper

by blockdroppers - Jam Entry

Block Dropper is a rhythm game where you have to match the blocks with holes to the sound of the music. Pushing shapes through holes has never been so much fun!

Controls
--------
Q - left position
W - middle position
E - right position

Left Arrow - Change to Sphere
Down Arrow - Change to Cube
Right Arrow - Change to Triangular Prism

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#271Theme(Jam)3.68
#461Fun(Jam)3.23
#501Overall(Jam)3.28
#533Mood(Jam)3.12
#549Innovation(Jam)3.05
#584Graphics(Jam)3.25
#686Humor(Jam)2.13

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:04am

this is a great game, though im not coordinated enough to play it.

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06am

Very difficult, but enjoyable, game! My biggest suggestion would be to work on syncing up the audio from the blocks moving so that they match the music better. As it is now, they always play slightly behind when they would be in sync.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:15am

Playing on Windows, my game suffered major and frustrating delays. It was almost impossible to keep up with because you had to look so far ahead and try to get the timing right that way. If it worked the way it was supposed I am sure this would be a fun game, but even if it did keep up, I think the starting speed is a little too fast, but that is me.

Skipi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33am

This game is difficult x.x

Solid entry, though. I like the simplistic graphics.

WASD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51am

Very cool challenging game. Good work!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00am

Nice concept but damn managing shapes AND placement is rough.

One thing that threw me off completely though was trying to
match the "beat" was not in tune with me having to move the shape...bit hard to explain.

In "beat" games usually your inputs are in tune with the rhythm but here, you have to move and change shapes outside of any real rhythm and that's a really weird (and not good, at least for me) feeling.

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:30am

Pretty hard but it feels and looks good!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36am

if uprovlenie was on the arrows , and not on the provisions , it would be more convenient , and the brain would not broke PS sorry for transliteration

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:55am

Pretty fun game, but really hard! I always pressed E or Q when I wanted to go in the middle for some reason...

kariamoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:22am

Cool game, but a bit hard. Good job however!

eric777 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:20am

Creative game, love rhythmic games - really nice job!

Keeping track of the shapes and the positions both was pretty hard.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:33am

Very hard game but also very well done, looks polished. Nice job.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:40am

I love that music which blends the game play. The controls are hard to get use to though. Really fun.

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:14am

I think, that two keys for position controls will be better than three. The game is really hard but i like it.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:20am

Pretty good. Slightly frustrating and confusing with the jump to position system instead of a move by one. Quite interesting and well put together. Good job.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21am

Really challenging game!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:18pm

This is the kind of game I could play for hours, trying to survive a few seconds more. I love how the visuals react to the music. Very enjoyable, congrats!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:12am

I am struggling :-D Very good game and really tough for me. Good Job!

FanieG says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Damn, I suck at these type of games, but this was quite cool.

pogo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:38pm

The synch was a little too far off for me, too. A little slower ramp up would have helped players to get a grasp of the controls before asking for fast shape changes. Otherwise it's a solid game, with decent music and art.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:15am

Difficult, but nice when you get the hang of it. Unfortunately my mind just couldn't comprehend it that easily and I had a lot of trouble.

I played it very briefly on stream at 2:04:30 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Foxarya says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Interesting game but too dificult to play it!

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:19am

At first, I thought this was going to be just like the many other "mach the shape" games i've played so far.
And it was, to an extent. Your's requires HUGE coordiantion, because you added two new layers: mach the shape AND the position, and you have to match the beat.
Well done.

May 8, 2016 @ 12:24am

Simple, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/tTBSC0cP_38

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:21am

Nicely done but MAN is a human supposed to be able to play this?! I'd need at least 3 brains to be able to play this, one for shapes, one for positions and one for remembering the keys ahah
Nicely done tho!
A shame we can't rate the music, it sounded cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]