Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Combibox

by pogo - Jam Entry

Gameplay clip: http://gfycat.com/DisfiguredOccasionalCur

Match shapes into boxes, score as high as you can

Controls: LMB, RMB to select shapes
Escape to quit

Play the downloadable version for the best experience!

3d work: Commie

Music: Royalty free from Bensound www.bensound.com​
Sounds:

S: Crate Break 2.wav by kevinkace | License: Creative Commons 0
S: success.wav by grunz | License: Attribution
S: success_low.wav by grunz | License: Attribution
S: Dbl Click.mp3 by 7778 | License: Creative Commons 0
S: Metal Hit 7.wav by DasDeer | License: Attribution
S: Metal_Punch_01.wav by dheming | License: Attribution

Custom shader: http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/adding-an-outline-to-unity-5-standard-shader.286554/#post-2111292

Font: DSEG7 (http://www.keshikan.net/fonts-e.html)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#53Graphics(Jam)4.41
#121Overall(Jam)3.78
#141Innovation(Jam)3.68
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#600Theme(Jam)3.28

Comments

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

Excelent graphic! And sound nice too.

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:13am

Fun Game. Nice Graphics, interesting concept. I managed to get the arms stuck together though and broke it :D

whilefun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:13am

A fellow manufacturing sim kind of thing! Yay :D Your punch card slot is waht I wanted to make if I didnt run out of time. This was fun, and the shape matching was impressive. Level 1-2 are easy and fun. Level 10 is SUPER HARD, and also fun. Watching the blocks smash into bits is its own reward. Nice work :)

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56am

Super cool! Great graphics and SMOOOOOTH camera controls. Pretty addictive too. Great job guys!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29am

Awesome entry!
Excelent graphics and concept.
Good work!:)

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Cool game webgl lags a little !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Very good game, was fun and graphics were more than great for ld.

virtual_void says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Cool concept and nice graphics.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Great job. Game feels very polished and smooth.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Very nice game! It is so satisfying to watch the cubes assemble once you've picked the right parts.

Drury says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:01pm

This is both great and PTSD-inducing from my time working at a factory.

5/5 from a former disgruntled factory worker.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Really sweet! There were many nice touches, and I liked the way the pieces break if you connect them wrong. The game crashed once for me but otherwise I had a smooth and fun experience, although the game seems pretty heavily luck-based.

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:19am

Cool menu-> game transition and robotic hands! Nice work!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Liked the portal inspired graphics, fun matching game.

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:21pm

The sound when the player completes a shape is very satisfying, as well as the smashing of the blocks when it's wrong. This game is cool, fun to play and feels good. Great job.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09am

Excellent and unique idea for the theme. There's seems to be a bug in which the claws get stuck in their extended positions at the start of levels. But after a restart you're back in, and its very fun and challenging. Well done!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:17am

Great graphics. Addictive and funny, I like the idea of mixing pieces. Good job!

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:45am

I love the camera controls and the in-world menu! Great concept and cool modular cube models. I think if you had some sort of sound or flash when the timer is low (15 seconds maybe?) it would be so jarring when you suddenly can't pick anything up, and towards the later levels it seems as though its really rare to find two matching pieces

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:49am

Great game! Love the music and graphics too

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:19am

Pretty good, enjoyed it. Sweet graphics

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:21pm

I really enjoyed this game! It was fun to play, looked great. And felt very polished. It also feels like something that would play very well in VR. I think it fits the theme OK since you combining shapes into a different shape. It's kind of loos but it works. My one real complaint is that I never saw my score since there was no attention drawn to it near the end. Showing the score on a GUI popup or flashing the screen would draw more attention. Also, it would be nice to have something to click before going back to the level select. Oh! By the way, I LOVE the level select. It's very polished looking and quite nice. Thanks for the awesome game, great job!

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Solid concept! Good for VR I supposed

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Nice graphics , Good concept for a casual game . Good work ! :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Good combination puzzle :)

Tselmek says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:05am

Nice concept, the experience is pretty polished as well.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Excellent game. keep up ;)
Nice concept

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:19am

This is a very well polished game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]