Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The awkward story about the unluckiest guy on Earth

by juanluisrodreyes - Jam Entry

The unluckiest guy on Earth got bitten by a zombie, a vampire, and a werewolf. The peasants want to kill this monster and he must defend himself by shapeshifting between the three monsters.

CHARACTERS:

Zombie - Slow, can't jump, receives half damage.
Werewolf - Fast, deals double damage.
Vampire - Medium speed, can double jump.

CONTROLS:

1,2,3 - Change monster
A-D - Left-right
Space - Jump (you can stomp the peasants to kill them!)
Mouse main click - Attack
K - Exchange 100% blood for 10% health.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Humor(Jam)2.86
#479Theme(Jam)3.43
#722Graphics(Jam)3.04
#955Fun(Jam)2.57
#970Mood(Jam)2.36
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1036Overall(Jam)2.65
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43am

The graphics are beautiful. Great work!Love it!

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

funny graphic and a cool idea for shapeshift make this game a great LD35 game, good job!
would love to see more animations - but hey, good job for the small timeframe!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05am

cool graphics and innovative use of the jam theme. controls were a little awkward but still a cool game for the timeframe!

d3garcia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14am

This looks great but I guess you could work a little bit more on the collisions and attacks before the graphics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

@d3garcia You're right. We had some issues with the collisions and we couldn't make it absolutely right for the deadline.

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38am

Really enjoyed the game!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46am

Like the background and art style. Nice job.

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

Fun little game. I like the shifting mechanism and the jump controls. Hit detection is wonky but the game itself is fun!

lodur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00am

@11Schotter Thanks a lot. We would have liked make more animations, but our designer made his best effort doing those sprites, it was his first time doing something like this. Also, there are an animation with a bat that we didn't use finally. The next animation was the death of our player, but we didn't have time.

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:31am

Fun game.
Add a pc/mac/linux link and embed a WebGL build. Unity Web Player has deprecated. A windows build could help you get more ratings :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01pm

@varuns We already uploaded the Windows and Mac OS X builds. We still need to test the Linux and WebGL ones.

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23pm

The graphics are quite nice, but the walking animation seems to lack of one or two frames, so it does look somewhat weird... also some sort of attack animation would be nice ;)

In terms of game design, I like the idea of three different monsters with different abilities... at last the vampire can double jump, I wasnt*t able to figure out what the zombie and werewolf could to, though.

The level design tends to be a little boring because the same level elements repeat over and over again without much variety. There also seems to be a problem with the ground, as the zombie sometimes gets stuck without any visible obstacle beeing in his path.

The sound overall is nice, but there could be a little less... moaning ^^

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:25pm

The graphics are quite nice, but the walking animation seems to lack of one or two frames, so it does look somewhat weird... also some sort of attack animation would be nice ;)

In terms of game design, I like the idea of three different monsters with different abilities... at last the vampire can double jump, I wasnt*t able to figure out what the zombie and werewolf could to, though.

The level design tends to be a little boring because the same level elements repeat over and over again without much variety. There also seems to be a problem with the ground, as the zombie sometimes gets stuck without any visible obstacle beeing in his path.
The controlls in general tend to feel odd.

The sound overall is nice, but there could be a little less... moaning ^^

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

@Gamescalation I agree with your comment. I also added what the differences are between the three monsters as they can be quite hard to realize ingame.

orion_black says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21am

Collisions are kinda wonky and the game controls are really floaty. Interesting take on the theme and good work on the graphics. There's one shout that keeps happening over and over, not sure what it was.

lodur says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:32am

@orion_black The sound it's because the world creation is also activated by our enemies and maybe they fall and they die shouting his sound of death. That was one of the bugs that we didn't have time to fix.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:28pm

It looks like it needed more time to polish, but who doesn't need more time? :)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:43am

Pretty cute characters, hard to control though. Howewer, the music is pretty cool.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:22pm

It's funny!! Maybe the graphics are a bit statics but it's ok. Good work!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Nice graphics. I think you can improve the feelings with a background parallax.

Also it is a very cool mechanic, and it would be better if the game teaches you about it instead of reading it in LD page.

Very funny story also. Good job, guys!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:38am

Not bad, had a nice time.
You could have focused a bit more on game design, if I am not wrong the game seems procedural. Maybe it would have been better if you did a single level where you as designers could control everything.
Graphics are really cool! Though I think if they were a bit darker they would fit better, but they are very good.
And well, I love the main idea and the story. It is a nice entry overall, so good job and keep it on!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]