Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Kuru Myst

by TeamKuru - Jam Entry

Kuru Myst is a 2D top view exploration game. The player controls a fragile statue spinning around itself and that has the property to change its appearance in order to avoid the traps along the way out.

Will you survive in this tortuous maze, or will you let death triumph?

How to Play:
- Use the arrows to move the statue.
- Use WASD to transform the statue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#216Overall(Jam)3.62
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#253Mood(Jam)3.50
#298Graphics(Jam)3.77
#302Innovation(Jam)3.35
#314Fun(Jam)3.38
#338Theme(Jam)3.60
#681Humor(Jam)2.14

Comments

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Cool idea; reminds me of Roundabout.

PPski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Great concept, and well implemented! There are a couple of things which are frustrating:
- If you hit a wall twice in a row without time to move
- When you change form and it hits a wall because you can't see which orientation it'll come as.

Also good job on the level design

fakeyou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Awesome concept and good execution. I agree with PPski that it's annoying when you hit a wall twice in a row. But overall a really solid game with solid mechanics.

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Super fun! I got mildly addicted to this one. Very nice style as well with good camera work!

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:29am

Thank you very much! We are working on a post-ludum version right now, and will take your feedbacks into account!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Nice idea and graphics!

KappaIX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Strong entry, looks good and nicely designed progression.

Well done!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Great idea, really fun :).

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:23pm

interesting mechanics. music is mournful. =)

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Great game! I enjoyed it a lot until I got stuck, (too much difficult to go forward and impossible to go back). Kudos for implementing Kururin mechanics, and adding an interesting twist to it.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:35pm

As clever as hard of a gameplay, the level design is quite well handlded and the mood is on fleek. I wish it was a bit less of a die and retry type of game

endel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Loved it. Theme is well applied on this game. Relaxing atmosphere, congratulations!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Well made. You have to plan how and when you move a lot. The corridors are a little unforgiving.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Okay, So this was very well put together and felt very complete. the music responding to the players movement was quite trippy and interesting :) I have a few criticism, First i found that the first puzzle involving the bouncers that allowed you to change spin direction to be a bit of a difficulty spike. I also found myself deliberately talking damage to solve the final puzzle with the yellow blocks and the two cannons because it was a bit too hard for me. might only be me being slow but hey. I also found I didn't have a good idea of when a yellow block I destroyed would come back, it felt a bit random and wasn't conveyed super well.
Ignoring my nitpicking i really enjoyed the game and manged to finish it having fun all the way trough! Sad that there weren't any real puzzles involving the final shape, but i guess there's only so much one can do in 72 hours.
Great job keep up the good work!
-sorry for the wall of text xD

Kep says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Very well done!
With a ton more levels, a few more mechanics, and some polish, it has some real promise. Best of luck.

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:34pm

I invite you to test the Post-Ludum version, which we are updating often! Big improvements have been made on the Level Design until now.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Well polished game, great concept and design

MatLab says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Woaaaaw ! Not very new in the concept (Kururin) but so soomth and good in all domains! Arts, LD, Sound, Code, Tweak, everything is nice. GG! ;-P PS: need something useless but beautifull after credits (I finish in front of a simple wall again... the coolness is broken)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]