Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Light My Darkness

by RanikoGames - Jam Entry

In Light My Darkness you are a little light lost in a black world. Will need all your determination to don't became a shadow. Don't loose your light!

Goal: Arrive to the Lighthouse


Controls:

WASD: Movement
Mouse: Shoot LightRay
Q: Recharge light (only in light sources)
E: Light Explosion

Engine: Unity 5
Team: Nicolás Sánchez Baile & Raúl Gómez Cardeña

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#774Humor(Jam)1.83
#906Graphics(Jam)2.64
#923Innovation(Jam)2.54
#1033Theme(Jam)2.44
#1082Overall(Jam)2.58
#1116Fun(Jam)2.14

Comments

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:43pm

The controls completely glitched out for me after a few minutes so I had a hard time playing this game. Player kept automatically jump and switching direction. I liked the graphics and the mood though! :) Audio levels are a bit too high for my taste so I had to scale down the audio quite a bit.

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Totally agree :( We had a few problems to solve the sound and control's bug. Thanks very much for playing and write us a comment.

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Se te han colado los .pdb. Se muevo un poco a tirones el personaje. Me gusta la forma de transformarse den mismo.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Glitchy controls, but you success setting the mood.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:27pm

The game was really laggy for me (I was using the web version) so my experience may not actually dictate the overall quality of the game, I did find the platforming to be a little floaty and some areas were really dark. I like the concept of light absorption, but there wasn't any feedback to absorbing the light so I never knew if the mechanic was working. I think with a little more polish that this game can be a contender with some of the more simple yet polished games that have also been submitted. Keep up the good work!

vootele says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Didnt get the q and e controlled stuff but good job!

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Good mood, but I think you need to give players more feedback, for example when you absorb light the game does nothing, and I thought I was doing something wrong.

Buen trabajo

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:53am

Me he quedado a oscuras, algo me golpeaba y no podia defenderme, ni recargar luz y he comenzado a saltar solo.
Al menos una pequeña cantidad de luz para esquivar el enemigo aunque no puedas contraatacarlo?

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:24am

Thanks a lot of all the feedback guys :) We will have all of this in consideration in order to improve the game. It's true: the game gives you an insufficient feedback, some parts of level are conffusing...

The Windows version allows see better animations and works much better, but we still working in improve the game :D

Stechas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Some issues with controls but it's pretty moody game and has good atmosphere, so potencial is there ;)

Yword says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Nice atmosphere and concept! But I think it is too dark and quite hard to see the level clearly, or maybe you can let the player utilize the light ball to detect the platform or light up the surroundings.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:25am

Ok, this game has potential, but the mechanics have greatly fallen this game short. It was very buggy and would times send me wrong direction. sticking to walls after jumping was a bit frustrating as well and the character movement was very slow. There was a part it the level where it looks like you could crawl through giving you shrink when holding down "s", but I was unable to go through. I like the dark and need light aspect to this game. Graphics aren't too bad as well. Put a bit more work into this game and you will have something great :)

danieldsj says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:22am

I couldn't really do anything besides open the first door. Didn't see much of the theme. I really like the mood.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:53pm

The controls really glitched out for me as well but the concept is nice! Besides the hard control bugs I liked the game

mkghoster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Controls are a bit chaotic, but interesting concept! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]