Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sea Monster

by SeaMonsterGD - Jam Entry

Scour the oceans as the mighty Sea Monster!

Destroy human ships and devour the sailors' souls to grow stronger. Find the ancient temples to evolve into new, more monstruous forms.

Once all of your forms have reached their maximum strength, you will face humanity's last defender.

Defeat it to put an end to human arrogance!


(WARNING : Music may be loud)

Arrow keys to move
Q to attack (Octopus attack is short range, see green area)
E to use skill (Need lvl2)
1,2,3 to transform

UPDATE : A map of the game to find the temples if you get stuck
http://imgur.com/LdG9BpI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#69Fun(Jam)3.85
#139Overall(Jam)3.74
#151Audio(Jam)3.67
#161Mood(Jam)3.67
#295Theme(Jam)3.65
#387Humor(Jam)2.73
#415Innovation(Jam)3.21
#415Graphics(Jam)3.56

Comments

Theojacottin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:40am

Really good ! :)

Helios says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

The music is awesome, the gameplay is really dynamic, great game ^^

Roland M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Great music man!

joekinley says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:52pm

This loads for eeeeeeever
Graphics are really nice. The gameplay was a bit confusing though. Still a great job

keksx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Played through it! Really enjoyable and fun.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Really nice entry! I like the flow, the game was very enjoyable.
Tiny thing: after getting to level 3 and not being able to collect any more souls, I got to a point where I didn't know what to do, until I saw that dock. ;) Maybe it would be nice to tell that to the player somehow.

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Well done! Good game, really playable - and love that rockin' guitar!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06pm

The music!!!!! <3

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Awesome entry, very neat for a 72h game !
Well done !

(I suppose controls are a choice but i find it a bit tricky)

cornand34 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:09pm

great game, couldn't find the second dock though :(

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Pretty good! Graphics + Audio were decent!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Pretty cool music! it's a fun game and graphics for a jam, good job!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:19pm

It was really fun and the gameplay is very progress driven. I like it! I enjoyed putting the humans in place. :D

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:20pm

reqlly cool 8

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Really good! Played it from start to end :D The AI is challenging, but not hard enough to irritate. And the game is very forgiving, which encourages you to put some actual effort into the game :) The ending was nice. I liked how at first the final E skill was worthless but it proved really useful later on! Great job!

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Hey guys thanks for all the feedback ! We didn't get to add a map to the game so if you guys want a bit of help to find the temples here's a map to check out. http://imgur.com/LdG9BpI

I'll take this chance to present our team : we are Dylan Allen, Thomas Bardet, Clément Cairon and Arthur Perralta from the ISART Digital school in Paris.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to play our game and we really hope you had fun !

Our music was made by Paul Beri, a very passionate friend whom you can contact at pberimusic@gmail.com for any music-related reason !

denycetm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:55pm

I liked it. If I could point my character in a direction and they stayed in that direction it would be a good addition.

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Not personally a fan of the artistic direction tbh, but it's clean.

I had a real good time playing this, the blend of genre is great (moba/action/stealth...) and the whole thing is fun !

But it really lacks mouse controls, having both the moving and aiming controls on the keyboard is quite impressive and sometime really frustrating.

But overall it's a good little game. Good job guys ;)

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36pm

*quite imprecise (not impressive) ^__^

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Cool art, but what do the skill do?

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:36pm

well done

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:39pm

It was fun, worked well and seems like a lot for such short time, nice to make combinations between monster skills, nice work!

Alphish says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Pretty solid entry; audiovisuals work well (especially music, even if not top-notch), and gameplay doesn't suffer from major bugs or anything. I think the main issue is with intuitiveness - the player starts out with octopus and no other forms, and using the first ability doesn't really provide any feedback, so at the beginning I thought the ability simply doesn't work.

Also, I kinda skipped over the fact that there are ruins where I should obtain other forms. Personally, I'd prefer if they were all available from the very beginning, since they all need to be levelled up individually, anyway; so it introduces additional complication for little challenge. Another thing is no apparent penalty for death (aside from going back to the beginning); thus making me not very motivated to care about my life. ^^'

Still, pretty good entry overall, even if the last boss pretty much boils down to chasing the 3rd form leaving destructive waves in its wake.

Tex Killer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:52am

Very nice! It would be nice if the game would warn the player when the max level would be reached, I was a little bit confused when I couldn't collect the green things anymore on the first form. Plus, it would be nice to have some ingame direction as to where are the temples and how many there are.

Anyway, I had fun, thanks and congratulations! :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Music is its forte. Cool concept

TreenewT says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:31am

Excellent.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Really nice. The defense bubble really sold the trap monster and made the boss easy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]