Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Origami

by muraisama - Jam Entry

Deep in the Crinklewoods live the Kitsugami. Mysterious beings with many corners and edges. Many myths and legends surround them. One such story is that of little Yuki who had to work up all his courage to fully unfold himself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Graphics(Jam)4.65
#21Theme(Jam)4.30
#28Mood(Jam)4.17
#63Audio(Jam)3.94
#156Overall(Jam)3.70
#329Innovation(Jam)3.30
#499Fun(Jam)3.17
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42am

PERFECT theme and mood for shapeshift! origami - best theme idea in ld35 by now. sloppy control disturbes the nice game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:17am

Nice story and idea.. Great graphics..! but pretty tedious gameplay..

Ibzy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Origami for the win!
Unbelievable how we had such very similar ideas.. your graphics are much more beautiful than mine, and you actually have sound too, so I think you win haha.

I see what people mean about the controls though, quite tricky to control the fox at times.

Great job :)

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Very beautiful art style! Congratulations to the artist

RNanoware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:53pm

As others have said, the artistic implementation is spot-on, with both audio and visual polish--but the controls and gameplay is sloppy enough to distract from the beautiful design.

suurin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Although gameplay, movement in particular, needs some work, the art style and the mood is great. Nice one!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Beautiful game. The only complaint is the gameplay, which I got used to after a while. With a little more refinement to the controls, this could be amazing!

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Almost got my 5 for every category but camera movements and the controls really bothers the mood of this game. The camera is following too far behind, you probably need to increase the speed of camera follow movements according the character. The character controller needs adjustment as well. But I say these, because your game is so awesome overall and could not finish it due to its character controller:) If these issues are also solved, then the game is topnotch!

psychonull says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:59pm

wow, graphics and animations are amazing, too hard to control characters and I don't know if it's a bug but I could fly with all characters just by hitting space bar all the time haha. Great work!

Louspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Good work liked the atmosphere, I have been tranported to Japan :)

Lullaby says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Really nice graphics and mood! I enjoyed the story as well. +1 because you made a japan-inspired game just like we did, haha :) !

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:19pm

The atmosphere is very cute and peaceful! If only the controls were a bit more precise! Great entry. nevertheless :D

Naca says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Beautiful origami visual style, and very good taste choosing the color palette. The music is superb, is it yours? The only bad thing is control, not very comfortable to play.

davidkanc says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:31am

Awesome art! very peaceful atmosphere and very good sound. Control sometimes is hard because the player inertia and animations for characters would be nice. Congratulations!

Atridas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:28pm

We absolutelly love the art, story and music. Maybe some animations could make it better. And the controls could be more precise. But congratulations! Very original idea.

Lokarunith says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Beautiful game!

StrayCat says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:13am

The controls are desperatingly impossible for me, but the graphics are amazing, the music is very well selected, the idea is nice, and the story is charming. Great job! (some more playtesting would really help the game)

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Really good game with an interesting mood and aesthetic. Origami is a good choice for the theme. It could be improved by other features. Well done ++

siryakko says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:57am

Love the use of the low poly and the color scheme, really great entry

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]