Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Kitsune Quest

by KitsuneQuestDev - Jam Entry

Welcome to Kitsune Quest! Play as a shapeshifting fox and hunt down chickens, while trying to avoid their protective owners. Change into a Geisha in order to avoid their attacks. Made by: @velddev @ColeDunham and @happythirsty :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Audio(Jam)4.32
#64Humor(Jam)3.81
#66Graphics(Jam)4.37
#74Overall(Jam)3.93
#81Theme(Jam)4.03
#101Mood(Jam)3.85
#167Fun(Jam)3.59
#320Innovation(Jam)3.31
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

Really good game guys, art style is perfect (way better then I do). Simple but fun gameplay. Really nice job :) I'm curious to know who did the voice ;P

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:30am

I love this game. It's simple yet lovely, and honestly hilarious.

The whistling had me cracking up.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14am

Looks really nice!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:19am

Thank you for all the nice comments!

@RTTStudio Check the credits :) http://vapsquad.com did the voices for us!

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Love the voices! I found this to be a charming and humorous game with great art. Excellent entry.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Very very nice, catchy gameplay, each element works well with the other, good job

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Very nice artwork.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Very nice art =)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Pretty fun game.. :)

bablawn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:55am

Whoa! Love the mood. I feel like I'm smack dab in japan with all the sounds and visuals!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:56am

Interesting game!

On the art side: looks good, but would have looked a bit nicer without water in my opinion :) It seems a bit out of place.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Really well done and worth the waiting! Peaceful nad great art work, simple and cool gameplay, awesome voice acting haha! Congratulations!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:52am

The artwork and music were fantastic! I liked the idea of switching between the fox and the geisha. Great job. :)

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:12pm

What a cute little game! 10/10

batmanasb says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:20am

Oh mama! Hello there cutey! What a cute game!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:24am

Has issues in full screen mode -- game gets cut off at the top. Had to run it in windowed mode.

morrilet says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:44am

Art was incredible, though I had a surprisingly hard time getting all of the chickens... They kept getting stuck between farmers and creating delicious death traps.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:28pm

this is CUTE

Ellian says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Nice game!
Really liked the graphics and the music, puts a good atmosphere. Good work guys!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:13am

Hi, nice game ! :O i love like you realize this art... because this is art ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Xanjos says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Nothing seems to happen after catching all the chickens but I really like the concept as well as the art and background story plus the sounds were hilarious. My only gripe however is that that there should probably be a limit to how much you can use the charm ability as at the moment you can just spam it constantly and keep the farmers in place (although I found it really funny when they keep following you whilst in geisha form).

FengeR says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Great game. Lack a end screen and I found water a bit weird but it was really cool.
I love the graphics and audio you made and used for this game, that's really relaxing and fun at the same time.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:27am

amazing art style !

LevieDAudio says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:09am

Super cute game!!!! Really nicely polished! You did a great job getting all this together!

Also, the voices are so on-point! ❤

May 3, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Very nice graphics, funny game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/8gYXle65h9c

Sabina Lis says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:36am

I really enjoyed your game, theme so mythologycal with a humorous approach, chickens getting stuck between farmers was an issue, i love what you did, thanks!!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:22am

Nice job, guys! velddev knocked it out of the park with the backgrounds -- very colorful and vibrant. And the sound design! I love the little koto (?) riffs and drum rims for the shapeshift and menu sounds -- that was a great touch that really brought it together.

The gameplay itself is more humorous than anything but I'm really liking the aesthetic of the world.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]