Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Everyday Item Man

by GrowthRateOmega - Jam Entry

Everyday Item Man is a game about a person who can turn into everyday items- and uses his talent in order to break into safes. It was made in 72 hours like most Jam entries, and it was really fun to test and make- we hope you'll enjoy it too!
Also, the controls are explained in the game.

/*Linux, mac and hopefully a web version will be released in the next 3 days.
(time of post = 4/19/2016)*/

EDIT: Ported to Mac OS and Linux, enjoy guys !!! ;) (Web player should be online soon).

This is our first Ludum Dare as a team, even though we worked on some projects beforehand and participated in a different jam a while ago.

Come talk to us about improvements that can be made, tell us your experience of the game and ratings on our twitter, we're excited to be hearing from you !
https://twitter.com/GrowthRateOmega

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#415Theme(Jam)3.50
#438Humor(Jam)2.64
#586Audio(Jam)2.68
#631Innovation(Jam)2.95
#766Graphics(Jam)2.95
#777Fun(Jam)2.82
#791Mood(Jam)2.76
#817Overall(Jam)2.95
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Hey folks do you know it's ok in the rules to port games for linux and mac AFTER the deadline ?

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31pm

You CAN ADD ports for mac and linux AFTER the deadline.
Fun concept btw :D

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:41pm

It took me a bit to really get it because of the confusing tutorial but overall even tough i don't usually enjoy stealth games, I liked it. Perhaps there should be a limited number of times a single item can be used as a disguise because i ended up just picking a toilet from the starting room and disguising myself as that every time.

erikkire says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Funny run-animation for the guard. Here are som bugs: Guards seems to stop patrolling when in non-human shape. Guards can not "bust" you when in non-human mode. Possible to teleport outside the game-world if entering human mode near a wall. Otherwise fun.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:31am

:( kindly port to mac

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:43pm

This was a neat use of the theme, nice job.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Thanks for your support guys :) Also ports for Mac and Linux are online so enjoy them ;)

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:33am

Nice!The characters are very unique! :D

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:56pm

cool game

Ibzy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Fun concept spoilt by a few game breaking bugs. Camera often makes it impossible to see when in object mode and the camera isn't in the same direction when you sift back to human form.

Other than the bugs the models and game mechanics are great.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:59pm

I LOVE THE CONCEPT OF DISGUISE. GREAT CONCEPT AS WELL MECHANICS

giom says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Very fun concept. A few bugs so would need so polish but as it is it's a great proof of concept and it's a fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]