Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Other Woman

by Nesferjo - Jam Entry

The Other Woman is a noir infiltration adventure game where a female spy, must to impersonate women close to key mobsters by using her unique disguising techniques.

Note:
- OSX and LINUX versions not tested.
- There's a BUG when you pass the 3rd face in the WEB VERSION where the game loops back to the face creation. You can sleep well, though: There is no more content in the game after the 3rd character.

AUTHORS:
Guillermo Ferrando Monzón @krew7
Pablo Gómez Utiel @pablospaceboy
Néstor Ferrando Jodar

MUSIC BY:
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/


Unity project available on GitHub, feel free to clone it, check the code and/or ask anything.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#11Theme(Jam)4.35
#36Mood(Jam)4.12
#45Innovation(Jam)4.04
#51Graphics(Jam)4.43
#55Overall(Jam)3.98
#139Fun(Jam)3.66
#196Humor(Jam)3.26

Comments

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

That was fantastic! What a great idea for a game, so many clever mechanics and possibilities in there. I'd truly love to see this fleshed out into a full game. :)

I just wrote in my previous review that I'd found my favourite game so far but now I need to update that! I loved everything about this - art, music, atmosphere and gameplay. Definitely 5 stars from me.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Quite good. I enjoyed that, a lot of fun. Looks good, sounds good, and great mood. High marks all around :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48pm

A super great game. One of the absolute best game I have played in LD35. Well done.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:00pm

got right into the mood

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Brilliant, impressive that you implemented this in time. Loved the art style

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

WOW! Amazing! Fantastic art. Loved the plot!
Good job!

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Fantastic game with a very original premise!

Millefey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:06pm

In those games that it's possible to, playing around with the character creation settings is one of my very favourite things so it's probably no wonder that I really enjoyed this! I would love a full game.

DifferentName says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Great idea, and very unique gameplay. I wanted to like it more, but unfortunately I couldn't get past level 2. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, or how many things I got wrong. Some kind of hint that I can go on to correct the mistake would be very useful.

forgiv3nplays says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Loved it! Very unique. It seems like everyone really enjoys character creation so this was a really good idea. And it fits well with the theme too

sndr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Great, great game! Loved how you used the theme! The pulp artstyle was fantastic and the mechanics were really enjoyable. 5 stars, there you go! :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Interesting and cool idea, with very nice graphics. Excellent entry overall, congrats!

apalade says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:51pm

I loved this game and would want to play more of it. It really reminded me of "Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?".

Amazing soundtrack, great pulp art and a fresh idea. My favorite game so far!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:40am

What a fantastic game man! Loved it, so unique compared to all the other shape-shifting games :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:43am

Amazing, the atmosphere is so good! Congratulations

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Nice graphics and music, it runs slow on my machine, but I managed to play it.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Sorry, I commented the wrong game! The mood was excellent here!

ougrouk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:15pm

I enjoyed the game. Love the theme/mood.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Love the idea and the art style ... and the music was great - I want to believe that when you weren't coding you stood in the corner of your room playing it on a double bass. Jazz!

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:32am

Cool idea, i did enjoy in character creation

SeaDads says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Nicely done! Everything works together so beautifully you really nailed the tone.

joemid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Fun and engaging! I spent a lot of time playing with faces! Reminds me of Carmen Sandiego, and Paper's Please. I reached a certain point on the web version where the screen went black and looped me back to the creation screen with no info- after a few times of this, I gave up. Any ideas?

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:45am

@joemid ok! there is a bug there indeed, I'll check it out. Anyway, the game finishes just when you pass the 3rd face, so you beat the game.

Thank you for reporting the bug, and thank to all who have played the game! Glad you like it!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:17pm

The style of your game is excellent! That pop art, pulp novel style is very eye-catching and well-drawn.

But for a story-driven game, it was rather hard to follow in places. That made it much harder to choose the 'right' answer at some choices. With some good proofreading and a bit of editing this will really sparkle!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:19am

This is incredible! Lovely concept!
The art is beautiful and the song sets the mood.
Amazing entry.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Cool graphics and concept ! :)

randomhuman says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Clever idea, and well executed. It looks and sounds great (I think I used some of the same music in my game, he he), and I like the progression of difficulty by removing more details each time, nicely done.

Sabina Lis says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:15am

I really enjoyed this entry, so well excecuted, congrats!

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:41am

Very well done indeed. It was fun and clever and witty.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]