Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

FiveCubeFlight

by Toonhawk - Jam Entry

A simple action puzzle game based on the idea of shifting shapes around, like tetris meets hole in the wall.

The game is played using the arrow keys, up and down to shift shape and left and right to rotate. The game has 20 obstacles in a randomized order to get through. It's mainly a proof of concept so graphics and UI are barebones and audio nonexistant.

Feedback is very welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Theme(Jam)4.00
#177Innovation(Jam)3.60
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#424Overall(Jam)3.36
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

teamross says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:43am

wow! It's hard and challenging! Really good job!

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Oh my word, my brain is not cut out for this kind of game at the end of the day!O_o very innovative idea though :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Interesting idea, looks good for a barebones proof of concept. I feel like this game is playable only if you have memorized all the states. It's a novel mechanic though.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Great idea, but it super hard.

Arnage says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Nice twist on the shape through hole gameplay. My only complain is that the transitions are a bit slow, making it feel a bit sluggish, which can be frustrating considering how fast the patterns come your way.

Telzidar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This game is MASSIVE fun to play!
Things that could be improved: music or at least sound effects, a little more time between the barriers - and it's sometimes too hard to see, which shape lies ahead of you because it's obscured by your current blocks.
Apart from those nitpicky details, this is my favourite game so far!

erdiizgi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:23am

Its really easy to play and hard to master. I couldn't pass the 3rd shape, yet. (I like the games which run online without downloading anything, thanks for that as well!)

NPException says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Very challenging and really good take on the theme! I'm enjoying it.

kabel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:30am

I can't say I enjoyed it. I twas way too difficult and I never felt I knew what and why I was doing.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:12am

There is challenge in that game. Great Job

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:40am

I really like the idea!
It's nice that it's not obvious what form to choose.
Also, shape shifting animation was good.

Any decent sound effects would make the game a lot better, but anyway, good job overall!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:46am

Really cool idea, but way too hard in the beginning. But I could easily see this developed further into something really solid! Nice work, impressive!

euske says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:13pm

It was pretty hard initially, but once you get the nuck of it I found it's actually fun. A little more variation and incremental progress would be better. And thanks for confetti.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:20pm

a simple fun game, well done :D

Interface says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28am

Pretty challenging but I like it. Solid game all around.

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:59pm

nice graphics and great idea! really hard to play tough =D

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Holy cow this was way harder than I thought it would be. Great work! I had a lot of fun playing this game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]