Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

luvShape

by luvShape - Jam Entry

luvShape is a simple experimental game about falling through shapes!

Rotate the incoming shapes and try to match them with the silhouette as you fall down through various psychedelic worlds.
PS. The number of the dots on the restart screen represents how many layer you passed, keep an eye on them!

You can play HTML5 (WebGL) version right on LD website using Windows, Linux or Mac OSX! :)

Control shapes: ←, → (or A, D)
Restart: Space
Pause: Esc


Credits:
Lucija Blazek - animation
Dorian Horvat - music
Marta Strazicic - 3D modelling, animation
Filip Ugrin - animation, sound effects
Dario Zubovic - programming


NOTE:
Sometimes loading bar gets stuck. If that happens, please wait, it will load anyway. Refresh page if you experience any problems (and let us know).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#56Mood(Jam)4.03
#61Audio(Jam)3.95
#69Graphics(Jam)4.36
#130Overall(Jam)3.77
#135Innovation(Jam)3.69
#169Theme(Jam)3.85
#245Fun(Jam)3.47

Comments

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Trippy!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03am

Very interesting idea. We just liked how you played with the colors!
Just showed it on our channel andiFromPixelManiacs to our fans and told them to vote!

eeely says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:21am

i can now no longer say i havent done drugs

divegato says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:25am

I threw max scored for every category. This is really an awesome game. The graphics and sound are just perfect.

justacookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

Wow, that was.. special? :D
i felt so distracted by the background that i missed a lot of pieces in the beginning and at first i didnt know what to do, but then it began to be really fun. i think you made a really fun geometry game and from the games i've played so far, this one has the most unique artwork yet, and although the game concept is simple, its really hard enough with that much distraction. cool entry :)

danieldsj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07am

Great game! Really abstract.

AngerFork says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:26am

Very trippy game, especially with that hypnotic music! Impressive, totally going to play again!

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27am

woooow i loove the visual design! really nice choice of colors in all the stages, and pretty interesting gameplay. As the shapes approach i always think they're too difficult/ambiguous to easily pick the right rotation but im surprised each time when i do it right.
nice job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:28am

wow. That was a real audio-visual treat. The mechanics were simple but enjoyable, and made for a great excuse to enjoy the fancy graphical effects. A wonderful, wonderful entry.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52am

super clever idea for fitting the shapes in. this is my brain on the 60s

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:54am

LOL this is very sexy.

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:26am

Feels like I'm on a trip. It was amazing and the audio was amazing too

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:50am

Very cool idea. Music is fitting. Realy chillout/trippy stuff.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:02pm

HOLY SHIT THIS IS GENIUS

The work on the graphics alone is simply amazing, I imagine there was a lot of technical difficulty involved.

First 5/5 entry you deserve it!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

wow, very trippy gameplaywise and musicwise. but thats a good thing :)

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Great stuff, love experiences like this one.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

I love this game because it's not hard to play, it's really relaxing. An abstract piece of art. Music and graphics are damn good !

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30pm

So much style in this game. Well done!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Very nice! The visuals and audio are amazing and funky, and while the gameplay is very simplistic the audiovisual experience made playing the game a lot of fun. Sometimes I seem to get a success and failure at the same time?

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59pm

@Hempuli: Yes we have noticed that. Bug fix should be live soon. :)

snowyowl says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Trippy, gorgeous, and original. Well done!

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51pm

The visuals and audio were amazing, 5/5 in those categories for sure. I would have enjoyed the gameplay better if there was a clear way to know how many lives you had left, and some kind of 'high score' system. The dots on the restart screen were a fantastic way of displaying the score, though.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Really amazing art style! I like it

avinashd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:06pm

The gameplay is basic, but I love the graphics!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:35pm

We started with a really similar concept for our game, but I think what you really cashed in on was the hypnotizing aspect of waiting to match oncoming shapes. Awesome combination of art and music, and a really fun experience.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Brilliant game, very trippy. Played it on stream. My only criticism is that it is difficult to discern as to what angle you will get with the next button-press.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:23pm

This is amazing -- Just unbelievable art and presentation, I've never played anything quite like it and I was transfixed!

Odyssey says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:21pm

The graphics are awesome and the gameplay is awesome. The incorrect sound is quite jarring

Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:06am

Trippy as hell
Nice game though

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Really good version of this type of game, it's nice to see shapes which aren't simple geometric ones. The bing on success is really satisfying to.

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Really nice game.Though it ws difficult at first but quickly i was proven wrong.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:52am

Very very VERY cool graphical style and soundtrack. The fact that controlling the shape is almost like rotating it but not quite can be a little confusing at first. It's probably better played full screen and not in the small window on this page, so you can see the shape better. Overall it's a clever variation on the mechanic, very trippy and enjoyable. Congrats!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Cool game! I can play it all day!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:27am

Mind f***ery!
Awesome presentation! Very trippy!
It seems so easy at first but the whole thing just messes with your eyes. Damn!
Great entry!

tomlum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Wow! Wow. Really stellar feel, and a surprisingly addicting mechanic. The visuals and sound really made the technically simple gameplay super fun. 5 stars from me.

Miko says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Took a few tries, but I finally got the hang of it on the third-ish replay. Amazing entry!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Weird. Well done ++

curtamyth says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Beautifully trippy graphics and music, with unique gameplay that makes the most of the art style. I love it :)

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:50pm

I like how this took a twist on a lot of the "rotate the shape to fit in the hole" games that have come out of this jam. It was almost like rotating the hole instead of the shape, and having to make a call on a shape that was too small yet to tell and rush to adjust as it got bigger was pretty interesting. It did take me a bit to realize that I was more cycling through shape options than actually rotating a single shape, but once I got that, I had an easier time making strategies to identify the correct shape (usually looking for one outstanding edge or feature and going based on that). I enjoyed how you used the art complexity to ramp up the difficulty, and it had a really consistent mood to it. If you wanted to do even more of a ramp-up, I'd suggest pacing earlier shapes to be easier to identify at a difference and move up towards the more subtle ones. I couldn't tell if this was already happening or if the shapes were just random. Also might nice to get a player input before starting right away ;) Nice work making an aesthetically coherent game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]