Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Don't loose your head!

by PelvicThruust - Jam Entry

Our first game! Finally! Done!

We are two developers from Germany. It was an awesome time making this and hope you will have an awesome time playing.

Game:
Inspired by japanese game shows!

SHIFT your body to match the SHAPES!

Try not to loose your head. Points are highest for fartherest spread of all limbs.
Don't hit anything or you will bleed out...


Sounds are from freesound.org.
Splatter sound: https://www.freesound.org/people/huluvu42/sounds/87571/
Slowdown: https://www.freesound.org/people/Wagna/sounds/326418/

Music: Love by Shadow Priest from http://freemusicarchive.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#86Humor(Jam)3.68
#93Fun(Jam)3.78
#154Innovation(Jam)3.66
#210Theme(Jam)3.77
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#541Mood(Jam)3.11
#773Graphics(Jam)2.94

Comments

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51am

Hard to master but fun to play, love the idea that is so "stupid" that is in fact genius.

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:05pm

I can't even...

Upwily says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06pm

That was so much fun! Simple, but addictive.

ayewyn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Pretty well done, slow motion is nice. I got into some funny JoJo like poses.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Kind of fun/weird to play. Great game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

I love it, I do think the grips for limb movement should be always be visible as I often wasn't sure how to move certain body parts due to the 'handle' being hidden

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52pm

You do not need to include .pdb files with your project! They are debug files for the devs only! Also, it's "Lose" not "Loose" :)

Niggles aside, I really like it! It's a bit too easy, I think. I didn't fail, just wore on me. I think you're given too much time in the freeze mode. I think as you approach it, you're shown a preview of the hole's shape, then as you approach it, you're given a very short timestop just to fix any small erros.

Fun! Reminds me heavily of "Hole in the Wall" - a British gameshow, haha.

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:50pm

This reminds me of a japanese gameshow where you pretty much have to do the same thing. But the idea of loosing limbs made it hilarious. Fun game :D

Drury says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59am

I think my top score was 155.42562!

Brotip: Don't use decimal scores. When in doubt, do the arcade age thing and have ridiculous scores in the millions.

JOK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Genius usage of the theme! Had a blast and a real laugh when I realised hitting the wall was not instant death but bleeding out.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:58am

Clever implementation of the theme. At first the shapes were hard to see coming and then, slow mo! That helped a lot. Great, fun game!

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:15am

Now this is brutal. :D I just.. I have seen some of those Japanese game show videos but this game takes it to the next level.. Moving with touch was quite hard, though. Augh. At one wall I accidentally aligned myself to a block instead of a hole.. The color of the blocks was similar to the background. Had a good combo that was ruined. I didn't get the score system at first but apparently I need to be as wide as possible for better scores.. Nice twist that pushes to try more difficult and risky positions. Sometimes just getting through is challenging enough, though. Great game and nice musics!

tompudding says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Hilarious and insane. Great take on the theme

Llucile says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Weird but fun to play too. I played it on my phone.
I think it is some kind of slow too.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Wow. A lot of games this LD have involved changing your shape to fit through things. This is the best one I've played!

It is smartly balanced as the score encourages you to spread out but the holes require you to tuck in. The blood spilling out is a funny touch.

The controls can be a little tough because it's not always easy to grab the body part you want to grab. Also, it would be nice if the exact amount of time you have left to change shape was more clear.

All in all, this is an awesome entry! One of my favorites.

Catwheel says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:38am

Mostly, this needed polish. I played one other game with a similar fit through the hole theme, I really think the idea is cool but it's hard to find the right mix of gameplay mechanics to make the idea have longevity. Either way it was a fun experience. I really like the way the dude's arms tear off when he doesn't fit through.
P.S. between the other game and yours, I thought yours was better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]