Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fair & Square

by ceeyus Vareed - Jam Entry

Hey Guys ... "Fair & Sqaure" is a PvP local multiplayer game that's simple and fun to play. Transform your character into one of the 3 forms and utilize key advantages of each to beat your opponent !

We are a bunch of Game Design Students who came together to build games ...We would really be grateful if you guys tell us what you think :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#336Humor(Jam)2.85
#367Theme(Jam)3.57
#382Innovation(Jam)3.25
#382Mood(Jam)3.30
#402Overall(Jam)3.38
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#421Graphics(Jam)3.55

Comments

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Interesting, played it with a friend he says to nerf triangle. Overall, it would've been nice to have a you win screen/lose screen to really rub in the victory (or loss!) Had fun!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:42am

Hey ceeyus nice game dude.Keep it up.I like the concept and specially the graphics

ceeyus Vareed says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:37pm

thanks guys ..will add a win/lose screen as well :)

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:48am

Very different, I like the colours and the dawn mood it has. Congratulations

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Great art! The different shapes looked cute. The physics felt just right. Great job!

namrog84 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:12am

pyew triangle shoots and scores!

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:00am

The game shares the idea which are close to mine. Good entry with nice graphics.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:07pm

It's really fun to play this game with a friend! Nice work guys :)

ceeyus Vareed says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:07am

thanks guys for the kind reviews :)

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:32am

Great graphics and style!

The gameplay suits the theme!

guoboism says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:33am

the game is nice that the three common shapes would affect game-play naturally. Circle allows movement, square means defense. I would like to have triangle form functions with its natural shape rather than artificially designed mechanism.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Woo music :) - would be nice if it didn't restart when you reset the match.
This game was fun to play with 2 people - the art is styled nicely and the physics work smoothly.
Nice job!

qikcik says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:17am

Good Game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]