Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Gene Goes to the Zoo

by Team 63 Bit - Jam Entry

Gene Goes to the Zoo is a simple yet satisfying side scroller.
You control Gene, a hungry alien who happened to crash land near the local zoo.
Eat the wild animals and gain their DNA for yourself!
Mix and match to create fun and powerful combinations!
Update 1.1: Win and lose screens no longer confusingly vanish!

==========================================================================
This game was made in a meetup hosted by Lone Star College as an event for students in the game design degree. If you like this game please check out the games made by our fellow students.

Star Buddy
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=89952

Liquify
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=89326

Who Are You And What Are You Doing Here??
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=85070
==========================================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#220Humor(Jam)3.19
#338Theme(Jam)3.60
#541Mood(Jam)3.11
#671Innovation(Jam)2.90
#738Fun(Jam)2.87
#842Overall(Jam)2.93
#890Graphics(Jam)2.68

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Interesting concept and funny animations!

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Great animations and I loved all the different DNA abilities.

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Awesome concept! Well done!

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:13pm

The animations were great, Gene's bite especially!

I had some trouble with the game-play readability; thinks like the bite hit box and my current health, but otherwise solid.

Excellent use of sound too and reading what was on screen was never a problem, though maybe bring the camera back a bit.

Champion! Cheers! Funny too!

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18pm

should make web / osx versions so ull be able to reach more people... i dont have a pc so im stuck :(

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04am

The DNA system was great, reminded me of kirby 64.

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:32am

I like the background parallax scrolling in the background. It was fun inheriting the animals dna :)

bigmangames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:38am

This game is really weird

Kashank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:16am

It seemed a little bit difficult to eat things at times. The DNA part was very cool and I liked the artwork.

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:30am

Funny animations, nice concept. Graphs could improve a little bit. Good overall entry. Congratulations.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:41am

Funny and cool take on the theme with dna abilities. Trying to use the rhino charge seemed to get me hurt more than anything though. Cool game

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:26am

Really wierd an funny.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Animations and sounds were hilarious. Wasn't quite sure what I was doing, but a good concept.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:48am

Cool game :D

drazil100 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:11am

I had issues eating stuff. it didn't automatically eat whatever i was eating and if you needed to eat an enemy a certain number of times then it wasn't clear enough. I also had trouble figuring out what to do with the second powerup. Also the sound was really loud.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Really humorous to play

sathomason says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:42pm

This game is weird, but in a good way. The art style, music, and mood really work well together. I had some issues where I would try to eat but it wouldn't give me DNA, and/or the animal wouldn't go away. The level design was a little weak, I just grabbed some wings and jumped over everything. Otherwise, it worked !!! and it was definitely weird.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]