Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapetris

by bablawn - Jam Entry

Ever wanted to know what happens when we combine procedural generation with tetris? Well now all your pieces will shift around!

How many lines can you clear?

There is no audio :( So don't panic if you can't hear anything.

Developed by:
Mitchell Craig (@mitchcraig311)
Stephen Ma (@tehPHEN)

Controls:
W - Instant Drop
S - Fast Drop
A, D - Move blocks left/right

Source Available Here: https://github.com/Bablawn3d5/LD35

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#382Innovation(Jam)3.25
#741Theme(Jam)3.06
#784Fun(Jam)2.81
#971Overall(Jam)2.75
#982Graphics(Jam)2.44
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Very amusing. Would be nice to be able to rotate blocks. Also it seems you can't lose.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Interesting. The random generation was a great idea. You don't really realize how important rotation is until you don't have it.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:24am

Cool idea and implementation of the theme. Would be interested to see how a shape preview changes the difficulty. I was sadly never able to clear more than one line in a row. Good stuff though.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:51am

Nice idea. Without rotation and because of the unusual shapes is very hard to not mess up the lines. I'd love to see this developed more

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Cool idea, just if you could rotate the blocks it will be better. Nonetheless good game. =]

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09am

Good job man :D

derr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:53am

Surprisingly fun and challenging Tetris clone. I like that you took an opposite stance on the theme.. what is Tetris if you don't get to "shift" the pieces? :-) Fun.

I had a few crashes in the middle of sessions. Unfortunately there are no log files so I cannot make a proper bug report.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:05pm

I had so much fun playing this, I'm a sucker for tetris and you guys nailed it! The randomized shapes are such a good mechanic. I would like to see this finished one day.

broknecho says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:58am

Was neat to be able to get some of the more weird and split shapes to fit in some seemingly impossible spots! Definitely a familiar feel compared to tetris which is a good thing! Rotating blocks would be neat but also would add even more crazyness to the placement puzzles.

Good start here!

drazil100 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:36am

There are only so many ways one can remake Tetris so I am always a little surprised to see some new twist.

DevelopTech says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:00pm

I like the twist taht you introduced to the classic teatris game. I would like to rotate the blocks and maybe have some kind of "next block preview, but good work anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]