Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ereptile Dysfunction

by sexypudding69 - Jam Entry

First time entering. (plz don't kill me if i did something bad)

There's not really many levels avaliable to play, which is why I created a primitive level editor to make the experience more lengthy. Unfortunately I couldn't get around to implementing a save feature :(

Yes, the game frequently mentions gamepad support, but it's lying. I might patch it in someday, but for now the game is keyboard & mouse only.

There are a couple of bugs, most notably with collisions and toggling vsync/fullscreen, but they shouldn't hinder the gameplay that much.

Normal Controls:
Left/right arrows: Move
Shift: Transform
Z: Shoot (Human form only)
Up arrow: Climb?? (Reptilian form only)

Level Editor Controls:
Mouse1: Place block
Mouse2: Erase
MiddleMouse: Create enemy
A: Don't snap to grid
G: Drop gun
O: Fling player position
R: Reset player position
F3: Reset all

Fullscreen: F4
Toggle Vsync: F8
Reset: F12
???: F5 & F6


Oh, by the way: the HTML5 version might be a tad unpredictable at times. I strongly recommend the Windows version instead if you can spare the time. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#281Humor(Jam)3.03
#628Theme(Jam)3.24
#701Audio(Jam)1.83
#878Graphics(Jam)2.71
#968Mood(Jam)2.38
#989Innovation(Jam)2.41
#1033Fun(Jam)2.40
#1099Overall(Jam)2.55

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:28am

I wrote "sex" in search box and this game showed up and I really like it :D A little bit controversial xD

sexypudding69 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18am

Thanks!

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51am

I'm kinda missing some sounds and it looks like you ran out of time at the end but hey the game works which is more than some people can say. The shapeshifting animation is really nice and of course the subject matter is just great. Good job especially for a first timer!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:11am

Controls work fine, climbing is a bit fiddly but when you figure it out it's a nice mechanic. Shame there aren't more levels but the three short ones were fun! Maybe spend some more time on content and music next time. All in all a very good basis, could expand into something even better easily!

wavertron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15am

Played the browser version. Couldnt master the climbing ability :(

sexypudding69 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:24am

Yeah climbing's really buggy unfortunately ;(
Thanks for the feedback!

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

Those physics kill me too. Now I see why they teach physics in school. I wish I was a better student.
Love the face that appears when you are erasing tiles on the map editor.

f222 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30am

I just lost my ears with the jump sound.

Except some bugs this game is great

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:27pm

A shame there isn't music, we could have a president simulator :)
(Also had a hard time climbing)

sadenly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Good idea. But I don't understand the goal of the game.

Mase says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Cool transform animation.
Also the weird little "erase" head is a nice touch.

Fight the power.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:19am

It looks like it might be a good game, but I couldn't figure out how to climb as a reptile: it would never go high enough. Good concept, but not so good of an execution.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Concept is fun, when you know the reptilian theory :p But game is a bit slow... no musics or good sounds. Graphics are cool :)

squigglez says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:00pm

good job

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:41am

Interesting. I like the game editor a lot. It was fun to mess around with.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:55am

Are you a fellow reptillian? Hiss?

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Hisss! I like the transformation. Sometimes the enemies appear from weird places... It's not fair :P

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Very fun game! Good effort for your first Ludum Dare! I killed a lot of tin foilers! :D

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:56pm

really funny, love the fbi warning at the begining :)

blaclegi says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:02pm

It looks alright, although I didn't really get the whole climbing thing. And the movement is a bit slow (for me). But apart from that it was an interesting concept, and I liked the animation when changing shapes.

May 6, 2016 @ 1:57pm

The truth comes out.

CasualCat says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:14pm

I think the game needed a little more content and maybe some polish because the character often go "stuck" on the ground and the jumping - specifically the landing felt very "sticky." I think the idea was funny and a lot of time must have been spent on the animation from human to reptile. So I think the art has some good effort put into it. And the title? It made me laugh. Pretty funny, it's good to see humor!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]