Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

RoboRob

by RoboRob - Jam Entry

Rob banks as the criminal mastermind in this top-down puzzle action game!

Change your shape to hide from different kinds of enemies. You are invisible to your matching form.

Your goal is to escape from the building and steal all treasures on your way out.

Controls:
Move: W, A, S, D

Square: J
Circle: K
Triangle: L
Restart: R
Next level when level is cleared: N

*Fixed memory leak that caused crashes.

The game is made with Unity and there is web client for html5.

Credits:
Lead Programmer & Level Designer - Kim Högnabba
Programmer & Level Designer - Wiljam Sundström (@WilQ_)
2D Artist & Level Designer - Kaisa Tuulenkari
3D Artist & Level Designer - Juho-Tuomas Ratinen
Lead Designer, Sound Designer & Level Design - Timo Pyrrö (@PONTTOS)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#115Theme(Jam)3.96
#253Fun(Jam)3.46
#262Audio(Jam)3.40
#325Overall(Jam)3.47
#338Innovation(Jam)3.29
#344Mood(Jam)3.35
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#652Graphics(Jam)3.14

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:28am

Pretty nice take on a stealth game. The music really creates a tense mood. I did have to retry the first level a bunch of times because one enemy does a 180' turn without any kind of warning.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37am

I like the idea but the execution was poor. It wasn't really challenging enough. There were hard parts but it was because it was testing my reaction. The 3D modeling was good though, but the UI could probably be redone. But I think if you just polish the game up it would be really good!

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:44am

Nice stealth mechanic! I had fun :D It was also polished by my standards :P

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:54am

Good with the stealth tactics. Did totally get it on point with the theme

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:23am

Yeaaah a stealth game using the theme correctly. Nice graphics and mechanics. You should continue working on it

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Good idea for a stealth game. I like the mechanic, 3d models are nice though I think UI could be better. But good work

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Good idea, felt the (J)(K)(L) UI should maybe have been colored that of the unit vision cones to help with remembering which key is which shape. Levels felt a bit long aswell, should have ramped up in size. other than that good job!

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:44pm

I liked the idea, it's a good game :)

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Impressive entry!

The core mechanic works brilliantly, and though I didn't check the later levels, the first ones have enough variety to keep things interesting. Plus their difficulty is fair, making you observe patterns and act with a good timing. It's stealth gameplay brought back to its roots :)

The only issue I have is that since the levels can be quite large, some checkpoints would have made the game more enjoyable. Level 3 in particular was a bit frustrating to me.

Other than that I have no big issues, unlike CasualCat I found it polished enough for a game jam entry.

Congrats :)

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21am

Level Design was really solid. Really mind melting mechanic. Just wish I didn't have to click menus to retry again each time... keyboard support there would be nice.

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:42am

@mikeware Yes sorry we forgot to mention them in the description but actually you can press R for restart and N for next level if you have cleared the level. We have now added this information to the description. Thanks for the feedback.

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Could be a really nice speedgame! :) Keep it up

arzi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Nice stealth game, although a bit learning by mistakes. It had some odd lag spikes on my Macbook Pro.

wboqm says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:10am

Was slightly confused that I needed to go past the exit to find the diamond on the first level. Though I did appreciate how it introduced the mechanics.

RoboRob says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:48am

@wboqm: We were trying to think how to introduce the need to collect all the diamonds in order to clear the map. Maybe now in retrospec the exit should have been right next to start. Also the keycard maybe should have looked more keylike and when trying to go through the door it would give info that you need a key.

Anyway thank you and everyone else for trying out our game and thanks for the feedback.

RoboRob says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:59am

@arzi: yea it takes a bit time to learn the colors of the shapes and the enemy patterns. Also I now think that the order the levels are, is not optimal since maps between 5-8 are shorter but we felt that they needed more skill to clear. Then again the patterns on those maps are easier to recognize.

As for the mac problem, sadly we do not have a mac to test the game with and we are hoping it to just work with unity exporting.

The game probably lags due to the use of hundreds of raycasts per update, which deginitely isn't the best way to do the vision mesh for the robots. Also the garbagecollector might cause the lagspikes.

Thank you for trying out our game and ty for the feedback.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Really really really great stealth/camouflage game! The mechanics, music, sounds, and setups are phenomenal. The visuals could be a bit better, like the designs of the characters, but other than that, great work!

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:02pm

good sounds, have good feels ! :) Bit imple but addictive with time ! Nice ! :)

batmanasb says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:22am

OMG, I hate who ever made all the overlapping levels where one mistake kills you, and you have to go all the way back! Also, the large levels with multiple keys got very confusing. But overall I loved this game! Great amount of content, clever concept, very fun!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Togimaro says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Cool game!
Nice assets, great visual and cool level design idea!
Great job!
PS It's funny my game is really similar on somes points xD

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Good stealth game with clever use of the theme. My only issue is that some of the enemies turn without warning. It would be useful for either the enemies to turn slower or for you to be able to see ahead in some way.

RoboRob says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:36am

@DivineOmega yes the turning seems to be the biggest problem with the game, the game turns into memorizing the patterns of the guards. We tried making the camera render bigger area, and it does help a bit, but still the suddenly turning guards seems to be the #1 problem on our game.

Thank you all for the feedback

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:55am

Nice game.REally intense the music :D

Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/7kJFcods5hA

Felladrin says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:21am

Very nice entry! Good use of the theme for the gameplay!

May 1, 2016 @ 9:42am

Nice! Interesting new take on the "sneak" concept. Switching shapes wasn't much of a challenge in the first level, but it gets increasingly hard when multiple guards' view regions overlap.

CaptainPilot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Neat little stealth game. A little annoying having to backtrack to avoid crossing paths with multiple shaped enemies.

Brickkid512 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:42am

Really good idea

Reiv says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:45pm

NIce mechanics. All the audio fits really well. The game gets really hard after first level.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]