Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Algebro

by ChummyWinds - Jam Entry

UPDATE
4/21: fixed small performance bugs for html5 version to work. Only works on Chrome, Safari. IE and Firefox are unstable and shouldn't be used.
**Download is still the best way

​Remember how much your imagination would run wild when you were just a bored kid at school?
Let our team, Chummy Winds, take you back to a time of daydreaming and doodling in our first Ludum Dare jam game, Algebro.
Take control of the little dude and fight your way through 3 beautifully designed stages, dashing between 2D and 3D to fend off the blood thirsty shapes who are trying to suck you into their world.
How to play:
Move with the mouse cursor
A key - shift to Triangle shape
S key - shift to Circle shape
D key - shift to Square shape
Space/Click - Dash Attack
Escape - Pause and View Controls
Shift to the matching shape and dash into baddies to clear them from the stage.
The blue meter shows you how much stamina you have left to perform a dash, while the red meter displays how much time you have left in shape mode before your little dude turns back into 3D mode, where you are vulnerable to lose health. But watch out, colliding with the wrong baddie shape will immediately send you back into 3D mode where you can take damage!
Tips:
You can move underneath obstacles when in 2D/Shape mode, just like the baddies.
If you find yourself clicking off the game window too often while dashing, try using the space bar to dash.


Programmers:
Cooper
Ryan
Lucas
Miguel

Artist:
Danny


ALL ART ASSETS for this game where created by the artist on an iPad using the Procreate painting app.​
Audio and Effects were a mix of homemade and https://incompetech.com/​

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#165Graphics(Jam)4.05
#199Theme(Jam)3.78
#217Mood(Jam)3.56
#290Humor(Jam)3.00
#569Overall(Jam)3.22
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97
#667Fun(Jam)2.97

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47am

Loved the mood of this game! Controls were a little difficult, would like to have had an onscreen indicator of what key is what shape. The music was fun as well.

aucguy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57am

Great game! Fun to play. It was annoying to have other shapes to get in the way though.

tomlum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34am

Adorable graphics, and also the meters being the multipen was genius. A good deal of fun.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05am

Thanks! Our artist was a one man wrecking machine. Glad you liked it!

sadenly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29am

Really cool graphics! Liked the setting too!

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36am

This was good! I really liked the art style of this game. I thought it was fun, but I found it really difficult how other shapes got in the way. I feel like it could be better of the other shapes were bigger and or slightly larger.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

God, the mood and graphics of this game is awesome. Thanks for made it

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Really on-theme, liked the cohesive tone of the art, tough control scheme to get the hang of!

Well done!

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Nice graphics! I liked the game mechanics. However it was annoying when other shapes would get in the way. Also I think the main form should be a different shape. It clashes too much with the circle form. It would throw me off. Nice music as well :)

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:50pm

The themeing and art were great!

It was a little difficult at times to tell if I was 3D or 2D but I got the habit in the end.

Regardless, this is a fun little number, well scoped and well put together.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Thanks! Checkout our artist Danny Smith! https://www.instagram.com/dsmokes/

I can't express how much we appreciated his talent.
Glad you like it! :D

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Just a fun fact the player death, stage clear, and taking damage sounds were our team recorded during the jam ^_^

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Great classroom feel to it. I love the graphics in this. Solid work guys

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:21am

Very fun and challenging! The graphics are awesome (nice job making them)!

igrir says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35am

I always wanted to make this kind of game for so long :D
The control is a bit hard though, maybe you could show what kind of type to transform? Or maybe use a time stop while changing the shape.

Great work!

disease says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:45am

Great graphics and good concept. The lack of cooldown on getting hurt lead to some cheap deaths though.

mahalis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:56am

Love the theme and the art style. More challenging than it looks. Nice work!

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:20am

Good game. Great visuals and nice execution.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:08pm

igrir - you make a good point about the slow time, possibly a very short "pause" would allow for intense chaining of kills. Glad you liked it tho!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Nice little game, graphics are really cool! Game idea is good too. I think controls are a bit hard but good job.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:15pm

God, the mood and graphics of this game is awesome..but thats it. Pretty painfully fun to play!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:28am

This is great fun to play and beautifully presented as well. The dash attack is a really cool mechanic, since you're sending yourself into danger instead of just firing a bullet or something -- you have to make sure that other shapes aren't behind the one you're aiming at and that you won't end up in a dangerous position after making an attack.

It's a small thing, but I also really like that the controls are extra easy to remember because each shape resembles the letter it's mapped to -- the triangular shape of "A", the curves of "S" and the boxy "D". Brilliant little touch. Great job!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:33am

Some of the best visuals I've seen this Ludum Dare so far - pretty fun, to boot!

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Wow TheMeorch thank you for the kind words! We really tried to make something different and it makes us really happy seeing that you and others enjoyed it ^_^ Cheers!

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Really great art style! Love the sketchy shapes that we become but I wish the default state of the character was not similar to the circle one. Also sometimes although I change my shape still got hurt from the same shapes that I change into.

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:38pm

I really liked the sketch art style of the game. The mood was incredible. Nice entry!!!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Like the art style

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:28pm

A really unified game with gameplay, setting, graphics and sound all matching, nice work! And that menu music, wow, I sat down just listening to it for a few minutes.

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:20am

Very complete little game! Great job! Animations were fun, sounds were on point- it took me a moment to realize the sphere shape and the character were different.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I'm not so good with that type of games, but I like the mood and the design ! Well done :)

wboqm says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:50am

Motion using the mouse was frustrating when being pushed back, as it made it difficult to avoid shapes. Graphics looked great through.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:48am

Lovely game, aesthetics, audio and mood were especially spot on and I love the gamefeel of the dash mechanic. The overall concept is really interesting, theme-related and fun to play. It also kept me engaged a long time for a LD entry, very solid game overall.

badia_r says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Beautiful graphics and nice mood! The controls are pretty easy to get used to.

Toonhawk says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:28pm

I don't think the countdown was necessary for the shapes, you should just stay the shape you last selected until you switch again.

knason says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Awesome graphics, I really like the idea. good job!

May 6, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Accurate, school was just like this.

blakeohare says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:48am

Sorry, I'll start with the negative: controls did not feel very natural. Transition back to initial round (but not circle) state at first seemed like a bug. It might be better if there was an indicator directly on the character as to when they're about to change back. Moving your eyes from the character to the meter is not very ideal when being bombarded by enemies.

Other than that, mood, theme, and graphics were great.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]