Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Forest Mage

by Lewwwer - Jam Entry

You are a tiny magician, living in the forest ruling all living creatures. Practice you spell casting skills, transform to deadly animals and rise above them!

Move with the keys WASD and use the mouse to perform the trickiest spells by drawing to the screen. Press X to attack and B to open/close your spellbook, where you can find the previous spells you learned.

Post update:
There was a bug with the 3rd notification and it messed up everything in the spellbook. I fixed it after the deadline. Both old and new versions are available on the Google Drive.

-Technical information: Sometimes Windows detected the game (smart screen) as a treat during tests. You can disable it and the game will work-

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#406Theme(Jam)3.52
#447Humor(Jam)2.63
#501Innovation(Jam)3.11
#670Graphics(Jam)3.11
#674Mood(Jam)2.93
#723Overall(Jam)3.04
#784Fun(Jam)2.81

Comments

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

The grasses aren't on ground level, so really annoying to hit.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Best game for me at the moment :) only problem was that I cant hear audio :(

batmagus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Fun concept, really cute graphics. I just wish it had checkpoints, even if you remember all the spells it takes a lot to get back to where you were when you die.

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03pm

The idea is indeed interesting. But it's very hard to gauge the distance to the objects. Maybe you could cast a small round shadow on the ground. It might make it a bit easier. And this game could be improved with some simple soundeffects.
The spellbook was implemented well.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17pm

The idea to draw spells to cast them is great and it's well implemented. The graphics are friendly and look nice in the 3d world. Nice game.

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Thank you all for the positive feedback! I'm not an expert in sounds and I always leave it to the end, so that's the main reason I didn't have enough time to include. Also there are minor bugs and some balance issues, but I'm happy it is still enjoyable.
Thank you all again for the positive feedback! It means a lot to me, as this is my first LD.

Lewwwer

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15pm

It's hard to pick items. Drawing spell to cast them is a great idea !

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Ah! Clever, shapeshifting as in drawing shapes. I love clever ways of working around a theme.

We also went with a 2D sprites in 3D world look, so naturally I'm inclined to enjoy that! :) The aesthetic has a cute, children's book look to it. Cool stuff!

Gravedrinker says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:46am

Really cool, I like the graphics a lot. :)

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:12pm

very cool game bro 10\10

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:47am

NICE GAME!!! i liked it
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:48am

I really like the way you cast spells, good job on your submission.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:40pm

The spell shaper box was a cool idea. Unfortunately, I found that I didn't have quite enough hands to manipulate all of the controls effectively. Great entry!

Titangea says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:45pm

I didn't vote because in my case, the game has a bug at the start, the UI of the tutorial appears, the keyboard keys works but the Ui didn´t dissapeared, I can't continue playing. My PC is a Lenovo All in one with Windows 8.1. Let me know when you fixed it to try it again and vote you.

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:28pm

By default, you can open/close the spellbook UI by pressing the B button.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Beautiful and cool game play.

AnMorfeusz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Great control, nice spell casting mechanics.
I would be with the rabbit!

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:11am

The graphics are OK and the game is playable. But I don't really get the point of shapeshifting in this game. It does not give me any special powers like being faster or anything as it says. My speed was the same when I was a grass and when I was a rabbit.

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Shapeshifting can put you to different places in the Food Chain. So being a grass means the fox will not attack you. While the fox at the beginning attacks both the Mage and the rabbit. I think I have written it in the Spellbook.

haveric says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Drawing spells was interesting, but clearer indications of which direction the spells were supposed to be drawn would be very helpful. I really liked the parallax style of map and I think with some more work and some polish, this could be a fun game.

phi says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:50pm

I absolutely love the pseudo-3D graphics style. The idea of shapeshifting into different characters with different skills is nicely implemented into the level. Drawing the spells is kind of cumbersome, especially if a fox is chasing you and you have to shapeshift quickly. Overall, a cute little game with a good setting that could really use some fitting sound effects (maybe something for a post-compo version?). Great work!

lanestp says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:47am

I liked that game a lot! The graphics were top notch and the gameplay was really good. The spell casting was unique as well. All in all one of the best this year!

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:52am

Really nice concept and game design. The music and graphics are quiet decent

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]