Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Nano Wars

by Rey - Jam Entry

[Nano Wars]
You are the defender of this shape-shifting micro-chip. Kill the evil viruses before they destroy us all.

Use the arrow keys to walk and space to shoot. Pickup resources to stay alive. Use the teleport tile to move to the other side.

[BUGFIX] Thanks for the feedback on the controls, changed some parameters, the shooting won't freeze anymore and should work better now.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[WINDOWS]
In the zip you'll find NanoWars.exe, execute and it should work.

[OS/X]
A zipped app, was not able to test it. Please let me know if it doesn't work.

[LINUX]
LOVE2D doesn't have a simple way to distribute for Linux. If you want to play this game on linux please install the love package: https://www.love2d.org. Afterwards the NanoWars.love file can be run by executing "love NanoWars.love".

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hannah2Helena and I (Rey) worked together on this entry. LOVE2D was used for this game. We are especially proud of our graphics; all created during the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Graphics(Jam)4.13
#462Mood(Jam)3.20
#918Overall(Jam)2.83
#956Innovation(Jam)2.47
#1002Fun(Jam)2.47
#1123Theme(Jam)1.86
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

I would have done the controls differently since the game has an isometric layout, but that's besides the point.

It's pretty hard for me to advance because of the controls and running out of bullets. There is plenty of bullet "packs" to pick up, but the enemies move too fast for me :P

Where's the shapeshift aspect also?

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23am

i really like the art! but im a little confused on the gameplay. for one it freezes frequently and makes it difficult to play, the shooting seems to miss most of the time except when the enemy is in a specific place, and usually there isnt enough ammo to not lose health even if i do hit the enemies.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30am

Interesting and nice art style, but the shooting mechanics don't appear to work as intended.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:22am

Looks amazing! Shooting is wonky as hell though, seriously. Also walking around is kind of counter intuitive (I know I said it wouldn't be but after a few rounds it didn't get much better :p), but that's kind of hard to solve for an isometric game. The gameplay is actually pretty fun once you get the steering of the robot down and figure out what the drops do. Keeps the style and improve the controls next jam and you'll land among the stars!







my favourite game so far

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01am

Good looking isometric game. Involve the mouse in movement controls.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

First of all: One of the beste art I've seen so far. This is awesome!
But it was very hard to play because the controls are way different to other games of this kind... If you would polish the controls and the enemy movement this game would be a very good rated game. I really love the art... Good job!

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

Man! this art is awesome! control is a bit confused because sometimes I wanted to go in a different direction but is fun and... hard! congratulations!

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12am

the controls are a bit confusing but after few minutes playing, i get used to it :)
The graphics are awesome, the music fits very well with the idea.
I think it could be good to see the bullets because i don't know exactly where i'm shooting, sometimes i thought i was front of the viruses but i didn't kill them (the isometric view can be a trap ^^)
Nice game, i think it deserves a bit more work to be GREAAAAAAT !

IcyLava says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:13am

It seems like the robots die only if they are right in front of you when your shooting animation finishes, you really need to fix that. But it sure looks nice!

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Great work! Controls are weird i think, but the rest is good! Very interesting way of applying the theme!

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31am

Was totally confused by running out of ammo (and teleporting from side to side) at first, but otherwise cool game!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36am

Lovely aesthetics! Well done. I just wish there was a way to jump across the path to get the pickups that sometimes appear on the other side.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:58pm

I Löve the visuals of this game, it looks and feels very polished. One of the best looking games that I have come across.

The game itself is a ton of fun, really solid entry!

Great job :D

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:04am

neat game, and very pretty! It's rather hard though, and there isn't any visual feedback if I've hit an enemy until it's dead I think. Great job!

janiq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:27am

HI, the controls were quite hard, but i kinda got them after a few rounds. The problem was I still ended up without the ammunition. I think you should add more creates with ammunition in the time between the rounds because I was always waiting for the next enemies without ammo - kinda frustrating :-) Graphics was very nice but maybe the robot should do some other kind of movement when standing still, i am not sure which one, but this didn't look very robotic :-)

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:16am

The art direction is really good, the controls are a bit sensible and sometimes buggy.

guoboism says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Well Mac runs well, and I like the graphic and animation
But also things to improve: not using the 45 degree view port with arrow key control, add some bullets

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:39am

I like the atmosphere but the robot holding a handgun looks a bit off for me. Controls are not intuitive but they work.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:30am

impressive graphics

CliffracerX says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Aside from the difficult controls, this seems pretty neat.

You may want to buff the ammo packs, as 3 per pack doesn't seem to be enough.

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:02am

Well made! Feels like a tower defense game, but you can move around. I would have liked some kind of power up, and the ability to shoot further than one space. But very nicely done! I don't get how it relates to the shapeshift theme?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]