Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

NeoTrap

by omarhuseynov011 - Jam Entry

NeoTrap is a music-based action game that can adjust itself to music in real-time. All the music used in this game is being streamed from SoundCloud using SoundCloud API. Get your headphones, increase the volume, make it full-screen and enjoy the game!
Have fun!

Gamejolt link: http://gamejolt.com/games/neotrap/141779

Newgrounds link: http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/673459

itch.io link: https://omarhuseynov011.itch.io/neotrap

Warning! There is a chance that game won't work properly on IE! But it has been tested on Chrome, Firefox and MS Edge and it works perfectly on all of these mentioned browsers. Keep playing!

My Twitter: @huseynov_omar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#232Mood(Jam)3.54
#389Fun(Jam)3.31
#424Overall(Jam)3.36
#539Graphics(Jam)3.33
#548Humor(Jam)2.43
#731Innovation(Jam)2.83
#1059Theme(Jam)2.29

Comments

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Amazing. Best audio so far.

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Interesting concept, however personally I found the camera jerking to the music beat was just too distracting.

Also you may want to indicate that it doesn't work on Internet explorer, at least it doesn't for me anyway.

Great music though.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

Great concept! Though the camera movement made me a bit dizzy, like at the beginning of Soul Trumpet song.

Awesome work!

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Really good - I loved how the sides move with the music

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Reminds me AudioSurf. Really beautiful art. Nice job!

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Great concept and execution, however with the "shapeshifting" mechanic, jumping is almost useless. Jumping should leave you in the air a little longer because it's hard to tell where you are jumping from and where you will be jumping to. Other than that, very fun to play and makes me want to bookmark the page!

41050 is my best score so far (Sex Whales & Fraco Dead to me was the song).

Joshsimard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Awesome! Simple concept, but the music and art really fit together

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:55pm

great audio! and interesting gameplay. could be built upon more though

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Really nice game

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57pm

"Part One" backwards? :P

Awesome game, really like it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:58pm

I didn't really get the connection between the changing color of the cube and the gameplay, if there was any connection.
I really like music-based games :)
The effect of camera moving back and forth based on music was quite interesting.
Good job!

Cheers
-Morco (Banana Hammers team)

maartene says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Fun game. The way the environment reacts to the music is pretty cool.
However, I don't understand the relation to the theme in this game.

theck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Great idea and game but poor interpretation (gameplay wise) of the theme. Great work anyways :D

Asturk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Well, this game sure has some very good audio, and this mixed with the mechanic is really well done! The game is very fun, but i think you should made some other kinds of obstacles too to bring some more diversity to gameplay, and about the theme, give some more "shapeshift" to other elements or even the player, only the level is kind of following the theme, but it is still oks. The game is great through, good job!

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09pm

It's fun, but it feels like I'm getting 'blueballed' when I die.

I mean the first track is an exceptional choice for the mood it transmits, but it feels extremely punishing to one-shot-kill the music.

I'm surprised you've taken out the 'graphics' and 'mood' voting options.

Anyway, groovy take on the theme:D

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:34am

Great looking game, and a very interesting idea. The first track is a great choice as well to set the mood. I only wish it wasn't as punishing with the 1 hit kill gameplay.

Pomb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:22am

Nice look and feel, awesome audio, but to be honest it's really jarring when you die and the music just stops. Great entry!

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:23am

The audio is the best, nice overall, it remembered me to audiosurf

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:34am

Reminds me a simplified audiosurf, the cube color should affect the gameplay somehow.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:44am

Well.. still looking for the gameplay and the shapeshifting. But cool graphics !

Insality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:46am

Amazing! Great trance music based game. I love it and cant judge objective. Great job! 10/10 )

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:50am

The music makes the game feel 10x better :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Great game. It is a pity we can vote on graphics, they are beautiful even being minimalistic. Though I don't see the theme

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Thanks everyone! I do understand that game has little if no relationship with the theme, thus the "theme judging" is removed. Sidenote: Game IS hard, but you still have a choice of selecting "Easy" if you just want a soothed musical experience rather than action, like I said, your choice. Another sidenote: I also added graphics and mood judging options, since all of you wanted to vote that as well lol. Again, thanks y'all for voting and have fun!

suurin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51pm

I enjoy those kind of games and this one was no exception.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:20pm

The graphics for this game are beautiful, really love the sound bars as walls, and the movement of the camera all help to enforce the rhythm of this game! Very pretty, and enjoyable, good work!

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Very nice entry! Loved the colors and it plays very smoothly in the browser. Also, cool compilation of music. too bad we can't vote for audio, nice job anyway! I also made a rhythm game for compo with one original music, but only 2D. I would like to hear something from you, will ya!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Great! Loved the feel and the music. Maybe the camera was a little to distracting with the beating and shaking sometimes. Other than that i enjoyed this game alot.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Good game, good audio too

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:33pm

awesome looks!

freeloader says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Dude that's a very cool toolset, props for the creativity

CasualCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:35am

Music is amazing, espescially TRNDSETTER. I love the visuals, clean but really pretty. I like the pace being changed by the music, sometimes it kinda got outta hand. The controls felt nice and responsive, but the jumping was pretty useless and often the gap through two spikes was almost impossible with all the camera movements. Really great game but I would maybe add more variation in the obstacles and give the spawning for layers and form.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21am

The graphics and music implementation is really great! The gameplay is simple and tight, though it's actually pretty hard to judge jumping over things.

Also, when compared to other rhythm games (in particular Audiosurf), failing upon a single mistake and having to start over is quickly frustrating. You want to at least hear the whole song!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:49am

amazing audio work gameplay reminded me of smash it

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:23pm

The soundtrack is a wise desition. It fits perfect to the game. I didn´t know the group.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:35pm

All right everyone, I see everybody got angered by the jumping mechanism (I feel ya!). But here's an interesting thing: When you actually jump you don't get pushed forward, you land on the same place. Considering that the speed of camera increases with time, after 30 seconds or so when you jump you will get pushed further. Just watch me doing it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdaPUCc4_eM

And yes, jumping is HARD I get it don't kill me plz lol

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:27pm

This is amazing!

Itay2805 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Amazing! It is nice you used the sound the change the speed!

josemorval says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:04pm

The art and music fit very well together. Nice job!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Really neat! It was fun to play the game and the visuals were really pleasing to the eye, but I found the jumping to be extremely precise and thus didn't really want to use it. My score was 30500.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:13am

MUSIC gAMEEE!!!!!!!!!
oh my-- I've always loved music games... so will this... :> one of the best i've seen so far :D graphics is so soothing to the eyes... nice choice of colors.. :D

it's like geometry dash... I suggest adding more variations in progression and obstacles because it gets pretty repititive especially when i am waiting for the next obstacle, it takes too long haha... diversity would make this game reallll awesome just with just a bit more dev time...

fafastudio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:33am

Wow! Awesome idea and very polish game, pretty graphics, good mood , good job !

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Great music! I like games with spheres and cubes but I hope you develop your idea with better graphics in the future ;)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Well done game. Love it.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Nothing to do with the theme, but it's so chill and relax. the great surprise was to discover how hard it is, maybe just push forwards on jump and that would be perfect as hell. Audio is amazing too definitly gonna save the soundcloud haha !

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Really cool game and I understand the interpretation of the theme, but the level could have changed more with the music. Still, lots of fun!

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Yeah i love music games, i'd love to be able to do one.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Absolutely loved the use of audio in this entry.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:26pm

I can't stop playing your game with the second soundtrack !

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:26pm

This would make a great music based theme. I just want to keep hearing the song!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:37am

I can't stop playing your game with the second soundtrack !

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Very nice!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:51pm

can you make it change songs?

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Great work! I love the polish, and the game gets surprisingly fun when you get into the groove of it.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Camera might need a little work, but for an LD game, this is great, and I really liked it. The songs were brilliant, the algorithm was super cool, and definitely evoked a very "Audiosurf" vibe. Great job!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I hate dying because the MUSIC is so awesome!!! That was a great game!!! Nice work

luvShape says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Really well done graphically! Had fun playing it!

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Great game, build it for phones and you'll be in the money :D

MementoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Beautiful art and presentation!
The gameplay is fun, but I wish to do more than just avoid the cones. Great entry!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:30pm

I liked the choosing of the musics.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Simple but pretty addicting. Good job! Though, the jump is a little too hard and punishing.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Great entry!
The gameplay is really funny and enjoyable (also hard!), and the song fits perfectly.
I like the movements of the little wave walls while I progress, it's really charming.
Cool game at all!

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:43am

good audio

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Game with great minimalistic graphics and visual style, also with good music.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:40pm

As an admirer of the trap genre, the music immediately clicked with me, which is important for a game like this. The mechanics were simple but quite challenging. I did find the jumping almost impossible, however, so giving the player a little bit more room for error in that aspect would have been nice. Also the way the music abruptly ended after dying was a bit weird. Other than that, I don't think it fit the theme super well, but I enjoyed it and that's what matters :D

crucknuk says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:34am

Nice game !

I like how you managed to use the soundcloud API.
The camera moving with the music can be a bit frustating.

Well done !

thebrainfuse says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Great track selection! I feel that the music did not have as much effect on the gameplay as it should have... also the cube and camera are kinda jerky, so maybe some smoothing function can be applied overall... thanks!

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:41am

WOW! Really amazing work. Honestly don't know how you did it. Well done.

Weeping Rupee says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:17am

Nothing groundbreaking... but a nice solid game-- actually I experienced a little cognitive dissonance here: I find the music and aesthetic relaxing and yet as the game gets more difficult the anxiety of anticipating those spikes is really at odds with the look and feel of the game.

flummox3d says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:56am

Not sure how this fits the theme, but pretty cool game nonetheless. Great choice on the colors. Nice work! :)

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Great visuals!

LeReveur says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Innovative mechanic ! Music changing rythm and speed of the game add challenge and mood to the game, well done !

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:58pm

The sound feedbacks on the sides are really cool

I think you can match the level design with the music a little better

It's hard to jump since I don't know exactly when the cube is going faster or slower

I got a good time playing it, nice entry :)

Aaranos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:44pm

The jump really needs some work as it is impossible at certain speeds. Overall I think it is good. The visuals are the best piece.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]