Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Work!

by DevelopTech - Jam Entry

"Work!" is a game (based on true stories) about working in a company and earn money in order to buy great items and be promoted, or...

We are:

-@ajmarinmedina
-@icecreamslice
-@lucasgzp
-@parejomusic

( HTML5 , Windows, Mac, OSX, Linux, Unity )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#9Audio(Jam)4.33
#20Mood(Jam)4.26
#66Overall(Jam)3.96
#77Innovation(Jam)3.86
#132Graphics(Jam)4.13
#230Humor(Jam)3.15
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#881Theme(Jam)2.81

Comments

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54am

Loving that muusssssssssic, amazing. Interesting approach to the theme, and a nice idea for a narrative game... but maybe too ambitious for a jam :/

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:02am

Nice!! I like the idea of "shapeshift" in this game :D It's fantastic to see how the worker becomes older xDDDDD Good job to all the team.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10pm

I see you have put a lot of WORK into this game. Well done.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12pm

The music was amazing, and loved the graphics. Got both endings and had a good message I think and fit the theme in interesting way. Only thing I have a problem with is there is almost no game play to it, just typing a word over and over either "no" or "work".

hregrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14pm

WOW! This is Papers Please-y in the best sense of the term. Just thank you!

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Ironically enough, I quite enjoyed typing work etc over and over again :( The sound effects made it somewhat satisfying

JaviCepa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Amazing game! Loved the meta-game between the first and second run :)
Great work guys!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Amazing !!! Five stars

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Awesome, It is pretty nice how the music fits the gameplay and it changes

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04pm

I forgot! I love love so much the music, good job Parejomusic!!

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29pm

I love everything in this game. Amazing.

macronoid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Wow, that adaptative music is amazing. Loved the subtle details and messages all over the gameplay and environment.

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Awesome music. Awesome message, it's like this was made for people in my same situation :_

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:38pm

:____) Perfect.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Great game, guys. Keep working!

BoltKey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Beautiful. The changing music gave me chills, and it was so smooth I just couldn't notice any transitions on anything. Great job!

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:41am

Very good music and very good reflection. Nice visual art. ^^

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:19am

Wow! only one thing, typing sound was too satisfying to stop doing it.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:10am

Great awesome game! Love it!

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Buen juego, muy buena musica. Obviamente fallé en el primer giro.. jeje. Muy buen trabajo.

jakkarn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:36pm

It is an awesome idea, and well implemented. Really enjoyed it!

celia14 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Wow, great. The art and audio are fantastic. The first playthrough is very engaging - I had fun typing WORK, I'll admit - but I also loved the twist. What a great message, elegantly put.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Well, pretty simple, mood and audio were great, graphics so-so (seemed blurry to me). The amount of actual gameplay is pretty limited though :< @bytedesigning / Ashley

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:05pm

So I just quit my job two months ago after 10 years working in the company. I did this to pursue my dream of developing games so this one really hit home for me.

I only got to the apartment stage in real-life. No super-car... :'(

Reiv says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Your approach for the theme was really interesting. Loved the music and the details of the graphics.

GaryS says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Beautiful.
The music was absolutely perfect. This was a brief and lovely experience.

legavroche says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:15am

At first I thought it was a typing game, and it began to get boring but the twist at the end makes it all come together. Great job!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:43am

Great aesthetic here. Gameplay is slight, for sure, but the whole package is super engaging - it's always great to see LD entries that stretch what we think of as a "game".

Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:54am

I got a yacht >.>

Then I played through a 2nd time with the hint provided and got a different ending. 6 years of insubordination ;)

The music was excellent. And I enjoyed watching the company grow for the first path.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:11am

Beautiful game. I love how this is based on true stories. I'm really interested in telling non-fiction stories through games. I also appreciate the message! If you hate what you do material things certainly don't make up for it.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:15am

Love how you took the theme to make this wannabe "Paper please" Really great entry

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:31am

That's one interesting experiment. Meaningful and thought-provoking.
I do wish, however, that you acknowledged a more rebellious position, like I took on my second playthrough.

Thanks! And congratulations :)

Idorrac says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:47am

Very short but very nice music and graphics!

edve98 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:13pm

for some weird reason Web version wasn't scaled properly for me (I couldn't see the whole word "Work" in the game). And since you didn't package Linux version I had to play with that :(

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:24pm

@edve98 have you tried itch.io version? we dont' have any linux version (yet) but maybe web version in itch it would work better for you.

https://moitapecha.itch.io/work

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:44pm

WHOA, amazing work you've done in this game! :O

The pixelated graphics are beautiful and I loved how you used the shapeshift theme in the game, by changing the workers' sprite (and, also, by making the company "grow"). Fantastic, it's subtle, but essential to understand the game: the outer shell changes, the seasons pass, but he'll always be a sheep until he changes on the inside.

The audio is spectacular, the choice of sfx was really good, but the soundtrack is amazing! How it adapts to the game is just incredible, the changes are subtle and really smooth.

The game is kinda short, overall, but very pleasing. Some might say that typing only "WORK" and "NO" might make the game not have much gameplay, but this is just perfect. It's like you've camouflaged the game with one of those "clicker/idle" game ideas (because of the "evolution" aspect) to tell a narrative.

I can totally relate to the concept behind the game, since I often have to work like this, and even if I say it, I don't have much choices since I'm in a pinch right now. :/

Great work! Cheers! :)

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:41am

the idea is really original. I think this game would actually work really well as a typing game and not just a statement piece! Hoping you develop it more post-jam! Nice pixel art.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:40pm

NICE JOB!!! The music rocked! it took me a minute to figure out what was going on but once I did I really enjoyed myself!

Krammetje says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:46pm

I really like this game, I just don't really see how "shapeshift" is used in this game.
Besides that, the music and story were great.

magzh says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:55pm

ohh wow. Now, this entry is amazing.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:02pm

This is awesome, so simple but with a deep message inside. A beautiful experience overall.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:06pm

This was really well put together and definitely made me think. Personally though I quite enjoyed working, even up 'til the end, there wasn't really a punishment when I failed, I felt no crunch, I was only ever rewarded for going faster (and that's the kinda job I can get behind!) So I guess what I'm really saying is you made your game too fun :p Honestly was really great.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Really interesting, and weirdly fun. I didn't fully appreciate it until the second playthrough. Art and music are beautiful and create a really great atmosphere.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:35am

Love the message this delivers, good job

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:52am

Absolutely incredible, loved everything about it. From the typing gameplay to the message and to the music that wraps it all together wonderfully. Bravo!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:25am

what a lovely and thought-provoking game. it feels really polished, despite the short development time. i loved the pixel style, it also had really good music and atmosphere.

reckhou says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:29am

Great game, congratulations!

martymon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:20am

wow this was like a reflection on my life. And the scary part was...I liked typing WORK!!!! haha

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

axoona says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:12pm

very innovative concept, I liked the artstyle and audio

APantaloni says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:25pm

WORK

GFM says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:29am

Amazing experience!

The music and the sfx makes this game's atmosphere extremely strong! The theme was way more subtle and abstract than in most games I've played so far, but also way more remarkable!

The game left a pretty great impression on me! I just feel like you guys didn't have to be so explicit at the end of the "default route"... That took away some of the interacting with the game, since I was told what to do, instead of being allowed to play around with it and find out the other ending for myself...

Still, I can see how important that decision was given that people could take this game as having a single route and rating it after playing only half the game. So, you guys probably did right in adding that message on the end of the "default route".

Congratulations for the amazing game! =D

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Loved it. Short narrative game with a message and a twist at the end. Very cool.

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Man this game is unbelievably good. I mean, the mechanichs behind it are quite simple but the concept you brought.. Sending a messege is something few of us can do with a Jam game, and you guys did it in a simple but pleasent way. Both are and music and coding are superb and the game design is absolutely lovely. I'd let the players wait a bit more between the typing moments, so we could feel the time passing.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:42am

feeling the work shift, i like experience games, it was nice, nice pixel art, sort of too dramatic music but ok, thanks!

Naca says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:07pm

This is really interesting stuff. It's a message, a thought that you wanted to share, masterfully presented to us in videogame form. I love this piece. I think this kind of communication through games is what pushes the medium forward. Congratulations. Btw, I feel the same way as you about this topic.

Pibeex says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Amazing work!

CliffracerX says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:04pm

I couldn't say why, but this felt heavily inspired by Undertale. Maybe I'm just paranoid.
Barring that though, interesting idea. Not really sure how "shapeshift" fits in here, unless it's supposed to be the Worker aging, or the facility expanding.

plko says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Work all day long, back to home, play this. CANT STOP CRYING.

Remicy says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:14pm

This almost makes me cry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]